$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Moda Hotel

3 stars
900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
110 reviews
Excellent Hotel Stay

Our hotel stay was wonderful. The location was perfect - right in the middle of downtown. Access to... See full review

  • Curt Lewis
  • Sep 22, 2013
Vancouver stay after cruise

Was given a suite that was wonderful and clean! Great location! See full review

  • Lee A
  • Sep 19, 2013
Chic, modern accommodations in a historic downtown boutique hotel

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)
Attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

49.2796 -123.1204
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
(YVR) Vancouver International Airport
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bovdilan
Edmonton ab
Nov 26, 2013

Great place for travelers and business man

Staff was always perfect to help, the location is great for any thing to do down town and the place is great, if they could only fix small details at the rooms, i would give the fifth star, still my next trip to Vancouver I'm staying the same hotel, really really recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viv LA
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 7, 2013

Quick trip to Vancouver

I liked that this boutique hotel has special charm to it. If you're expecting typical big corporate hotel accommodations, then this isn't the hotel for you. This hotel is located close to a Skytrain station, the Pacific Centre, and the hop on.off trolley, all within walking distance. I didn't try the hotel restaurant or bar, but it appeared to always have a good crowd of people and not overwhelming. I did take full advantage of their FREE WIFI my entire stay. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japadog is on the next street over, it's a must-try!!

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candace R.
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 27, 2011

NIce room and location.

This hotel was located within walking distance of good shops and restaurants. There is a wine bar, sports bar and restaurant attached. The room was small but we didnt stay in the room but for sleeping. Staff was nice and the room was clean. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Yaletown and catch a tugboat on Davie Street to Granville Island.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Maximizer
Seattle, WA
Dec 14, 2013

Fun in Vancouver

My wife and I stayed over the US Thanksgiving holiday. Staying at Moda we had fantastic access to public transit. We did lots including a trip to Cap Bridge and a great morning on Granville Island. All without driving anywhere. The Suite was great. The only drawback was that some of the decor and furnishings seemed a little run down. But still it would be tough to beat the value of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Yolk's.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thirsty and Hungry
Seattle
Apr 14, 2014

It's okay.

It's in a good location. It was easy to walk to the places downtown that we were interested in visiting. The front desk staff made some mistakes checking us in, gave us the keys to the wrong room, but it all worked out in the end. Also, the bed wasn't made all the way, like the housekeeper gave up because the sheets were clearly too small to be tucked in, maybe they grabbed a queen instead of a king, that was kinda weird. Otherwise it was all that you'd expect from a room for the price. I wouldn't necessarily choose this this hotel as a first pick when going back to Vancouver, but I wouldn't be hesitant about staying again either. There is a beer store in the base of the building that I will definitely revisit, however. I was super stoked to find 4 bottles of Cantillon there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parsons
May 26, 2008

Pretty nice

The Moda Hotel was quite a nice stay. Very close to downtown Vancouver. Hotel Staffs are generally nice. Room is pretty good, but the red wall is kind of weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson St has everything, shopping, dining.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Second honeymooner
Madison, WI
Aug 8, 2011

Clean and streamlined

We stayed for four days. The location was fantastic, we walked everywhere. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was small, but the hotel is renovated and over 100 years old. They've done a great job of making it sleek and stylish. Coffee shop downstairs is great, didn't try the restaurant, but heard fantastic comments about it. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grouse Mountain gondola ride and mountain top are spectacular. A local told us that while the gondola ride is $40/person, if you make reservations at the 5 star restaurant (the observatory) up top, the ride on the gondola to the top of the mountain is free. While the dinners at the restaurant are $40+/person, the free ride, bird show, lumberjack show, amazing views and grizzly bears etc are WELL worth it. Dinner was AMAZING.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danu
Business
Maryland suburbs of Washington
Mar 28, 2011

Decent place, friendly staff

The hotel was built in 1908 (so is not a new, fancy building) and has two fine restaurants. The room, with one queen-size bed, was rather small but certainly adequate for a single traveler. Clean, pleasant, simple accommodations. The bathroom was updated, and high-speed wireless Internet was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the Vancouver City Center mall, which has a food court.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Washington
May 13, 2009

Walk to Vanc. Art Gallery and Robson St.

Stayed here so we could walk to see "Dutch Art Masterpieces from the Rijksmuseum" at Vancouver Art Gallery, located a few blocks away. Also had many choices within walking distance for eating at variety of restaurants, and shopping at numerous stores on Robson St. and in the vicinity. Hotel staff was very helpful with check-in. Hotel accomodations were satisfactory for our short stay, but bathroom sink without counter space was inconvenient, and location on busy street was noisy. When the planned air conditioning is installed (soon?), then windows would not need to be opened for air circulation--this could cut down on the noise. Hotel parking for a $15 additional fee at a nearby public lot was unsecured (without locked garage door). We were warned about possibility of theft--robbers chose 2 other cars near ours to break into; not sure why we were spared but we were thankful for not being victimized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Graham, WA
Mar 24, 2010

Great location okay hotel

I visit different areas, The rooms were a little small there is no computer area must have own laptop, and there was no fitness area and spa, also no room service and no pool, all in all the location help this hotel out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search