$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

3 stars
View map of 1160 Davie St., Vancouver, BC V6E 1N1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdwardYYJ
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 3, 2014

I found worst room in the building!

Room 1506. Avoid at all costs. You may also want to skip any room ending 06. Room has the three strikes of elevator, housekeeping room, and an ice machine that, I swear, was spinning up for takeoff! All right outside your door. Small(er/est) room. No table and chairs, sofa or coffee table. Tiny, tiny, tiny window in the bedroom. Waited TWENTY (20, no exaggeration) for elevator to get to lobby for a room change. I hear elevators going by, people talking and laughing, but the elevator call buttons remain little, the doors don't open. Rescued by a hapless couple who got off on 15. I hope they're not still stuck there! Finally moved to the fourth floor. Fought with elevator all weekend, took the stairs down mostly. Book a deluxe suite and got a standard. No apologies, no rebate, nothing. Better stop here; remembering how bad my weekend was is just making me depressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Decline all rooms ending 06. Their added "features" include the elevator shaft, housekeeping storage room, and the ice machine, soda machine or BOTH (like fourth floor).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bartloo
Business
Nj
Aug 24, 2014

Terrible family visit

Hotel was average but the elevators were the worst I ever experienced. Had to walk up and down 10 flights because of the wait. Average wait was 10 minutes but as long as 45 minutes. I would never stay there again. Our first room smelled like mildew but they moved us after 3 days. Stayed 8 days because I could not find another hotel. Avoid this one at all costs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nsb21
Business
Mpls mn
Aug 14, 2014

Parking fee

The one thing that I did not like is the amount of the parking fee. I saw we had to pay for parking but $23.00 after tax per day . Maybe if they posted the amount some where I would have been ready for it. I was thinking maybe a flat $10.00 but not $18.00 plus tax. The amount of parking they charged I could of stayed an extra day. The rooms were great, if you love to people watch ask for street view love watching the people and you can hear the music and fun from the bar below loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car lots of buses,taxi and walking distance to many things. Just outside your hotel many food places and coffee places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DevKell
Business
Greater Twin City Area, MN
Aug 11, 2014

Vancouver Downtown Stay

Hotel was in a good location to catch public transportation. Close to restaurants and groceries. We had room that was next to elevators - would try to avoid if possible - little noisy mechanics. Pool was nice. As any downtown - can be a little noisy. Bars do not close at 2! Open later and louder. We had "limited view" room, but saw the city, some mountains and a peek of the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Basil Pasta - create your own bowl. Great food and great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nony Seattle
Business
Seattle Wa
Jul 29, 2014

Good Hotel

Spacious enough for two or more people great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick1973
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2014

great weekend

Courteous staff, ideal location, great suites, nice balcony, great restaurant downstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick1973
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 1, 2014

great holiday

No complaints. Great location, Great restaurant at ground level, convenient parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moxie

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chomp's Dad
Business
China
Jul 1, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay!!

We really enjoyed our stay. The bedroom and the living room with the kitchen area are really nice. The location is convenient. We haven't tried the fitness center and the spa etc. The two quibbles are: (1) The washroom is a little small, and (2) the free WIFI is not of very high quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island paddler
Business
Hawaii/San Diego
Jun 24, 2014

Great stay

I have only stayed at this hotel every time I come to Vancouver. The best central location to stay, comfortable walking distance to Yaletown, Ferry to Granville, Stanley Park. If cooking/ Foodie is your thing, the kitchen has all the basic cookware and with the new fresh seafood doors away and Granville market across the river just minutes by ferry, can't beat your own possibilities and creations. great reasonable restaurants, the best poutine across the street, downtown nightlife just 10 minutes away, housekeeping always the best. Yeah,,, I like this place, especially during the summer. So easy to get to from the airport. Haven't been here for the winter yet, but will soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For the Foodie, Granville market has so many options, yeah its $$$ for some items like foie gras (in a can or fresh), but for fromage, charcuterie, fresh meats, bread, seafood and so much more, 1 week is not enough

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Suites on Davie - Vancouver

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger the rabbit
Business
San Francisco
Jun 9, 2014

Comes w/ EVERYTHING! Location is great!

Staff was friendly and room views were breathe-taking! Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Poutine across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top