$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Moda Hotel

3 stars
View map of 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
115 reviews
VANCOUVER BUSINESS TRIP

Excellent hotel for price. Pleasant staff Clean room and comfortable bed Negative: Climate... See full review

  • Furniture GURU
  • Nov 15, 2014
Nice Hotel, friendly Staff

Was very pleased with the Hotel staff. Very nice and helpfull. The room was clean and since we had... See full review

  • Pacey
  • Sep 30, 2014
Chic, modern accommodations in a historic downtown boutique hotel

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)
Attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 115
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Keekit
Business
Squamish, BC, Canada
Dec 22, 2011

Wrong renovation job on old hotel

I read the reviews before booking and I agree that the walls are too thin and the rooms are small and lack that comfort. The decor was too modern, but not in an expensive way, for such an old building. The staff was very friendly but the place had a hostel feel. I did have a good sleep since I was tired and the bed was clean and comfortable. I think next time I will pay the little extra money for a better hotel, but since we weren't in the room long it didn't matter so much. I think it's about 20 dollars overpriced, but they seem to care since the heating and noise issues others complained about at least look like someone attempted to do something about it. It's old and even the Ikea type decor can't fix that but it was ok. Really nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Thai food on Burrard at sala Thai or tons of great restaurants on davie street. All a short walk from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mots
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 28, 2013

Not as nice/upscale as photos suggest

A hotel that gives off a boutique vibe but doesn't really come through; rooms a little small; very old building, so you can hear sounds, heat doesn't hold that well, some street noise via old windows and you can easily hear some late night Granville crowds; parking not in same structure or even block; horrible shower head too; convenient location but I don't think I'll be back next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carol Ige
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 19, 2009

You get what you pay for.

okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Aug 22, 2008

Noisy & uncomfortable

The first problem we had was there was no parking in front of the hotel. We circled the block, found a parking meter the next street over, and walked back to the hotel. After checkin we were told the parking was down the block and across the street. With all of our luggage in tow we hiked back to the hotel and up to our room. It was stifling hot because the hotel didn't have any air conditioning and it was 95 degrees outside. We had to sleep with the window open to try to get some relief from the heat. As a result, the food smells from the exhaust fans of the restaurant/bar down below filled the room. We were also serenaded by birds, construction noise, trash cans, and drunk patrons. We didn't get much sleep at all. The room itself was clean and the staff was pleasant. The bathroom was large and clean. If the hotel were to install air conditioning and noise proof windows it wouldn't be a bad place to stay but it still would only be a 1-2 star stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like name brand shopping Robson Street is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tora7
Business
Boston, MA
May 28, 2012

No frills, but clean and comfortable

I booked this hotel for about $150/night including taxes. Vancouver is a very expensive city so I thought this price was fair for what I got. Somewhat shabby, but it was clean and comfortable. Great location and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time in Canada
Business
California
Jan 15, 2013

Good location, friendly staff

Moda is located very close to the heart of downtown, far enough that it's not directly in the center but close enough to take a short stroll to. Nice location, the staff was very nice and helpful. Only minor dislike is a very funky smell in the hallways as soon as you leave your room and the bed was not very well made. Other than that, price is OK considering the location, but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marko358
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 10, 2013

Decent hotel, great location

This place is quite pricey for what you get. It's pretty lean on amenities and seems a bit on the dirty side. Parking is not complimentary and is located a block away (no valet). Location is top notch though as you're right in the middle of the hustle and bustle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Washington
May 13, 2009

Walk to Vanc. Art Gallery and Robson St.

Stayed here so we could walk to see "Dutch Art Masterpieces from the Rijksmuseum" at Vancouver Art Gallery, located a few blocks away. Also had many choices within walking distance for eating at variety of restaurants, and shopping at numerous stores on Robson St. and in the vicinity. Hotel staff was very helpful with check-in. Hotel accomodations were satisfactory for our short stay, but bathroom sink without counter space was inconvenient, and location on busy street was noisy. When the planned air conditioning is installed (soon?), then windows would not need to be opened for air circulation--this could cut down on the noise. Hotel parking for a $15 additional fee at a nearby public lot was unsecured (without locked garage door). We were warned about possibility of theft--robbers chose 2 other cars near ours to break into; not sure why we were spared but we were thankful for not being victimized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gtb
Business
Hawaii
Sep 19, 2009

Excellent location & the price is right

we would go back..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pacific Centre "Robson" under ground shopping Mall and food court is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 16, 2009

Perfect location, simple amenities

The hotel was perfectly situated within easy walking distance of the West End, Yaletown and downtown. The hotel is attractive, but has few amenities. The rooms--particularly the bathrooms--are small. The hotel was being renovated while we were there, which caused a lot of noise, particularly in the afternoon. For a place to crash though while exploring all of Vancouver's amazing downtown neighborhoods, it can't be beat. One thing in particular that was vexing was the parking situation. I wish it would have been explained on the hotel's Web site, and it's important to know in advance, since street parking is quite limited in this busy area of retail and restaurants. Parking is available in a nearby residential high rise, however, guests should NOT pay in the parking garage but at the hotel front desk instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson Street, Vancouver's premiere shopping street, is only 1 block northeast of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top