$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Gaga super fan
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 13, 2009

Unbelievable loction!

I went to Vancouver for a Lady Gaga concert, not knowing I booked the hotel right across the street from the theatre. When I was checking in, the receptionist working the front desk provided me with all kinds of tips of what had happened previous nights. The staff was also extremely kind and helpful giving me points of interest in the area I could not miss. Overall this was the best hotel I have stayed with in all my years of traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Upon check-in, the receptionist provided a map and highlighted many points of interest in very short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Rock
Nov 23, 2009

good location

good, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to sky train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VacPlanner
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2009

Good for family

It was a good experience and they had a great price for last minute booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Sep 28, 2009

nice and comfortable

fun and enjoyed the tour of city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

a long ride but plenty of transportation available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dublin ca
Sep 15, 2009

vancouver trip

The service at this hotel was so bad that for the first time in my life I checked out of the hotel five minutes after checking in to it. We walked up to the room to drop off the luggage, use the restroom and go off exploring the city. The bathroom clogged up and when we called the front desk they asked us if it was number 1 or 2 and told us they would give us a plunger to clean it ourselves. We were shocked at how ridiculous this was, especially after paying $175 a night for a room. The staff said that the maintainence was gone for the long labor day weekend and that the 3 people at the front desk had to do everything for the 300 room hotel. The staff was rude and didn't understand how we felt at all so we cancelled the booking and left the hotel. They tried to make it better by calling us another hotel for that night. The other hotel was only 2 blocks away and was twice as clean, with a staff that was great. I would not recemmond the sandman hotel to anyone because they did nothing but frustrate us and waste 3 hours of our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, Florida
Sep 5, 2009

not even one star

Room 1: A/C did not work, TV did not work moved to room 2: Toilet did not work, clock did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Oh
Sep 4, 2009

Nice Balcony

Good Hotel in nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

The location was great - lots of restaurants nearby. Room was very comfortable in every way, staff very professional and helpful. What was weird and confusing was the location of the restaurant - it's actually not in the hotel, but attached to it. There were some signs directing you in the general right direction, but we kept ending up at dead ends. We eventually just walked out the front door of the hotel and walked 5 feet to the exterior front door of the restaurant. Really weird configuration. But the food was great, so I guess that makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

about 20 minute walk to the Stone Grill restaurant on Granville Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy with location only
Business
washington
Aug 20, 2009

good location for concert

The hotel was about what was expected. We booked this room based on location. It was great to be able to walk to gm place for our concert.Easy walking to Robson street,downtown area. Downsides, the room was musty smelling, could only open windows 2" to vent and was hard to cool down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great access to Robson street for shopping or eating. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top