$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
dublin ca
Sep 15, 2009

vancouver trip

The service at this hotel was so bad that for the first time in my life I checked out of the hotel five minutes after checking in to it. We walked up to the room to drop off the luggage, use the restroom and go off exploring the city. The bathroom clogged up and when we called the front desk they asked us if it was number 1 or 2 and told us they would give us a plunger to clean it ourselves. We were shocked at how ridiculous this was, especially after paying $175 a night for a room. The staff said that the maintainence was gone for the long labor day weekend and that the 3 people at the front desk had to do everything for the 300 room hotel. The staff was rude and didn't understand how we felt at all so we cancelled the booking and left the hotel. They tried to make it better by calling us another hotel for that night. The other hotel was only 2 blocks away and was twice as clean, with a staff that was great. I would not recemmond the sandman hotel to anyone because they did nothing but frustrate us and waste 3 hours of our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Panama City, Florida
Sep 5, 2009

not even one star

Room 1: A/C did not work, TV did not work moved to room 2: Toilet did not work, clock did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Columbus Oh
Sep 4, 2009

Nice Balcony

Good Hotel in nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

The location was great - lots of restaurants nearby. Room was very comfortable in every way, staff very professional and helpful. What was weird and confusing was the location of the restaurant - it's actually not in the hotel, but attached to it. There were some signs directing you in the general right direction, but we kept ending up at dead ends. We eventually just walked out the front door of the hotel and walked 5 feet to the exterior front door of the restaurant. Really weird configuration. But the food was great, so I guess that makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

about 20 minute walk to the Stone Grill restaurant on Granville Ave.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy with location only
Friends
washington
Aug 20, 2009

good location for concert

The hotel was about what was expected. We booked this room based on location. It was great to be able to walk to gm place for our concert.Easy walking to Robson street,downtown area. Downsides, the room was musty smelling, could only open windows 2" to vent and was hard to cool down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great access to Robson street for shopping or eating. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Livonia, Mi
Aug 18, 2009

Incredible location

Staff was very, very helpful. Superb location; $10 cab fare from pier and within walking distance of tons of restraunts and shops. Couldn't have picked a better one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
Aug 16, 2009

Sandman Hotel Downtown Vancouver

Very knowledgeable, efficient, friendly desk personnel. For a layover in Vancouver, I would definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fan of the Sandman
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, close to everything!

I went to Vancouver for a wedding. While I was in town I planned on seeing as much as I could. The hotel is centrally located and it is close to pretty much everything if you don't mind walking just a little. My room was small but with that said, everything inside of it was working and it was clean. You have to keep in mind that the hotel is located in the city and the rooms are going to be small. The Skytrain station is a brisk walk away, Yaletown is probably a 10 minute walk and I walked to the convention center within 20 minutes. The closest stop is a 10 minute walk to the southwest! Back to the hotel again, it is most convenient to have a sports bar, restaurant/bar and a cafe all downstairs too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Yaletown is good for staying out til 3am in the morning. Lots of people around and the crowd and area is decent. You don't have to watch your back walking back to the hotel. Gastown = lots of bums and back alleys are shady. Also, the Aquabus, a water taxi, is very convenient and fun!

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit
Aug 2, 2009

Our base camp for touring.

The Sandman was located one stop from the train station via the Sky Train which was perfect as we traveled on Canadian Rail from Jasper. We spent 3 days toruing Vancouver and used the rapid transit to reach all parts of the city from this convenient location. The desk manager was very helpful in providing recommendations and holding our luggage (we arrived prior to check in and stayed beyond check out to stretch our time in the city). The manager took time to get our feedback on the staff to ensure they will be fully trained to host the Olympics visitors. During our stay they were also hosting the World Fire and Police Games and managed to serve the needs of the Italians, Dutch, Australians and many others without loosing us in the mix. Great job! On the down side -room was a bit small and the AC couldn't handle the unusual heat wave we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Asain food, Chinatown is a short walk. We highly recommend the Phnom Penh (Vietnamese) and the Jade Dynasty (dim sum). Plus the Dr. Sun Yat- Sen gardens are not to be missed! We happened upon a play at the gardens, "The China Tea Deal" that was very well portrayed as well as interactive.

Back to menu Return to top