$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
100 reviews
Great stay

its so great . The staff are very hospitable. it's good location. See full review

  • roel
  • Apr 28, 2014
Good hotel for business

I don't know why people stay in there room while on vacation. If you're one of those people don't... See full review

  • JtotheJ
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown spot near theaters and stadiums with on-site dining, nightlife

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

49.2792 -123.1131
Area served
Vancouver, Burnaby, Gastown, Granville Island, North Vancouver, Richmond, Kitsilano, Surrey, Whistler
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Area description
Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Close to shopping, tourist attractions and corporate offices.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • English Bay: 2.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.4 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.5 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
May 12, 2009

Nice for the price

This is a great place if you just need a place to sleep. The room is small, but has free wireless internet access which made traveling a little easier. The service was above average and parking was easy (small fee). Lots to see and is close to the cruise terminals. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Moxie's was just down the hall from us and is a great restaurant with awesome service. Tends to get a little loud after a hockey game, especially during the playoffs when the Canucks win (the hockey stadium is across the street). Food was excellent and would definitely go there again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

The location was great - lots of restaurants nearby. Room was very comfortable in every way, staff very professional and helpful. What was weird and confusing was the location of the restaurant - it's actually not in the hotel, but attached to it. There were some signs directing you in the general right direction, but we kept ending up at dead ends. We eventually just walked out the front door of the hotel and walked 5 feet to the exterior front door of the restaurant. Really weird configuration. But the food was great, so I guess that makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

about 20 minute walk to the Stone Grill restaurant on Granville Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose Orgeron
Business
New Orleans, LA.
Jul 18, 2010

Nice and clean

The room was nice & clean for the price we paid. It was quiet, but the room was kind of small. We didn't stay in the room much so it was o.k. The people were very nice and helpful. I would recommend staying here.We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

taxi's were always available if you needed one right outside the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 18, 2007

My review of Sandman Hotel Downtown Vancouver

The Sandman Hotel on Georgia was comfortable. The room we were assigned was extremely small and the hallways could use some updating. The elevators were extremely slow. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom while quite small was very clean. There was inadequate drawer space. The location was extremely good, as it is located one block from Robson Street. It was in close proximity to shopping and restaurants. The food in the restaurant on-site was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 27, 2010

Solid Place to Relax Downtown

I visited Vancouver for about 4 days for an Animation & Story Master Class presented through Van Arts. The Sandman was directly in the city-center, and made it easy for me to get to any location on foot, whether it was Coal Harbor, Stanley Park, or Gastown. The room accommodations were comfortable and very well maintained. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. My luggage was lost on the way to Vancouver, and the hotel staff worked with the airline to ensure my luggage was promptly returned to me. It was a very stress-free experience. There are tons and tons of food options around town, but if you are looking for small grocery-like items there is a 7-11 right around the corner and larger establishments towards the suburbs. The only down (and small) part of my trip was finding an ATM that accepted more than Interac Cards. There are some in the business centers throughout the city (The Harbor Centre on Hastings has one in its food court area). I'd recommend bringing some cash/traveler's checks as a backup. Just in case you can't get to an ATM in a timely fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk away from many of the major attractions in the downtown area. Coal Harbor is only a couple blocks north of the hotel, and many of the sports venues are just east of the hotel. Walking to Stanley Park isn't too bad of a walk either, and its an enjoyable place to relax and soak up nature.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumming, GA
Jun 13, 2008

Quick trip

We had never stayed at a Sandman hotel. I called the front desk at 9:30pm for an extra pillow (two very well worn poly filled were provided) and the female desk clerk told me it would be a few minutes. I called again 30 minutes later and the front desk clerk (the first one I spoke to) told me she had an emergency, apologized for the delay and said it would be right up. I called again 45 minutes later when it hadn't arrived (this time it was a male clerk), I offered to come down and get it and then it was delivered shortly after. The room was clean, the bed, towels and bedding well worn and well the service was undependable. We ate dinner at the sports bar and it was good. The parking and hotel security were very good. The location was a little off the beaten path, but not inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a sightseeing stop right outside of the hotel which is very convenient if you are short on time and want to get a good view of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit
Aug 2, 2009

Our base camp for touring.

The Sandman was located one stop from the train station via the Sky Train which was perfect as we traveled on Canadian Rail from Jasper. We spent 3 days toruing Vancouver and used the rapid transit to reach all parts of the city from this convenient location. The desk manager was very helpful in providing recommendations and holding our luggage (we arrived prior to check in and stayed beyond check out to stretch our time in the city). The manager took time to get our feedback on the staff to ensure they will be fully trained to host the Olympics visitors. During our stay they were also hosting the World Fire and Police Games and managed to serve the needs of the Italians, Dutch, Australians and many others without loosing us in the mix. Great job! On the down side -room was a bit small and the AC couldn't handle the unusual heat wave we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Asain food, Chinatown is a short walk. We highly recommend the Phnom Penh (Vietnamese) and the Jade Dynasty (dim sum). Plus the Dr. Sun Yat- Sen gardens are not to be missed! We happened upon a play at the gardens, "The China Tea Deal" that was very well portrayed as well as interactive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katface85
Business
Ft Lewis wa
May 22, 2014

Great hotel

It was a great hotel, speedy check in from courteous staff, the room was a good size and very clean. Large flat screen. The bathroom was recently updated but poorly maintained there was mold growing in the grout. And the parking spots were very small, hard to get my baby out of the car. I had to back out because there wasn't enough room to get her seat in. Thank goodness I wasn't traveling alone or else we would've been in trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is a few blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livonia, Mi
Aug 18, 2009

Incredible location

Staff was very, very helpful. Superb location; $10 cab fare from pier and within walking distance of tons of restraunts and shops. Couldn't have picked a better one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Sep 28, 2009

nice and comfortable

fun and enjoyed the tour of city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

a long ride but plenty of transportation available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top