$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ramada Vancouver Downtown

3 stars
1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1M6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
92 reviews
Very Good location

Nice Location in DOWNTOWN very convenience to walk around and easy find a food See full review

  • Robert705
  • Apr 4, 2014
good location

easy to go out. stuff is nice. Room was good. Thanks. See full review

  • Ameliie
  • Mar 21, 2014
Renovated gem steals spotlight in Vancouver's entertainment district

Party like a star with the hottest clubs and concert halls circling this hotel at the heart of Vancouver's entertainment district. Granville is where the action is with Vancouver's best bars, clubs, and concert venues lining the street. And the Ramada Inn and Suites is at the center of it all. The Roxy, the favorite nightclub of visiting NFL stars, music legends, and celebrities, is steps from the hotel. The Commodore Ballroom, famous for its long history of showcasing the hottest musical talent, is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • In the center of Vancouver's exciting nightlife
  • On-site cocktail lounge Ginger Six-Two is one of the city's best
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location

Days are exciting with trendy Robson Street so close by, hip Yaletown within walking distance, and BC Place Stadium a short taxi or bus ride away. Restaurants abound for the hungry. From Granville Street to Robson Street, there's something for every taste.

Rooms

Guest rooms are decorated in an Art-Deco style, and offer all the modern amenities a traveler could want. Choose from rooms perfect for the single traveler to deluxe suites with kitchen units, perfect for a family's extended stay. All rooms have high-quality linens, pillow top mattresses, large LCD HD televisions, air conditioning, and free wireless high speed Internet.

Features

Guests can do it all from this inviting, centrally located hotel. The city's incredible nightlife is right at the door. Robson Street's famous boutiques are mere blocks away. Theatre Row, home to the Vogue and Queen Elizabeth Theaters, is easily accessible. Sports fans are never far from a game with BC Place Stadium and General Motors Place nearby. And for quieter entertainment, the picturesque sea wall, Stanley Park, and the Granville Island Market can be reached via Vancouver's excellent public transit system.

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/ 12.9 km)
Attractions
  • The Roxy Nightclub (3 blocks)
  • The Commodore Ballroom (4 blocks)
  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
Business
  • Computer station available in lobby
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.2 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.6 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.8 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 8, 2009

Excellent hotel for the price

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and I could open my window. I thoroughly checked for bed bugs, and there were none. The staff were very nice, and my room was cleaned thoroughly every day. I got a great price for my four day stay, and I would definitely stay there again. The neighborhood is vibrant and busy, and I always felt safe, including coming back from a late dinner by myself. There are great, small, family-owned restaurants nearby, and a natural food coop just a few blocks away. There are details that make the hotel less comfortable to stay in. The rooms are small. The ironing board is tiny. The walls are a bit thin, and I could hear my neighbors talking. There are three nightclubs on the street below that attracted loud patrons late at night (but I wore ear plugs while sleeping, and slept great). To me, those are small details that I can overlook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner, on Davie, is a great Japanese and Korean restaurant, JaKo's. Excellent food for excellent prices. And, they were fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Oct 26, 2009

Ramada on Granville

Although small...the room was very clean, the beds sooo comfortable, and a hop and a skip away to Robson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Great State of Washington
Oct 12, 2009

The Facts

Public transportation was great with train/light rail from airport into the heart of the city which was coordinated with bus service. I was able to leave the city during rush hour and be at the airport in less than 30 minutes. The wide variety of small ethnic resturants was an unexpected find during this business trip. People were very helpful and friendly. They were comfortable offering directions and giving advice on where to eat/visit during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around and try the many small ethnic resturants in the area. Ask the locals where they enjoying spending an evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vickivegas
Business
las vegas
Oct 2, 2009

much better choice

so much nicer welcome by check-in staff. quite knowledgable and helpful. gave us early chk-in because room was ready. very comfy room with a nice heater because we were cold. so glad we changed from howard johnson across the street to ramada

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Above a nightclub. Otherwise OK.

Worst part of the trip was the very loud nightclub directly below the hotel that was blasting music until 3am on Saturday. Staff was unsympathetic to our plight. Don't recommend staying here on Thurs-Sat, rest of the week was quiet. Best part of the trip was the good location near lots of good restaurants in Yaletown and not too far from Granville Island and other things in downtown. Otherwise the stay was pretty standard for a midrange urban hotel. Good price, decent staff, small but clean rooms with no view (but why would you spend time in the hotel room anyway?) The disinfectant they use to clean is pretty smelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Union City, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Location convenient, but noisy

Hotel visit 9/17/09 - 9/21/09 The cut dry truth is the price for the location was ok, I might have gotten a better deal if I looked around more, but the close proximity to everything was great!!! The front desk and housekeepers were very nice, especially the front desk! I came early hoping that I could get an early check-in, from a long flight in, and was fortunately accommodated. The first room I was given was rm# 116, SCARY location! I (female) was traveling alone for this short trip and this particular room location was so eerie and located in the very back of the hotel with a room view of a unsightly alley, lets just say I did not feel safe; not to mention, would not be able to be heard if anything were to happen (other than the access to elevator required hotel key, did not notice any other security measures ie. no security cameras). I guess a good location for a bunch of single friends that want to make lots of noise and want to be away from everything. The room was also much smaller. Anyways, I called down to the front desk and spoke with an extremely understanding and customer oriented person, Tania, explained my concerns and she promptly checked if there was another available room. Thank God, there was rm# 102 available, much bigger, close to elevator, and front of hotel. It had a great view of the downtown strip and was much larger; this made me feel like the price was much more worth it from the benefits I listed versus my first assigned room. I don't mind noise much, but if you do be mindful of this because below the hotel and across was a couple clubs and a few bars, so the noise level was loud enough to keep the average person up. Great though if you are going with friends to do those type of activities. Unfortunately, that was not my intention for this trip. The renovations consisted of newer looking furniture (bedding etc.) and bathroom was updated. The room needed a good carpet cleaning and just an overall freshening up...besides that was cleaner than most hotels in this star rating. That being said, if you need to have a hotel close to attractions and walking distance to everything, including the Granville Street Bridge (you can see the bridge from the front door of the hotel and is close enough, so that you can enjoy a walk over the bridge...a must do) and Granville Island (beautiful) then for the price it was worth it, with the room I had. Hope this helps, can't wait to visit Vancouver again, it is a beautiful city, very romantic - wished my husband was with!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC from Bothell
Business
Bothell, Washington
Sep 17, 2009

Good location and price.

Nice hotel, small but quiet room, parking was extra, about three blocks from the job location. Good price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Youngsville, NC
Aug 25, 2009

Good hotel, good staff, iffy location

We stayed for a single night after an Alaska cruise. The hotel was just fine, though not fancy; the couple with us had a very small room. The staff was helpful. The location is not great (there were several tattoo parlors on the street and a few people on the street who appeared to be vagrants), but we didn't feel unsafe. Because one of our group has trouble walking and we had had a tiring day, the Subway a few doors down was a welcome and familiar place to eat. The hotel staff called a taxi to the airport for us very early in the morning, and the taxi arrived within a couple of minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 26, 2009

Completely Adequate and that's perfect

I was in Vancouver for three days and needed a place from which I could take a bus anywhere. This was it and it was very convenient. Staff was nice, rooms are clean if a bit small. The hotel is nothing special really but if you're looking for a comfortable, convenient place to sleep and keep your belongings then this will suffice. Don't expect to be hanging out at the hotel and having the time of your life; it just isn't that kind of place. But why be in Vancouver if you just want to stay at a hotel pool?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taking the bus is easy and all the drivers are very friendly. Buy a Faresaversbook of tickets (most 7-11s will have them) and save a few dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FULLERTON CAL
Jun 10, 2009

GREAT

WASN'T IN THE ROOM MUCH WAS OUT IN THE CITY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

ALL THE BARS AN CLUBS ARE FEET AWAY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top