$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
View map of 1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nsb21
Business
Mpls mn
Aug 14, 2014

Parking fee

The one thing that I did not like is the amount of the parking fee. I saw we had to pay for parking but $23.00 after tax per day . Maybe if they posted the amount some where I would have been ready for it. I was thinking maybe a flat $10.00 but not $18.00 plus tax. The amount of parking they charged I could of stayed an extra day. The rooms were great, if you love to people watch ask for street view love watching the people and you can hear the music and fun from the bar below loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car lots of buses,taxi and walking distance to many things. Just outside your hotel many food places and coffee places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryinPdx
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 21, 2014

Great location

It is very hard to find a better value in central Vancouver than sandman on davie. You get a suite at hotel room prices. The location in the west end is ideal. You also have a great view of the city or the ocean. Parking was reasonable. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many clubs and great restaurants within 5 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Tranman
Business
Honolulu
Sep 21, 2014

Great location

I had a great time visiting Vancouver and this hotel is located at a great location. There are so many bars and restaurants right next door. The staff is very helpful and we even go to check in really early. The only thing I didn't like is we got two twin sized beds for two grown men. I ended up sleeping on the sleeper sofa because it's kinda gay. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mannyblenz
Business
Seattle, Washington
Oct 27, 2014

location

Enjoyed the view. The staff was nice. Had elevator maintenance but overall a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conrad461
Business
Washington
Oct 18, 2014

Hotel Stay

Liked the hotel and location. Would have enjoyed it more with breakfast included. The swingacross latch at the top of the entry door was broken. I guess that was ok, since it was only secondary security

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mdwyer
Business
BC
Jan 6, 2013

Parking

I feel that there should not be a charge for parking when paying the high price for staying here ... that and there was no hot water for a shower at night.. otherwise a good hotel for downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDen
Business
San Diego
May 29, 2013

Good location and lots of space

The staff for very nice and helpful, the hotel is very conveniently located, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see/do. Rooms are nothing fancy but clean and provide lots of space and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a greek restaurant a block away that is great. Plus there are several other great places for any taste less than 5 minutes walking distance from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

Location, Location, Location

The Sandman is in a great location. The front desk service was friendly and helpful. Parking is extra, and with tax it amounts to about $26 night. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower didn't drain well, but otherwise the room seemed to be in decent working order. We liked the suite style. Overall, this is a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had an excellent meal at Takis Taverna (Greek) just a short walk away. It didn't have the long line of one of the other competitors, but the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Sep 14, 2009

ok hotel - great neightborhood & staff

Very nice staff. Great neighborhood: many restaurants, very convenient, near great park and water views, near cinematheque. A lively, diverse, friendly gay neighborhood welcoming to all, gay or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get the biggest room or suite you can because the rooms are small. Get the highest room you can because the views are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFAdMan
Business
San Francisco
Aug 9, 2009

The Pride of Vancouver Needs More!

Attended Vancouver Pride Festival and the Sandman Suites location is a perfect/excellent centralized location for attendance, especially if walking to events or sites. The accomodations at the Sandman Suites are nicely appointed but the climate control in hot weather is faulty. Installing AC upgrades in the room as well as double pane window glass for coolness retention and street noise reduction would be advisable. The elevators are extremely slow to call, hot and unventilated. As a first time customer, I recommend booking lower floors and taking the stairs to spend your time more efficiently!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clubs and Restaurants right out the front door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top