$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
View map of 180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aniahill
Bournemouth, UK
Dec 11, 2012

Very nice clean inexpensive hotel with a pool

We stayed in this hotel for 13 nights and that is obviously longer than most guests as the receptionist was quite shocked. Because of the length of stay we were upgraded, however the first room we were given would have been fine for a short stay (no wardrobe in the room). The upgraded room had a very comfortable 6' bed, a wardrobe and all of the normal things you would expect from a hotel room. There was a tidy little pool and jacuzzi on our floor which was very handy but we didn't know about it until we got there and smelt the chlorine. The position of the hotel was great for all of the things we wanted like Robson Street, Christmas market etc and good for transport links for other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
happy with location only
Business
washington
Aug 20, 2009

good location for concert

The hotel was about what was expected. We booked this room based on location. It was great to be able to walk to gm place for our concert.Easy walking to Robson street,downtown area. Downsides, the room was musty smelling, could only open windows 2" to vent and was hard to cool down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great access to Robson street for shopping or eating. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livonia, Mi
Aug 18, 2009

Incredible location

Staff was very, very helpful. Superb location; $10 cab fare from pier and within walking distance of tons of restraunts and shops. Couldn't have picked a better one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 16, 2009

Sandman Hotel Downtown Vancouver

Very knowledgeable, efficient, friendly desk personnel. For a layover in Vancouver, I would definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fan of the Sandman
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, close to everything!

I went to Vancouver for a wedding. While I was in town I planned on seeing as much as I could. The hotel is centrally located and it is close to pretty much everything if you don't mind walking just a little. My room was small but with that said, everything inside of it was working and it was clean. You have to keep in mind that the hotel is located in the city and the rooms are going to be small. The Skytrain station is a brisk walk away, Yaletown is probably a 10 minute walk and I walked to the convention center within 20 minutes. The closest stop is a 10 minute walk to the southwest! Back to the hotel again, it is most convenient to have a sports bar, restaurant/bar and a cafe all downstairs too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Yaletown is good for staying out til 3am in the morning. Lots of people around and the crowd and area is decent. You don't have to watch your back walking back to the hotel. Gastown = lots of bums and back alleys are shady. Also, the Aquabus, a water taxi, is very convenient and fun!

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit
Aug 2, 2009

Our base camp for touring.

The Sandman was located one stop from the train station via the Sky Train which was perfect as we traveled on Canadian Rail from Jasper. We spent 3 days toruing Vancouver and used the rapid transit to reach all parts of the city from this convenient location. The desk manager was very helpful in providing recommendations and holding our luggage (we arrived prior to check in and stayed beyond check out to stretch our time in the city). The manager took time to get our feedback on the staff to ensure they will be fully trained to host the Olympics visitors. During our stay they were also hosting the World Fire and Police Games and managed to serve the needs of the Italians, Dutch, Australians and many others without loosing us in the mix. Great job! On the down side -room was a bit small and the AC couldn't handle the unusual heat wave we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy Asain food, Chinatown is a short walk. We highly recommend the Phnom Penh (Vietnamese) and the Jade Dynasty (dim sum). Plus the Dr. Sun Yat- Sen gardens are not to be missed! We happened upon a play at the gardens, "The China Tea Deal" that was very well portrayed as well as interactive.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Terrible beds

Small, old elevators and terrible beds. The parking garage was being resurfaced, but no warnings about what was being done to the garage - another guest ended up with tar all over her shoes because she could not get to her car without walking through the fresh surfacing and had no choice because she had to be somewhere and the hotel did not inform the guests. Not a happy experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring umbrellas, no matter what the predictions say!

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prattville, AL
Jun 24, 2009

Excellent choice for the money!!!

The main restaurant was not open for guests. The choices for downtown restaurants was overpriced with poor service. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful when asked questions that they could answer or they would direct you to someone who could answer your question. The rooms are efficient, clean and comfortable, quiet and we received a good nights rest. They have a separate desk for excursions and rental vehicles that was manned by very helpful people. If we return to Vancouver we will request rooms at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jun 18, 2009

Convenient and economy priced

Spent two days here instead of the over-priced conference hotel. This was a bargain and very neat, clean and good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient to most downtown attractions.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
May 12, 2009

Nice for the price

This is a great place if you just need a place to sleep. The room is small, but has free wireless internet access which made traveling a little easier. The service was above average and parking was easy (small fee). Lots to see and is close to the cruise terminals. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Moxie's was just down the hall from us and is a great restaurant with awesome service. Tends to get a little loud after a hockey game, especially during the playoffs when the Canucks win (the hockey stadium is across the street). Food was excellent and would definitely go there again.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allen
Nov 26, 2008

Good location but terrible parking facility

The Sandman Inn was a comfortable place to stay. The car parking was terrible with no instructions how to enter into the parking lot from the front desk receptionist. The elevator and the garage always needed the key to enter into. They don't tell you to insert the key and how you should insert it. It took us 45 minutes to find the garage, park and take our luggage to the lobby. They ought to have some help in the front lobby to take off your luggage and take it to the room. At least 3 other people came to the front desk to ask how they could enter the garage. The queen size bed they refered is a regular bed. If you really have to be to close to the BC Place, this may be convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping is pretty close-by.

Back to menu Return to top