$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gmanrick
Victoria, BC, Canada
Nov 21, 2011

Perfect for what and where I was going.

Quick through when I got there, great price and perfect location for the purpose of my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try anything close as great food and many options close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristieAnne
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good hotel but be prepared!

I recently stayed here on a business trip. I read the previous reviews so I was aware that may be some noise issues. I was not right next to the elevators, but was not that far. However, I was there the night of a hockey game - which is cool, because it is right next to the hotel! It is an extremely lively area before hockey games and literally EVERY person at the hotel is there for a game! So, you can imagine it is a little rowdy. I could hear constant conversations on the night of the game, including lots of screaming and cheering fans through the night until about midnight. That being said, I would definitely stay here again! Although the noise did live up to all of the reviews' warnings, the hotel location made up for it. I walked everywhere, including two different SkyTrain stations. The lobby of the hotel was recently redone and looks nice, with crystal chandeliers and a nice seating area. The area is also extremely safe, a concern of mine since I was traveling alone. Also, Moxie's, which is in the lobby, is fun during the hockey games to grab a beer and people watch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown-Stadium SkyTrain station is about a 5 min walk from the hotel. There is an Asian grocery market right when you get off where they have AWESOME sushi to choose from and take to-go! The deserts there are awesome, too. Plus, if you stop by around 8pm, they are marking down the daily items so you can get a good deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlmc16
Business
Butte Falls, OR, USA
Jan 24, 2012

anniversary

Room was really tiny drain did not work very well in bath would fill up when we took showers. water was always luke warm. no remote for tv. not enough towels, found extras in a drawer under tv weird spot when used them were not replaced not a great bathroom set up good thing were not super fat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gmanrick
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Nov 21, 2011

Perfect for what and where I was going.

Quick through when I got there, great price and perfect location for the purpose of my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try anything close as great food and many options close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyalSlik
Business
London, England
Nov 8, 2011

A bit dingy, but well located and good value

The hotel is very well located in central Vancouver, about four blocks from Vancouver City Centre Skytrain, direct on the Canda Line from YVR. The staff were very courteous and the room was good value. The place was a bit dingy and the room quite small. Some extra lighting in the room would not go amiss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Budget Car Rental is two block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LPS01
Business
Kennewick, WA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Cheap Stay Downton

Spent one night in Vancouver for a sporting event. The hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Vancouver and only a 15-20 minute walk from the main train station. Price was very reasonable considering the location and last minute reservation. In fact the front desk lady gave us a free upgrade so my friend and I would not have to share a bed. Room was clean if slightly dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curleyq
Business
Chicago, IL
May 10, 2011

Disappointing

The location isn't bad but the hotel itself had a bunch of little inconveniences that made the stay uncomfortable. It was my least favorite hotel in Vancouver and we stayed in three different hotels during our trip. -internet connection kept getting disconnected -rooms are incredibly small -elevator wasn't functioning correctly -the bed frame is several inches wider then the bed, I kept stubbing my toe It wasn't horrible just not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
May 4, 2011

Two star at best

I was on a business trip and needed to get back and forth from the convention center. It took forever to get a cab. The room was fine, but the bathroom fan sounded like a backyard generator. The food and the Service was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanaimo hockey fans
Business
Nanaimo B.C.
Apr 23, 2011

bad hotel, bad hockey game

Rooms was small, TV didn't work, housekeeping was shoddy. Worst part was the noise. This hotel caters to a younger crowd who had come to watch the Hockey game and we were kept up till very early in the morning with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt lake city
Dec 11, 2010

Nice hotel close to Rogers Arena

Great hole staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from arena

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Nov 28, 2010

"Awesome location downtown"

Great location to see the city, close to all amenities, sporting events etc..Hotel was very clean, room was average size but just there to sleep and get cleaned up so served its purpose. Great restaurant and bar located in the hotel. Price you pay for what you get was excellent. Only complaint was bathroom very small in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rogers Arena literally a 5 min. walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top