$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
148 reviews
Great stay

its so great . The staff are very hospitable. it's good location. See full review

  • roel
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great for a quick soccer getaway.

great hotel for the value . Their front desk was helpful and the location was perfect!! The rooms... See full review

  • Josh73
  • May 25, 2014
Downtown spot near theaters and stadiums with on-site dining, nightlife

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2792 -123.1131
Area served
Vancouver, Burnaby, Gastown, Granville Island, North Vancouver, Richmond, Kitsilano, Surrey, Whistler
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Area description
Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Close to shopping, tourist attractions and corporate offices.

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • English Bay: 2.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.4 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.5 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy with location only
washington
Aug 20, 2009

good location for concert

The hotel was about what was expected. We booked this room based on location. It was great to be able to walk to gm place for our concert.Easy walking to Robson street,downtown area. Downsides, the room was musty smelling, could only open windows 2" to vent and was hard to cool down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great access to Robson street for shopping or eating. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlmc16
Butte Falls, OR, USA
Jan 24, 2012

anniversary

Room was really tiny drain did not work very well in bath would fill up when we took showers. water was always luke warm. no remote for tv. not enough towels, found extras in a drawer under tv weird spot when used them were not replaced not a great bathroom set up good thing were not super fat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanaimo hockey fans
Nanaimo B.C.
Apr 23, 2011

bad hotel, bad hockey game

Rooms was small, TV didn't work, housekeeping was shoddy. Worst part was the noise. This hotel caters to a younger crowd who had come to watch the Hockey game and we were kept up till very early in the morning with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curleyq
Chicago, IL
May 10, 2011

Disappointing

The location isn't bad but the hotel itself had a bunch of little inconveniences that made the stay uncomfortable. It was my least favorite hotel in Vancouver and we stayed in three different hotels during our trip. -internet connection kept getting disconnected -rooms are incredibly small -elevator wasn't functioning correctly -the bed frame is several inches wider then the bed, I kept stubbing my toe It wasn't horrible just not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
May 4, 2011

Two star at best

I was on a business trip and needed to get back and forth from the convention center. It took forever to get a cab. The room was fine, but the bathroom fan sounded like a backyard generator. The food and the Service was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
vancouver
Apr 20, 2010

hotel review

it is two star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Jun 17, 2010

Sandman - not horrible

Very average hotel. Called room service on my 1st night there, only to be told that the kitchen was closed because they were fumigating it. That was the wrong thing to say. Needless to say, we ate no meals there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moms rules
victoria
Mar 12, 2013

One night

I really like the location of the hotel, but the rooms were not very clean and very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top