$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
View map of 1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zander
Business
Aberdeen Scotland ABZ
Sep 25, 2012

Maid Service

The Hotel Was Excellent Good Value For Money,The Room Service left a lot to be desired we were there for 2 weeks and the bed sheets/pillowcases were not changed once, on one occassion we came home at night only to find the bed not been made,we made it up ourselves and repoted it to the front desk, overall avery good hotel we would stay there again no problem well worth the 3 star award (other than the maid service}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a 7 day Pass fot the local bus service @ 7 Dollars per person per week very good value for money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick and Greg
Business
Boston
Jul 7, 2012

Vancouver Davie Village

Hotel was in a easy location. Huge variety of ethnic restaurants, food markets, fruit stands very close by. Always a taxi in front of the hotel when needed. Downtown was an easy walk as was the ferry to Granville Island and Stanley Park. Room was clean, kitchen was modern, clean and very useful for breakfast and snacks. Bathroom a bit cosy. Bed was a full size and had a bit of a dip in the middle. Staff was responsive to anything we needed (TV remote needed batteries for example). Washer/dryer combo worked but a bit tricky to use. Was an all in one unit. Clothes came over very wrinkled. Hard to figure out how to use it and directions were not very helpful. All in all a very good stay. Would stay there again. Oh, nice pool too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Donair Dude shop a few doors away was awesome. Fast, delicious, great staff. Great place for end of the night snack! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muffinpoo
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 18, 2012

Great monther/daughter getaway

The hotel was pretty good. The room had a nice kitchenette, living room and bedroom, also had a sofabed in the living room. The location was excellent, close to everything. The hotel also had Moxie's restaurant on the premises (fantastic food!). I found the parking a bit pricey though and the elevators very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hot chicken wings and chocolate cake with ice cream......heavenly!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DPC123
Business
Nebraska
May 26, 2012

Great hotel stay

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the ASMS conference. The staff was okay: front desk staff was friendlier than our one instance with room service. Amenities were more than you could ask for! The worse part of the stay was the three elevators that took forever- at one point we took the stairs from the seventh floor because we had waited 5 min. Other than that, excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Chinatown closes at 6 pm and Granville Island closes at 7 pm. Get there while they're still open!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billh66
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Great hotel in the heart of gay vancouver

This is the type of hotel i could stay at for a long time. The hotel is set up like an apartment suite it has a kitchen,living room and washer and dryer in the hotel room. Great for families, and since it is in the heart of the gay district in Vancouver B.C. Great for "family" too. The location cant be beat smack in the middle of Davie st, you can walk all the neighborhoods and right down to english bay. I never need a car at this location. I stay here often when i am in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is lots of shopping in Vancouver and all of it is a short walk from this hotel Robson St. is the big shopping destination

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American in BC
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

Penthouse is a must

if you want to treat yourself go here steam rooms and penthouses are what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Topher2
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Convenient Location

The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered service without the asking. It is an older hotel obviously, so it would take a considerable amount of money to upgrade the heating and air conditioning, but the rooms have full kitchens with separate sleeping areas. The beds are overdue for an upgrade to something more comfortable, but again, that is another expense. The thing they do have control over is the cleanliness, and the rooms are overdue for a thorough cleaning. The repair to detail would just be icing on the cake if they could just deep cleanse the rooms and give them that shine and fresh smell that guests look forward to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twoguystraveling
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Weekend Excursion

Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Room surprisingly well appointed for the price. A suite with kitchenette at half the price of nearby hotels! Despite a 4th floor room next to the elevators, we hardly heard a sound and slept great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a fantastic poutine restaurant across the street with every imaginable poutine concoction!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlotta
Business
Vancouver Island, BC
Sep 7, 2011

Good west end locale

Nice room, great location for walking the west end and beaches, rooms clean and comfortable, great views on waterside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brix Restaurant on Homer half block off Davie was great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frederico
Business
Olympia, WA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

New place for us, will return

We stayed here for the first time, and will definitely return. We visit Vancouver yearly for the RSVP bike ride from Seattle and usually stay at the Coast Plaza since that is where the ride officially ends. I've had issues in the past with the staff there-long lines checking in, rooms not ready, curt counter attitudes, and so with the rate increase this year I decided to look around. Sandman came recommended and I am doing the same. I was greeted politely, room ready, no lines, beautiful - albeit smaller then Coast Plaza- suite with bay view, balcony, nice pool, no screaming kids, restaurant and lounge. We were seven blocks from the Coast and so did some hoofing back and forth for events, but the exercise was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the public bus anywhere and save taxi fees for expensive dining. Take coins! The bus drivers don't make change

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top