$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
View map of 1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DevKell
Business
Greater Twin City Area, MN
Aug 11, 2014

Vancouver Downtown Stay

Hotel was in a good location to catch public transportation. Close to restaurants and groceries. We had room that was next to elevators - would try to avoid if possible - little noisy mechanics. Pool was nice. As any downtown - can be a little noisy. Bars do not close at 2! Open later and louder. We had "limited view" room, but saw the city, some mountains and a peek of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Basil Pasta - create your own bowl. Great food and great price!

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bartloo
Business
Nj
Aug 24, 2014

Terrible family visit

Hotel was average but the elevators were the worst I ever experienced. Had to walk up and down 10 flights because of the wait. Average wait was 10 minutes but as long as 45 minutes. I would never stay there again. Our first room smelled like mildew but they moved us after 3 days. Stayed 8 days because I could not find another hotel. Avoid this one at all costs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yonce
Business
seattle Washington
Sep 9, 2014

cute

Great location. Central downtown Vancouver with lots of restaurants close by. Only downside balcony doors were locked and balconys were not accessible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JerryinPdx
Business
Portland, Oregon
Dec 5, 2014

Davie Street Value

The Sandman is a good value for the traveler who wants to be in the west end in the midst of all the action. The place is clean, quiet and the staff is helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Indian restaurants next door

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdwardYYJ
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 3, 2014

I found worst room in the building!

Room 1506. Avoid at all costs. You may also want to skip any room ending 06. Room has the three strikes of elevator, housekeeping room, and an ice machine that, I swear, was spinning up for takeoff! All right outside your door. Small(er/est) room. No table and chairs, sofa or coffee table. Tiny, tiny, tiny window in the bedroom. Waited TWENTY (20, no exaggeration) for elevator to get to lobby for a room change. I hear elevators going by, people talking and laughing, but the elevator call buttons remain little, the doors don't open. Rescued by a hapless couple who got off on 15. I hope they're not still stuck there! Finally moved to the fourth floor. Fought with elevator all weekend, took the stairs down mostly. Book a deluxe suite and got a standard. No apologies, no rebate, nothing. Better stop here; remembering how bad my weekend was is just making me depressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Decline all rooms ending 06. Their added "features" include the elevator shaft, housekeeping storage room, and the ice machine, soda machine or BOTH (like fourth floor).

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nony Seattle
Business
Seattle Wa
Jul 29, 2014

Good Hotel

Spacious enough for two or more people great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cruise Buddies
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 25, 2014

pre-cut is visit

Very nice above average hotel with great city views and comfortable rooms. Lots of nearby dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American in BC
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

Penthouse is a must

if you want to treat yourself go here steam rooms and penthouses are what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billh66
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Great hotel in the heart of gay vancouver

This is the type of hotel i could stay at for a long time. The hotel is set up like an apartment suite it has a kitchen,living room and washer and dryer in the hotel room. Great for families, and since it is in the heart of the gay district in Vancouver B.C. Great for "family" too. The location cant be beat smack in the middle of Davie st, you can walk all the neighborhoods and right down to english bay. I never need a car at this location. I stay here often when i am in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is lots of shopping in Vancouver and all of it is a short walk from this hotel Robson St. is the big shopping destination

Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DPC123
Business
Nebraska
May 26, 2012

Great hotel stay

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the ASMS conference. The staff was okay: front desk staff was friendlier than our one instance with room service. Amenities were more than you could ask for! The worse part of the stay was the three elevators that took forever- at one point we took the stairs from the seventh floor because we had waited 5 min. Other than that, excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Chinatown closes at 6 pm and Granville Island closes at 7 pm. Get there while they're still open!!

Back to menu Return to top