$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Ramada Vancouver Downtown

3 stars
1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1M6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
151 reviews
Very Good location

Nice Location in DOWNTOWN very convenience to walk around and easy find a food See full review

  • Robert705
  • Apr 4, 2014
good location

easy to go out. stuff is nice. Room was good. Thanks. See full review

  • Ameliie
  • Mar 21, 2014
Renovated gem steals spotlight in Vancouver's entertainment district

Party like a star with the hottest clubs and concert halls circling this hotel at the heart of Vancouver's entertainment district. Granville is where the action is with Vancouver's best bars, clubs, and concert venues lining the street. And the Ramada Inn and Suites is at the center of it all. The Roxy, the favorite nightclub of visiting NFL stars, music legends, and celebrities, is steps from the hotel. The Commodore Ballroom, famous for its long history of showcasing the hottest musical talent, is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • In the center of Vancouver's exciting nightlife
  • On-site cocktail lounge Ginger Six-Two is one of the city's best
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Location

Days are exciting with trendy Robson Street so close by, hip Yaletown within walking distance, and BC Place Stadium a short taxi or bus ride away. Restaurants abound for the hungry. From Granville Street to Robson Street, there's something for every taste.

Rooms

Guest rooms are decorated in an Art-Deco style, and offer all the modern amenities a traveler could want. Choose from rooms perfect for the single traveler to deluxe suites with kitchen units, perfect for a family's extended stay. All rooms have high-quality linens, pillow top mattresses, large LCD HD televisions, air conditioning, and free wireless high speed Internet.

Features

Guests can do it all from this inviting, centrally located hotel. The city's incredible nightlife is right at the door. Robson Street's famous boutiques are mere blocks away. Theatre Row, home to the Vogue and Queen Elizabeth Theaters, is easily accessible. Sports fans are never far from a game with BC Place Stadium and General Motors Place nearby. And for quieter entertainment, the picturesque sea wall, Stanley Park, and the Granville Island Market can be reached via Vancouver's excellent public transit system.

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/ 12.9 km)
Attractions
  • The Roxy Nightclub (3 blocks)
  • The Commodore Ballroom (4 blocks)
  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.7 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
Business
  • Computer station available in lobby
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

49.2752 -123.1293
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.3 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.2 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.6 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.4 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.6 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.8 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N. Bluthe
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

I'd stay here again, however...

Being my first trip to Vancouver, I don't think I could have stayed in a better location for some casual tourist enjoyment. There are many varied interests at a walking distance, including a range of eateries. The lobby is very well put together and the staff very helpful; however, once you hit the elevator it smells like kitty litter. The lift, the hallway, and the room a wee bit. Quite strange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Retro Rock Vintage Clothing at 590 Davie street is a must see. Fantastic!

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MatthewK
West Chester, PA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Location is this hotel's best asset!

In the heart of downtown Vancouver on Granville street, this hotel is at a super convenient location and is in walking distance from everything. What is not within walking distance, you can connect to the Metro or bus with ease. The staff is attentive and friendly. The rate we got was superb! We booked months in advance and stayed over Christmas and New Year's and we only paid about $65 per night. The room had no view (just the other side of the building), but the room itself was simple, comfortable, and had just what we needed. The furniture is modern with dark woods and granite tops, so it has a high end look and feel. The double beds were very comfortable with feather top blankets. The large LCD TV was nice, but I will never understand why hotels make the investment to have nice HDTV LCDs but no High Def. channels. They do not offer movie rental service or anything special through the TV, just about 40 standard def. channels. But hey, who is staying at a hotel to watch TV, right? So not a big deal. There's no in room safe, which I always prefer when traveling for a long trip where I might be carrying a good amount of currency. But again, this isn't a big deal. There was a restaurant (Irish pub) in the hotel, but we never ate there. I suppose it's convenient and it looked like they had a breakfast special. There are an abundance of cafes (Blenz is my favorite!) and restaurants nearby the hotel, especially on Davie street which is around the corner. We dined on Davie street on most days and really enjoyed the convenience and variety. Also, regarding Davie street: if you are up for a 20 min walk, you can go directly to Stanley park by foot via Davie street - really nice! One negative thing - there is a nightclub next door to the hotel that the hotel owns and on Thursday through Saturday nights expect to hear loud thumping bass until at least 2AM. Fortunately for my partner and I, we were usually awake anyway at that time so it didn't matter. I just find it irresponsible for a hotel that owns a nightclub to knowingly expose their hotel guests to noise pollution that they have control over - that's not good service. We were on the 3rd floor and not next to the club and still heard the bass. Overall, a great hotel - you get what you pay for. This is not a 5 star hotel, so don't expect it to be more than what it is. However, it is a simple, comfortable, and clean place to stay with a location that is second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Stanley Park - just walk down Davie street for about 20 minutes.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cindy12345
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Not bad for a budget traveller

Great location and service but room is not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L. Jordan
Business
CA
Oct 23, 2011

And It Stinks Too

First the parking situation is a nightmare. Small spaces and never was any place to park your car and they charge you to park. That was the least of the problems with hotel. It is above a disco that thump LOUD music all night long into the wee hours. The elevators are so small and fit one person with a bag at a time. I decided to walk the flight of stairs to my floor. The hallways stink so bad of body odor I about got sick from the smell. The bathroom in my room had hair all inside the shower. I will NEVER go back to this place again. Unless you like disco music thumping you awake until dawn and the smell of body odor is your choice don't bother going. Plus, it is too expensive for what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2travellers
Australia
Oct 22, 2011

Quick Stay in Vancouver

Hotel is southern end of downtown in Granville street. Granville street in this end of town is seedy. Walked the streets without trouble day and night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanfir restuarant a must

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Q's mom
Tacoma, WA
Sep 14, 2011

ehhh okay!

I paid for a queen size bed but didnt get one, when speaking to the staff they ensured me it was a queen but CLEARLY it was not. Rooms are SUPER small, yes I read the posts before hand but I dont care about the size of the room. We had a room facing the street and even with the windows closed and air on it was SUPER noisy, maybe a room facing the alley is better? No fridge in the room so I couldnt store food to make eating cheaper. Close walking distance to everything. We spent 2 days at stanley park, the best kept secret is the elbow room (only breakfast and lunch) kind of a hole in the wall place that was fantastic. Would I stay again? Probably not, my husband and I were squished on the bed (we are not big people,a dbl doesnt cut it), too noisy at night (outside). For the price I am sure we can find somewhere a little nicer for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The elbow room, there is a warning when you go in about language and profanity but you are warned ahead of time. We didnt have any issues, good inexpensive affordable food. A true gem to the city.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Q's mom
Tacoma, WA
Sep 14, 2011

ehhh okay!

I paid for a queen size bed but didnt get one, when speaking to the staff they ensured me it was a queen but CLEARLY it was not. Rooms are SUPER small, yes I read the posts before hand but I dont care about the size of the room. We had a room facing the street and even with the windows closed and air on it was SUPER noisy, maybe a room facing the alley is better? No fridge in the room so I couldnt store food to make eating cheaper. Close walking distance to everything. We spent 2 days at stanley park, the best kept secret is the elbow room (only breakfast and lunch) kind of a hole in the wall place that was fantastic. Would I stay again? Probably not, my husband and I were squished on the bed (we are not big people,a dbl doesnt cut it), too noisy at night (outside). For the price I am sure we can find somewhere a little nicer for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The elbow room, there is a warning when you go in about language and profanity but you are warned ahead of time. We didnt have any issues, good inexpensive affordable food. A true gem to the city.

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle traveler
Seattle, WA,USA
Sep 12, 2011

Long-week end get-away without a car

This was a great location for staying to see the sites. Public transportation readily available. Just across the bridge to Granville Island. The room was clean and quiet. Only real deficiency was no free breakfast. They have a breakfast you can buy for extra. I chose to eat in the many coffee shops in the neighborhood, Yaletown- very upscale. The hotel itself is on the edge of Yaletown and is very old but has been redone. The rooms are nice, the hallways could use some work. I would stay there again for the price and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Expo line by catching number 7 bus on other side of Granville to Dunsimur Get Cananda line by taking C23 on Davie to the Yaletown Roundhouse or you can walk about 4-5 blocks on Davie

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle traveler
Seattle, WA,USA
Sep 12, 2011

Long-week end get-away without a car

This was a great location for staying to see the sites. Public transportation readily available. Just across the bridge to Granville Island. The room was clean and quiet. Only real deficiency was no free breakfast. They have a breakfast you can buy for extra. I chose to eat in the many coffee shops in the neighborhood, Yaletown- very upscale. The hotel itself is on the edge of Yaletown and is very old but has been redone. The rooms are nice, the hallways could use some work. I would stay there again for the price and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to Expo line by catching number 7 bus on other side of Granville to Dunsimur Get Cananda line by taking C23 on Davie to the Yaletown Roundhouse or you can walk about 4-5 blocks on Davie

Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexM
Alberta
Sep 9, 2011

Great Stay

Booked last minute and for the price we paid could have hot found a better place! Will be back .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top