$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
148 reviews
Great stay

its so great . The staff are very hospitable. it's good location. See full review

  • roel
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great for a quick soccer getaway.

great hotel for the value . Their front desk was helpful and the location was perfect!! The rooms... See full review

  • Josh73
  • May 25, 2014
Downtown spot near theaters and stadiums with on-site dining, nightlife

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

49.2792 -123.1131
Area served
Vancouver, Burnaby, Gastown, Granville Island, North Vancouver, Richmond, Kitsilano, Surrey, Whistler
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Area description
Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Close to shopping, tourist attractions and corporate offices.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • English Bay: 2.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.4 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.5 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aniahill
Bournemouth, UK
Dec 11, 2012

Very nice clean inexpensive hotel with a pool

We stayed in this hotel for 13 nights and that is obviously longer than most guests as the receptionist was quite shocked. Because of the length of stay we were upgraded, however the first room we were given would have been fine for a short stay (no wardrobe in the room). The upgraded room had a very comfortable 6' bed, a wardrobe and all of the normal things you would expect from a hotel room. There was a tidy little pool and jacuzzi on our floor which was very handy but we didn't know about it until we got there and smelt the chlorine. The position of the hotel was great for all of the things we wanted like Robson Street, Christmas market etc and good for transport links for other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Champaign, IL
Jul 18, 2007

Decent hotel, great staff

The Sandman Hotel Downtown Vancouver is a decent hotel, conveniently located, and with a friendly, helpful staff. The room carpet had a small 1 square piece tufted, but didn't bother me - the rest of the room was good. Free Internet access (ask the front desk)!! Close to the Robson Library Square, where there's the public library and coffee shops/eateries. I just wish Vancouver were less expensive :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 15, 2007

Convenient and affordable

This hotel had great amenities, and although the room was not huge, it was well laid-out and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. i especially liked the free hi-speed internet access. the location was excellent, within walking disance of almost everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Gaga super fan
Seattle, WA
Dec 13, 2009

Unbelievable loction!

I went to Vancouver for a Lady Gaga concert, not knowing I booked the hotel right across the street from the theatre. When I was checking in, the receptionist working the front desk provided me with all kinds of tips of what had happened previous nights. The staff was also extremely kind and helpful giving me points of interest in the area I could not miss. Overall this was the best hotel I have stayed with in all my years of traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Upon check-in, the receptionist provided a map and highlighted many points of interest in very short walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 8, 2007

Very Friendly Staff

This was my first experience with the Sandman Hotels and the staff was very accomodating and friendly! I went to check in and had only paid for one double bed and they upgraded us for free to a room with a kitchenette and a living area with a fold out couch. It so nice to be able to hang out in the living area without feeling cramped into a little hotel room! The main restaurant, Moxie's is not as it seems. The staff were very friendly and punctual, but the food provided little to redeem its cost. The food was not bad, just mediocre for the price they were asking. I understand that Vancouver is not a cheap place, but we had some really good ethnic foods around for much less. The location of the hotel is excellent! It is just a few blocks away from the famous Robson street and just across the street is the stadium for the BC football team. The bars are very close too! I am really glad we chose this hotel and the next time I stay there I will most likely stay at the Sandman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The big mall that's underground (don't remember what it's called) has Hudson Bay Co. and one or two other department stores on Georgia St.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta
Aug 27, 2008

Clean, and convenient ..great staff..

Everything was great, and met out expectations, the room was clean, quiet, and the bed had a great mattress... The staff was very helpful and congeniel, had some problems with the internet, but was compensated without a problem.. It was convenient to eating and walking, enjoyed going down to Yaletown.. Vancouver was quite impressive, and we were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 21, 2008

Outstanding Staff

The staff at the Sandman Downtown Vancouver Hotel were beyond great. They were extremely accomodating and friendly. The rooms were a bit small - but my guest and I were really only using the room to sleep and had the giant city of Vancouver right outside the door. We were pretty well centrally-located. The restaurant and bar inside the hotel had great food and drinks, and other great places were nearby and easy to find. I would only stay somewhere else to have a comparison - but this place was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 15, 2007

Hassle free

This Hotel was comfortable and quite, rooms were on the small side but well kept, my only mayor inconvenience was the elevators which are slow and busy, besides that everything was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Night life, all sort of restaurants and shopping are within short walking distance.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aniahill
Bournemouth, UK
Dec 11, 2012

Very nice clean inexpensive hotel with a pool

We stayed in this hotel for 13 nights and that is obviously longer than most guests as the receptionist was quite shocked. Because of the length of stay we were upgraded, however the first room we were given would have been fine for a short stay (no wardrobe in the room). The upgraded room had a very comfortable 6' bed, a wardrobe and all of the normal things you would expect from a hotel room. There was a tidy little pool and jacuzzi on our floor which was very handy but we didn't know about it until we got there and smelt the chlorine. The position of the hotel was great for all of the things we wanted like Robson Street, Christmas market etc and good for transport links for other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2008

great place

All in all a great place in a great location. Wonderful, helpful and courteous staff. I highly recomend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 21, 2008

Outstanding Staff

The staff at the Sandman Downtown Vancouver Hotel were beyond great. They were extremely accomodating and friendly. The rooms were a bit small - but my guest and I were really only using the room to sleep and had the giant city of Vancouver right outside the door. We were pretty well centrally-located. The restaurant and bar inside the hotel had great food and drinks, and other great places were nearby and easy to find. I would only stay somewhere else to have a comparison - but this place was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top