$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Moda Hotel

3 stars
900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
160 reviews
Excellent Hotel Stay

Our hotel stay was wonderful. The location was perfect - right in the middle of downtown. Access to... See full review

  • Curt Lewis
  • Sep 22, 2013
Vancouver stay after cruise

Was given a suite that was wonderful and clean! Great location! See full review

  • Lee A
  • Sep 19, 2013
Chic, modern accommodations in a historic downtown boutique hotel

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)
Attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2796 -123.1204
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
(YVR) Vancouver International Airport
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tchoi
Canada
Mar 25, 2012

Great hotel

Great staff, very helpful, clean room, great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Washington
May 13, 2009

Walk to Vanc. Art Gallery and Robson St.

Stayed here so we could walk to see "Dutch Art Masterpieces from the Rijksmuseum" at Vancouver Art Gallery, located a few blocks away. Also had many choices within walking distance for eating at variety of restaurants, and shopping at numerous stores on Robson St. and in the vicinity. Hotel staff was very helpful with check-in. Hotel accomodations were satisfactory for our short stay, but bathroom sink without counter space was inconvenient, and location on busy street was noisy. When the planned air conditioning is installed (soon?), then windows would not need to be opened for air circulation--this could cut down on the noise. Hotel parking for a $15 additional fee at a nearby public lot was unsecured (without locked garage door). We were warned about possibility of theft--robbers chose 2 other cars near ours to break into; not sure why we were spared but we were thankful for not being victimized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kennewick,WA
Apr 18, 2010

Good price, okay service

We were staying at the Moda because it was VERY close to a concert at the Commodore Ballroom and were not disappointed. It was very close, the room was clean, and I got a cheap deal so it was satisfactory. However, at the sports bar in the hotel the service was horrible. I actually closed my tab and never received or got billed for the food I ordered. I went back later and still received bad service. I waited 30 minutes for a non-alcoholic beverage and waited even longer for the only thing on their menu after midnight (Pizza).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the Orpheum Theatre and Commodore Ballroom.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JP Lee
Berkeley, California
Apr 7, 2014

Nice place to stay in downtown Vancouver

Overall, the hotel suite was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clue
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Great city location

Moda is in a perfect downtown Vancouver location and close to the Skytrain. The room was tiny but clean. The bed was average and could use an upgrade in linens. We were just there overnight to catch the plane out the next morning; the room served its' purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skytrain goes directly to the airport....easy and quick.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Oct 16, 2009

Perfect location, simple amenities

The hotel was perfectly situated within easy walking distance of the West End, Yaletown and downtown. The hotel is attractive, but has few amenities. The rooms--particularly the bathrooms--are small. The hotel was being renovated while we were there, which caused a lot of noise, particularly in the afternoon. For a place to crash though while exploring all of Vancouver's amazing downtown neighborhoods, it can't be beat. One thing in particular that was vexing was the parking situation. I wish it would have been explained on the hotel's Web site, and it's important to know in advance, since street parking is quite limited in this busy area of retail and restaurants. Parking is available in a nearby residential high rise, however, guests should NOT pay in the parking garage but at the hotel front desk instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson Street, Vancouver's premiere shopping street, is only 1 block northeast of the hotel.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kennewick,WA
Apr 18, 2010

Good price, okay service

We were staying at the Moda because it was VERY close to a concert at the Commodore Ballroom and were not disappointed. It was very close, the room was clean, and I got a cheap deal so it was satisfactory. However, at the sports bar in the hotel the service was horrible. I actually closed my tab and never received or got billed for the food I ordered. I went back later and still received bad service. I waited 30 minutes for a non-alcoholic beverage and waited even longer for the only thing on their menu after midnight (Pizza).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the Orpheum Theatre and Commodore Ballroom.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendale, CA
May 30, 2009

Great place to stay

Moda Hotel was a perfect selection. Centrally located to local attractions, public transportation, and shopping. The wine bar next door was a nice place to enjoy a glass or two. The market and coffee shop on the same street are very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on visiting many tourist attractions or simply would like to get to know the city, purchase bus tickets. The bus system is so convenient and available everywhere.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 16, 2010

Moda

The noise was no fault of their own. There is a significant construction project across the street. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The wine bar was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fairwind Jones
Business
Somewhere, Overthere
May 8, 2010

Best Deal in Downtown Vancouver?

I called to tell them I'd check in late and to request a quiet room away from the street. When I got there all went smoothly. The room was smallish but clean and fairly chic. The bed was the queen I had requested when I booked through [...].The concierge was friendly and gave me good directions. The Italian restaurant looked nice — like a modern, dimly-lit restaurant should, but I didn't eat there. The bar was also pretty hip, but the bar staff, while almost academic in their mixology, were not aloof or snobbish. Very friendly folks.On the morning I checked out, they happily held on to my bag for me until I came to pick it up later in the day on my way to the airport.I've stayed in many boutique hotels that are nice on the surface, but a bit too shabby and that just fall well short of expectations. I'm happy to say that Moda Hotel is not one of them. It was the least expensive hotel in downtown Vancouver and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FionaG
Liverpool, UK
Jun 8, 2014

Ideal for a city break

Great location in downtown Vancouver- easy access to public transport if needed but central enough to walk to most places- gas town, Stanley Park and Canada Place just 10 min walk away (for shuttle buses up to Capilano, Grouse Grind, Whistler etc) and just one street over from Granville St (lots of shops, cafés etc) Staff very friendly and room nice although the hair dryer did not work, and there were a few chips in the paint (corners etc) but more obvious due to the minimal decoration etc. and had to keep connecting to the wifi, just little quibbles really- on the whole very good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top