Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
111 reviews
Very nice rooms and comfortable

I was in Vancouver watching the hockey game it is a very nice room I would recommend itClose to the... See full review

  • THOMAS H.
  • Apr 15, 2015
Very nice rooms and comfortable

I was in Vancouver watching the hockey game it is a very nice room I would recommend itClose to the... See full review

  • THOMAS H.
  • Apr 15, 2015

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Property features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Nearby attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

49.2792 -123.1131
Area served
Vancouver, Burnaby, Gastown, Granville Island, North Vancouver, Richmond, Kitsilano, Surrey, Whistler
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Area description
Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Close to shopping, tourist attractions and corporate offices.

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 2 mi
  • English Bay: 2.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.4 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.5 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill in Burnaby
Business
Burnaby
Dec 8, 2014

Small But Comfortable

My room was a bit on the small side but quite comfortable and clean. The staff were polite and helpful. The only negative was when I went into their restaurant, Moxies. Noone was around to greet guests and several wait staff and the manager walked right by me without any acknowledgement or even eye contact. I sat at the bar and when they continued to ignore me after a few more minutes of waiting, I walked out of the restaurant and went elsewhere to eat where my business was appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the Restaurant, Moxies. Service was non existent so I left withput ever being acknowledged.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VICKY
Business
N/A
Jul 7, 2015

Summer Vacation

Location of this hotel is perfect, a 5 min walk to lots of food, a theater, china town, the stadium and much more. The front desk staff was very serious and not very friendly. They weren't rude just seem more like robots. The bell boy was very friendly answered all our questions, even went down stairs and got us map and brought it up to us. The bartenders at the attached bar were super friendly too. They all took the time to talk to us and had some great conversations. My biggest complain was that no one told us when we checked in that Vancouver was having a heat wave and they weren't properly equipped for it. When we got to our floor (11th) the hall was super hot and we figured it was just the hall. We went to our room and it was 86 degrees in there. The room was clean and the view was gorgeous but we called they checked the AC, which to them it was functioning properly and got switched to a different room on the same floor and the opposite side of the building. It didn't help much, temp went down maybe 2 degrees. On multiple times I called the front desk and all they did was say they would have someone check it out. Again someone came and everything was fine. I asked for a fan multiple times and never receive an answer until I stood at the front desk waiting for an answer and they gave me a little top desk fan, that didnt really help. I didn't find out they knew about the issue until I was waiting for an elevator along with a hotel employee and he said they really should of warned the guests and not put anyone that high up because of the heat. We honestly wouldn't of stayed if we knew that from the beginning. I asked the front desk as well if they would be offering a discount to the guest for the inconvenience and the gentleman wrote a note for the manager but again I never heard from them. When I checked out, again the front desk was like robots, he didn't even ask how my stay was. He just checked me out. I think I would stay there again but will make sure to stay on a lower floor or not during summer time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moms rules
Business
victoria
Mar 12, 2013

One night

I really like the location of the hotel, but the rooms were not very clean and very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Still exhausted
Business
Victoria, BC
Sep 8, 2009

Could have been better

The staff was quite friendly but upon arrival they could not find my reservation. Even after giving them my Orbitz confirmation page it took them about 15 minutes to find it -- they had to contact the main office. The room was decent but apparently the cleaning staff had not closed the bathroom door. When I did, I found a man's bathing suit and underwear and a moldy grape. Moxie's is one of my favourite restaurants but when I got food to go (room service is only available in one wing) they failed to give me utensils so I had to go back down to ask for them. At midnight the room's alarm clock went off (which had not been turned off by housekeeping -- I hadn't touched it). Then at 2:30 the fire alarm went off. I had to walk down 10 flights of stairs. At around 3 we were allowed to go back to our rooms (no fire -- the water pressure for the sprinkler system had become to low due to a leak in the parking garage) but the elevators weren't working because the alarm was still on so I had to walk back up the 10 flights. The alarm continued until 3:30. Needless to say I was not provided with a restful sleep before my business meetings the next day and all I got in return from the hotel was an apology for "any inconvenience".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brentwood Bay, BC
Jul 27, 2008

The Room

The TV controller did not work, we phoned to have it replaced, when the maid tried the second one it too did not work she left with it and never did return with a workable controller. No fridge in room and the elevator was experiencing problems in as much as it was slow to the point where people were taking the stairs. We will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Centre a wonderful theatre for big musicals.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
curleyq
Business
Chicago, IL
May 10, 2011

Disappointing

The location isn't bad but the hotel itself had a bunch of little inconveniences that made the stay uncomfortable. It was my least favorite hotel in Vancouver and we stayed in three different hotels during our trip. -internet connection kept getting disconnected -rooms are incredibly small -elevator wasn't functioning correctly -the bed frame is several inches wider then the bed, I kept stubbing my toe It wasn't horrible just not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy with location only
Business
washington
Aug 20, 2009

good location for concert

The hotel was about what was expected. We booked this room based on location. It was great to be able to walk to gm place for our concert.Easy walking to Robson street,downtown area. Downsides, the room was musty smelling, could only open windows 2" to vent and was hard to cool down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great access to Robson street for shopping or eating. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saanichton
Jul 5, 2008

Old, small and busy

We stayed for a BC Lions game, and the location is great.. however there are nicer hotels closer to BC place. Check was atrocious. I have never seen a checkin line so long, there must have been 8-10 groups in front of me. The elevators were very slow, with lineups in order to get on one to go up to your room... . The room was SMALL, about the size of my bathroom at home (admittedly my bathroom is a large one, but still!) and it smelled like old man B.O. It looks like they have squeezed rooms anywhere they can - behind ice machines, beside elevator shafts etc. And it is difficult to find your way around the hotel... for example to get from your room to the pool is quite an operation in multiple old staircases, doors and elevators. We ate at Moxies in the restaurant at the hotel, and the waiter was very rude to us. The one good thing about it is that they enforce quiet hours after 10, so we did sleep well. But I will NEVER stay again, you can do much better in Vancouver for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nanaimo hockey fans
Business
Nanaimo B.C.
Apr 23, 2011

bad hotel, bad hockey game

Rooms was small, TV didn't work, housekeeping was shoddy. Worst part was the noise. This hotel caters to a younger crowd who had come to watch the Hockey game and we were kept up till very early in the morning with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
May 4, 2011

Two star at best

I was on a business trip and needed to get back and forth from the convention center. It took forever to get a cab. The room was fine, but the bathroom fan sounded like a backyard generator. The food and the Service was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top