$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Moda Hotel

3 stars
900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
98 reviews
Excellent Hotel Stay

Our hotel stay was wonderful. The location was perfect - right in the middle of downtown. Access to... See full review

  • Curt Lewis
  • Sep 22, 2013
Vancouver stay after cruise

Was given a suite that was wonderful and clean! Great location! See full review

  • Lee A
  • Sep 19, 2013
Chic, modern accommodations in a historic downtown boutique hotel

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)
Attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2796 -123.1204
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
(YVR) Vancouver International Airport
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jul 11, 2010

Excellent value and service

The staff was very very helpful. They allow early check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Joanne Tennis Traveler
Reno, Nevada
Jun 29, 2010

Nice area, clean rooms, friendly staff

The best part of the Moda hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. I also liked that there was a great restaurant attached to the lobby of the hotel. On the downside, the room was pretty small....although it was spotless. The view was of the roof. The location of the hotel was great and Stanley Park was within walking distance. All and all I enjoyed our stay at the Moda hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jun 21, 2010

Good location

the location of this hotel is very good. unfortunately, we were just above the bar and there was a lot of noice, the night as early in the morning. the room was small, but nice and design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

no other hint

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 16, 2010

Moda

The noise was no fault of their own. There is a significant construction project across the street. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The wine bar was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Kirkland, WA
Jun 13, 2010

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

We liked the hotel design, however IT IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY! SOOO SMALL, you can barely walk in the room! THE WINDOWS MAKE ROOM COMPLETELY VIEWABLE TO PUBLIC! They kicked our friends out of our room in the middle of the night! VERY SMALL HOTEL! IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
djcafe
Edmonds, WA
Jun 10, 2010

Pleasant Hotel

We had a pleasant two day stay. The rooms were clean and the woman at the reception desk was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Fairwind Jones
Business
Somewhere, Overthere
May 8, 2010

Best Deal in Downtown Vancouver?

I called to tell them I'd check in late and to request a quiet room away from the street. When I got there all went smoothly. The room was smallish but clean and fairly chic. The bed was the queen I had requested when I booked through [...].The concierge was friendly and gave me good directions. The Italian restaurant looked nice — like a modern, dimly-lit restaurant should, but I didn't eat there. The bar was also pretty hip, but the bar staff, while almost academic in their mixology, were not aloof or snobbish. Very friendly folks.On the morning I checked out, they happily held on to my bag for me until I came to pick it up later in the day on my way to the airport.I've stayed in many boutique hotels that are nice on the surface, but a bit too shabby and that just fall well short of expectations. I'm happy to say that Moda Hotel is not one of them. It was the least expensive hotel in downtown Vancouver and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
G&J Anchorage
Anchorage, AK
Apr 23, 2010

Fun, but modern piece of history

Stay was very good at the hotel, the only concern that I had, was it was very difficult to control the temperature of our room. The location is great and there is plenty near by. This was my second stay there, and I plan to make another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Kennewick,WA
Apr 18, 2010

Good price, okay service

We were staying at the Moda because it was VERY close to a concert at the Commodore Ballroom and were not disappointed. It was very close, the room was clean, and I got a cheap deal so it was satisfactory. However, at the sports bar in the hotel the service was horrible. I actually closed my tab and never received or got billed for the food I ordered. I went back later and still received bad service. I waited 30 minutes for a non-alcoholic beverage and waited even longer for the only thing on their menu after midnight (Pizza).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the Orpheum Theatre and Commodore Ballroom.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Graham, WA
Mar 24, 2010

Great location okay hotel

I visit different areas, The rooms were a little small there is no computer area must have own laptop, and there was no fitness area and spa, also no room service and no pool, all in all the location help this hotel out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top