$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Ramada Vancouver Downtown

3 stars
1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1M6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
89 reviews
Very Good location

Nice Location in DOWNTOWN very convenience to walk around and easy find a food See full review

  • Robert705
  • Apr 4, 2014
good location

easy to go out. stuff is nice. Room was good. Thanks. See full review

  • Ameliie
  • Mar 21, 2014
Renovated gem steals spotlight in Vancouver's entertainment district

Party like a star with the hottest clubs and concert halls circling this hotel at the heart of Vancouver's entertainment district. Granville is where the action is with Vancouver's best bars, clubs, and concert venues lining the street. And the Ramada Inn and Suites is at the center of it all. The Roxy, the favorite nightclub of visiting NFL stars, music legends, and celebrities, is steps from the hotel. The Commodore Ballroom, famous for its long history of showcasing the hottest musical talent, is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • In the center of Vancouver's exciting nightlife
  • On-site cocktail lounge Ginger Six-Two is one of the city's best
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location

Days are exciting with trendy Robson Street so close by, hip Yaletown within walking distance, and BC Place Stadium a short taxi or bus ride away. Restaurants abound for the hungry. From Granville Street to Robson Street, there's something for every taste.

Rooms

Guest rooms are decorated in an Art-Deco style, and offer all the modern amenities a traveler could want. Choose from rooms perfect for the single traveler to deluxe suites with kitchen units, perfect for a family's extended stay. All rooms have high-quality linens, pillow top mattresses, large LCD HD televisions, air conditioning, and free wireless high speed Internet.

Features

Guests can do it all from this inviting, centrally located hotel. The city's incredible nightlife is right at the door. Robson Street's famous boutiques are mere blocks away. Theatre Row, home to the Vogue and Queen Elizabeth Theaters, is easily accessible. Sports fans are never far from a game with BC Place Stadium and General Motors Place nearby. And for quieter entertainment, the picturesque sea wall, Stanley Park, and the Granville Island Market can be reached via Vancouver's excellent public transit system.

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/ 12.9 km)
Attractions
  • The Roxy Nightclub (3 blocks)
  • The Commodore Ballroom (4 blocks)
  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
Business
  • Computer station available in lobby
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

49.2752 -123.1293
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.2 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.6 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.8 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Nov 30, 2008

inexpensive, and in the west end

I am glad I didn't get a room on the street,due to noise. It was clean and served it's function.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 16, 2008

convenient location

While not large, the room was laid out well. Bathroom was nice. Everything was clean. Neighborhood is being upgraded so there are some sketchy people/places mixed with upscale bars & clubs. Was loud at night from the street. Very convenient to West End and downtown. They have limited parking so you are stuck with street parking or paying for a lot if you don't get in there lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a couple blocks and you can get a ferry to Granville Island with cute shops and great views of city.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Aug 4, 2008

Convenience to the action

The Ramada Inn is an older building with extremely slow elevators...taking the stairs is preferred for lower floors. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was pleasant. When I first arrived, they placed me in an upper floor that faced another hotel window not 10 feet away. Kind of dark and depressing. Upon asking for a new room, they gave me a great room on a lower floor with lots of sunlight. Much better! Their concern was that the noise from Granville street would bother me, especially from the club in the same building. Since I am a night owl anyway, I wasn't bothered in the least. There is parking available in a very small lot by the hotel or you can have your car parked valet. Since I like immediate access to my car and also prefer a more secure area to park, I wish that they had self-service indoor parking. If you are looking for some peace and quiet, ask for an interior room or one higher up as the lower floors facing Granville pick up quite a bit of noise. However, if you are out on the street making the noise, it won't bother you at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on Granville street, you have your pick of many hopping clubs and bars. It gets crazy out there on the weekends but what the heck! Go out and live a little. Once you are done with the nightlife, stop by and grab a slice or two of pizza from the many pizza joints in the area and enjoy the youthful exuberance that surrounds you everywhere.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, FL
Jul 24, 2008

over priced for nothing

The shoebox size room was smaller than hotels I have stayed at in europe. I literally had to beg for a window in the room and what I got was a view of the back alley with major constructioning happening. The elevator was petite and antiquated and was shakey,very unsafe. The parking situation was a joke it costs you $15.00 dollars a day and when you park in back of the hotel the only parking area(which is about the size of a 20x20 rm.} you have to leave your keys with the front desk because they pack the cars in like sardines and if you decide to go out you have to have all the cars moved in order to leave... Ridiculous! This hotel was way overpriced with no amenities. Should be put on the worst hotel list!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

stanley park

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Great Location For Nighttime Fun!!

I loved it the staff was very friendly and very accomodating to my circumstances! It was in close range to the night life that we were looking for, not as clean as i would have liked but all in all it was a great place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Granville St.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Oct 10, 2007

Decent hotel

I found the Ramada Inn and Suites very adequate. The Bathroom was clean, the shower worked well, the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were excellent restaurants about 1 mile away.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 1, 2007

Good place (for the price) to stay in Vancouver

The Ramada Inn and Suites Downtown Vancouver proved to be a well located and comfortable hotel, especially given the fact that we were needing a base of operations for re-visiting Vancouver prior to our cruise later the next day. The Ramada Inn staff were very accommodating and friendly and seemed to take a genuine interest in our well-being.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A very nice, long beach is located just a few blocks from the Ramada Inn. You can walk for hours, access nearby sites and attractions easily, and still be fairly close to the hotel if you get tired and need to return for a snack or to rest.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janell
Seattle, WA
Jul 17, 2007

Communication could be better.

Ramada Inn and Suites Downtown Vancouver was centrally located in the downtown area, which is right where we wanted to be. I don't know if it was the late hour we checked in or a language barrier or what, but I was taken aback when the desk clerk charged me an additional $50. When I asked for an explanation, the clerk simply replied that it was for additional ammenities. Since I was already paying an additional $15-$16 dollars for overnight parking, the extra $50 on top of that was not appreciated. We were given our room key and sent off after the valet took our car keys and insisted he would keep them. No one explained how to get to our room, which was not intuitive. After a few wrong turns, we found the room. It was small and in an area of the hotel that looked ancient; the window overlooked an alley. I would say the staff evening wasn't the friendliest I've met. Our stay was short because we had to be out by 11:00 a.m. My daughter, mother, and I had breakfast at the Irish restaraunt attached to the hotel where we had a delightful server. The morning desk clerk at the hotel refunded the $50 from the previous night (less the parking fee), explaining that it was only a deposit and was never intended as an additional charge. We were given our keys to the car and were on our way. Although everything worked out, the rough start to our stay left an unsatisfactory feeling overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We were able to easily find the Gaslight District and Water Street from this hotel.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 20, 2007

Not for family

This was one of the worst place I have ever stayed. We were going on a cruise and we wanted to get a hotel close to the dock. What we ened up with is a place from Hell. There was nothing but bars all around the hotel. traffic was all night long. The yelling of all drunks that was on the street. We got no sleep at all that night. Plus had the dunks on our floor too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to drink and get drunk that is the place to be.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search