$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place, staff, pool, position

We had an absolutly great stay in this hotel. We got upgraded to a slightly better room (the first... See full review

  • aniahill
  • Nov 27, 2014
Great stay

its so great . The staff are very hospitable. it's good location. See full review

  • roel
  • Apr 28, 2014
Downtown spot near theaters and stadiums with on-site dining, nightlife

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • English Bay: 2.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.4 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.5 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 106
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cloverdale
Jun 26, 2008

Normal check-in was 4pm ...

Normal check-in was 4pm and we were early, so we went on a tour and returned at 4 pm. One room was ready. The other they would call us when it was ready. We went to the room. It was so small, and there were complimentary snacks to help make our stay a little more comfortable. To use the bathroom, you had to straddle the toilet to shut the door. The staff was nice enough to deal with, and I wouldn't want their job for nothing...but it made for a very frustrating afternoon and evening. Vacations are too short for that kind of mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has restaurant, sports bar, and lounge, and centrally located to get almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
green bay wisconsin
Jun 21, 2010

terribly small, bathroom was terrible.

worst hotel room I have ever had. elevators small and disfunctional. bathroom terribly small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Jun 17, 2010

Sandman - not horrible

Very average hotel. Called room service on my 1st night there, only to be told that the kitchen was closed because they were fumigating it. That was the wrong thing to say. Needless to say, we ate no meals there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
May 4, 2011

Two star at best

I was on a business trip and needed to get back and forth from the convention center. It took forever to get a cab. The room was fine, but the bathroom fan sounded like a backyard generator. The food and the Service was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylvania, OH
Oct 25, 2010

nice but dated

I was upgrade to the new section. It was nice but dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Livin in a matrix
Business
Victoria, BC
Jun 12, 2014

A place to crash for the night

On a quick business trip to Van, I just needed a decent, clean, safe, conveniently located and relatively inexpensive place to sleep for the night. This stay fulfilled all those requirements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyalSlik
Business
London, England
Nov 8, 2011

A bit dingy, but well located and good value

The hotel is very well located in central Vancouver, about four blocks from Vancouver City Centre Skytrain, direct on the Canda Line from YVR. The staff were very courteous and the room was good value. The place was a bit dingy and the room quite small. Some extra lighting in the room would not go amiss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Budget Car Rental is two block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristieAnne
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good hotel but be prepared!

I recently stayed here on a business trip. I read the previous reviews so I was aware that may be some noise issues. I was not right next to the elevators, but was not that far. However, I was there the night of a hockey game - which is cool, because it is right next to the hotel! It is an extremely lively area before hockey games and literally EVERY person at the hotel is there for a game! So, you can imagine it is a little rowdy. I could hear constant conversations on the night of the game, including lots of screaming and cheering fans through the night until about midnight. That being said, I would definitely stay here again! Although the noise did live up to all of the reviews' warnings, the hotel location made up for it. I walked everywhere, including two different SkyTrain stations. The lobby of the hotel was recently redone and looks nice, with crystal chandeliers and a nice seating area. The area is also extremely safe, a concern of mine since I was traveling alone. Also, Moxie's, which is in the lobby, is fun during the hockey games to grab a beer and people watch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown-Stadium SkyTrain station is about a 5 min walk from the hotel. There is an Asian grocery market right when you get off where they have AWESOME sushi to choose from and take to-go! The deserts there are awesome, too. Plus, if you stop by around 8pm, they are marking down the daily items so you can get a good deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeet332
Business
Oak Brook, Illinois USA
May 8, 2014

Good Meeting Hotel

Clean, good size, bathroom amenities great. TV and coffee pot and fridge available. No phone next to the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top