$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aniahill
Bournemouth, UK
Dec 11, 2012

Very nice clean inexpensive hotel with a pool

We stayed in this hotel for 13 nights and that is obviously longer than most guests as the receptionist was quite shocked. Because of the length of stay we were upgraded, however the first room we were given would have been fine for a short stay (no wardrobe in the room). The upgraded room had a very comfortable 6' bed, a wardrobe and all of the normal things you would expect from a hotel room. There was a tidy little pool and jacuzzi on our floor which was very handy but we didn't know about it until we got there and smelt the chlorine. The position of the hotel was great for all of the things we wanted like Robson Street, Christmas market etc and good for transport links for other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 27, 2010

Solid Place to Relax Downtown

I visited Vancouver for about 4 days for an Animation & Story Master Class presented through Van Arts. The Sandman was directly in the city-center, and made it easy for me to get to any location on foot, whether it was Coal Harbor, Stanley Park, or Gastown. The room accommodations were comfortable and very well maintained. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. My luggage was lost on the way to Vancouver, and the hotel staff worked with the airline to ensure my luggage was promptly returned to me. It was a very stress-free experience. There are tons and tons of food options around town, but if you are looking for small grocery-like items there is a 7-11 right around the corner and larger establishments towards the suburbs. The only down (and small) part of my trip was finding an ATM that accepted more than Interac Cards. There are some in the business centers throughout the city (The Harbor Centre on Hastings has one in its food court area). I'd recommend bringing some cash/traveler's checks as a backup. Just in case you can't get to an ATM in a timely fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk away from many of the major attractions in the downtown area. Coal Harbor is only a couple blocks north of the hotel, and many of the sports venues are just east of the hotel. Walking to Stanley Park isn't too bad of a walk either, and its an enjoyable place to relax and soak up nature.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Aug 9, 2010

Excellent Experience at Sandman

We were only there for one night, but found the location great for walking to sites and places to dine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Aug 6, 2010

GREAT VALUE FOR PRICE

Short walk to downtown area and transprotation services. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Staff was pleasant and able to answer myriad questions about a host of subjects. Downside was that room was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose Orgeron
Business
New Orleans, LA.
Jul 18, 2010

Nice and clean

The room was nice & clean for the price we paid. It was quiet, but the room was kind of small. We didn't stay in the room much so it was o.k. The people were very nice and helpful. I would recommend staying here.We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

taxi's were always available if you needed one right outside the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Jul 6, 2010

Sandman stay

Though busy front desk and hallway noise was periodically a problem, the location was excellent. We also had a corner room which has terrific windows all around with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EAt a Japadog!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Jul 6, 2010

Sandman stay

Though busy front desk and hallway noise was periodically a problem, the location was excellent. We also had a corner room which has terrific windows all around with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EAt a Japadog!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nuzali
Business
seattle, wa
Jun 28, 2010

met our standards

[...] and for the price it was a good location, clean rooms with enough space. the staff also was helpful. eating is right in the next block, and shopping is a 5 min walk away. the place gets a little noisy at night, from the hotel bar, and there is a club i right across, but you dont hear music, just people sometimes. but overall was a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

just a 5 min walk away is an entire street with shops, but all the exact same shops are all in mall which is also right around the corner i think the name was pacific center, the hotel staff can help you with that but everything here is cheaper and better to shop at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newlymarried
Business
Hawaii
Jun 24, 2010

Comfortable

My husband and I walked around Vancouver from the Sandman. It was a great location -- easy to walk to both Gastown and Yaletown. Cabs were readily accessible for those places we wanted to go outside of that particular area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at one of the unique restaurants in Yaletown and stroll by the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
green bay wisconsin
Jun 21, 2010

terribly small, bathroom was terrible.

worst hotel room I have ever had. elevators small and disfunctional. bathroom terribly small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Jun 17, 2010

Sandman - not horrible

Very average hotel. Called room service on my 1st night there, only to be told that the kitchen was closed because they were fumigating it. That was the wrong thing to say. Needless to say, we ate no meals there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top