$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
84 reviews
Very nice clean inexpensive hotel with a pool

We stayed in this hotel for 13 nights and that is obviously longer than most guests as the... See full review

  • aniahill
  • Dec 11, 2012
vacation trip

Right around the corner from Rogers Arena and BC place. A short walk to Chinatown, Yaletown, and... See full review

  • rimshot
  • Apr 6, 2014
Downtown spot near theaters and stadiums with on-site dining, nightlife

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2792 -123.1131
Area served
Vancouver, Burnaby, Gastown, Granville Island, North Vancouver, Richmond, Kitsilano, Surrey, Whistler
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Area description
Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Close to shopping, tourist attractions and corporate offices.

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • English Bay: 2.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.4 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.5 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.4 / 5
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Panama City, Florida
Sep 5, 2009

not even one star

Room 1: A/C did not work, TV did not work moved to room 2: Toilet did not work, clock did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Columbus Oh
Sep 4, 2009

Nice Balcony

Good Hotel in nice area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Upper Marlboro, MD
Aug 24, 2009

Nice hotel

The location was great - lots of restaurants nearby. Room was very comfortable in every way, staff very professional and helpful. What was weird and confusing was the location of the restaurant - it's actually not in the hotel, but attached to it. There were some signs directing you in the general right direction, but we kept ending up at dead ends. We eventually just walked out the front door of the hotel and walked 5 feet to the exterior front door of the restaurant. Really weird configuration. But the food was great, so I guess that makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

about 20 minute walk to the Stone Grill restaurant on Granville Ave.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
happy with location only
washington
Aug 20, 2009

good location for concert

The hotel was about what was expected. We booked this room based on location. It was great to be able to walk to gm place for our concert.Easy walking to Robson street,downtown area. Downsides, the room was musty smelling, could only open windows 2" to vent and was hard to cool down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great access to Robson street for shopping or eating. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Livonia, Mi
Aug 18, 2009

Incredible location

Staff was very, very helpful. Superb location; $10 cab fare from pier and within walking distance of tons of restraunts and shops. Couldn't have picked a better one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Aug 16, 2009

Sandman Hotel Downtown Vancouver

Very knowledgeable, efficient, friendly desk personnel. For a layover in Vancouver, I would definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
Fan of the Sandman
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, close to everything!

I went to Vancouver for a wedding. While I was in town I planned on seeing as much as I could. The hotel is centrally located and it is close to pretty much everything if you don't mind walking just a little. My room was small but with that said, everything inside of it was working and it was clean. You have to keep in mind that the hotel is located in the city and the rooms are going to be small. The Skytrain station is a brisk walk away, Yaletown is probably a 10 minute walk and I walked to the convention center within 20 minutes. The closest stop is a 10 minute walk to the southwest! Back to the hotel again, it is most convenient to have a sports bar, restaurant/bar and a cafe all downstairs too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Yaletown is good for staying out til 3am in the morning. Lots of people around and the crowd and area is decent. You don't have to watch your back walking back to the hotel. Gastown = lots of bums and back alleys are shady. Also, the Aquabus, a water taxi, is very convenient and fun!

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Detroit
Aug 2, 2009

Our base camp for touring.

The Sandman was located one stop from the train station via the Sky Train which was perfect as we traveled on Canadian Rail from Jasper. We spent 3 days toruing Vancouver and used the rapid transit to reach all parts of the city from this convenient location. The desk manager was very helpful in providing recommendations and holding our luggage (we arrived prior to check in and stayed beyond check out to stretch our time in the city). The manager took time to get our feedback on the staff to ensure they will be fully trained to host the Olympics visitors. During our stay they were also hosting the World Fire and Police Games and managed to serve the needs of the Italians, Dutch, Australians and many others without loosing us in the mix. Great job! On the down side -room was a bit small and the AC couldn't handle the unusual heat wave we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Asain food, Chinatown is a short walk. We highly recommend the Phnom Penh (Vietnamese) and the Jade Dynasty (dim sum). Plus the Dr. Sun Yat- Sen gardens are not to be missed! We happened upon a play at the gardens, "The China Tea Deal" that was very well portrayed as well as interactive.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Terrible beds

Small, old elevators and terrible beds. The parking garage was being resurfaced, but no warnings about what was being done to the garage - another guest ended up with tar all over her shoes because she could not get to her car without walking through the fresh surfacing and had no choice because she had to be somewhere and the hotel did not inform the guests. Not a happy experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring umbrellas, no matter what the predictions say!

Back to menu Return to top