$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jun 18, 2009

Convenient and economy priced

Spent two days here instead of the over-priced conference hotel. This was a bargain and very neat, clean and good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient to most downtown attractions.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
May 12, 2009

Nice for the price

This is a great place if you just need a place to sleep. The room is small, but has free wireless internet access which made traveling a little easier. The service was above average and parking was easy (small fee). Lots to see and is close to the cruise terminals. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Moxie's was just down the hall from us and is a great restaurant with awesome service. Tends to get a little loud after a hockey game, especially during the playoffs when the Canucks win (the hockey stadium is across the street). Food was excellent and would definitely go there again.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allen
Nov 26, 2008

Good location but terrible parking facility

The Sandman Inn was a comfortable place to stay. The car parking was terrible with no instructions how to enter into the parking lot from the front desk receptionist. The elevator and the garage always needed the key to enter into. They don't tell you to insert the key and how you should insert it. It took us 45 minutes to find the garage, park and take our luggage to the lobby. They ought to have some help in the front lobby to take off your luggage and take it to the room. At least 3 other people came to the front desk to ask how they could enter the garage. The queen size bed they refered is a regular bed. If you really have to be to close to the BC Place, this may be convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping is pretty close-by.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Gabriel
Sep 22, 2008

A good experience

Located in a safe neighborhood, close to shops, walking distance to where commercial ships dock. Felt secure in this hotel, as we were two foreign female travelers. Did not use any of the amenities/restaurants, but staff was very friendly and anxious to offer assistance in any way needed. The room had been updated to a more modern feel and included a flat screen TV. Our remote did not work, but courteous staff attended to the issue until it was solved. Overall, it was nicer than expected-the name's a little corny & connotated a cheap hotel in my mind, but we were very pleased. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High end luxury shopping very near, also coffee places, restaurants, drug stores & two movie theatres. Your needs will most likely be met easily.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta
Aug 27, 2008

Clean, and convenient ..great staff..

Everything was great, and met out expectations, the room was clean, quiet, and the bed had a great mattress... The staff was very helpful and congeniel, had some problems with the internet, but was compensated without a problem.. It was convenient to eating and walking, enjoyed going down to Yaletown.. Vancouver was quite impressive, and we were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brentwood Bay, BC
Jul 27, 2008

The Room

The TV controller did not work, we phoned to have it replaced, when the maid tried the second one it too did not work she left with it and never did return with a workable controller. No fridge in room and the elevator was experiencing problems in as much as it was slow to the point where people were taking the stairs. We will stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Centre a wonderful theatre for big musicals.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saanichton
Jul 5, 2008

Old, small and busy

We stayed for a BC Lions game, and the location is great.. however there are nicer hotels closer to BC place. Check was atrocious. I have never seen a checkin line so long, there must have been 8-10 groups in front of me. The elevators were very slow, with lineups in order to get on one to go up to your room... . The room was SMALL, about the size of my bathroom at home (admittedly my bathroom is a large one, but still!) and it smelled like old man B.O. It looks like they have squeezed rooms anywhere they can - behind ice machines, beside elevator shafts etc. And it is difficult to find your way around the hotel... for example to get from your room to the pool is quite an operation in multiple old staircases, doors and elevators. We ate at Moxies in the restaurant at the hotel, and the waiter was very rude to us. The one good thing about it is that they enforce quiet hours after 10, so we did sleep well. But I will NEVER stay again, you can do much better in Vancouver for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cloverdale
Jun 26, 2008

Normal check-in was 4pm ...

Normal check-in was 4pm and we were early, so we went on a tour and returned at 4 pm. One room was ready. The other they would call us when it was ready. We went to the room. It was so small, and there were complimentary snacks to help make our stay a little more comfortable. To use the bathroom, you had to straddle the toilet to shut the door. The staff was nice enough to deal with, and I wouldn't want their job for nothing...but it made for a very frustrating afternoon and evening. Vacations are too short for that kind of mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has restaurant, sports bar, and lounge, and centrally located to get almost anywhere.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumming, GA
Jun 13, 2008

Quick trip

We had never stayed at a Sandman hotel. I called the front desk at 9:30pm for an extra pillow (two very well worn poly filled were provided) and the female desk clerk told me it would be a few minutes. I called again 30 minutes later and the front desk clerk (the first one I spoke to) told me she had an emergency, apologized for the delay and said it would be right up. I called again 45 minutes later when it hadn't arrived (this time it was a male clerk), I offered to come down and get it and then it was delivered shortly after. The room was clean, the bed, towels and bedding well worn and well the service was undependable. We ate dinner at the sports bar and it was good. The parking and hotel security were very good. The location was a little off the beaten path, but not inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a sightseeing stop right outside of the hotel which is very convenient if you are short on time and want to get a good view of the city.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2008

great place

All in all a great place in a great location. Wonderful, helpful and courteous staff. I highly recomend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top