$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Moda Hotel

3 stars
900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
115 reviews
Excellent Hotel Stay

Our hotel stay was wonderful. The location was perfect - right in the middle of downtown. Access to... See full review

  • Curt Lewis
  • Sep 22, 2013
Vancouver stay after cruise

Was given a suite that was wonderful and clean! Great location! See full review

  • Lee A
  • Sep 19, 2013
Chic, modern accommodations in a historic downtown boutique hotel

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)
Attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carley super mom and entrepreneur
kelowna, bc
Aug 6, 2011

Business trip to Vancouver, BC

Business Trip and concert. Enjoyed the ease of getting to and from the hotel by foot. It was great to have parkade parking across the street. Price was very reasonable and the room decor was nice and clean. Bathroom was a decent size and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REVel
Business
Rochester, MI
Oct 11, 2009

Great location, helpful staff

The staff was very helpful. I stayed 2 different weekends at this hotel. On the second weekend, they put me in a room on the second floor. Didn't realize that it could get a little noisy with street noise (had a heavy metal concert happening across the street at the Orpheum). They ended up upgrading me to a King room on the 4th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're into ethnic food, there's heaps of good food in a short distance from the hotel. There's a good (and cheap) Vietnamese sub and noodle shop (on Seymour & Robson), Korean/Japanese/Chinese grocery/food court, and a Shawarma place on Robson.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fairwind Jones
Business
Somewhere, Overthere
May 8, 2010

Best Deal in Downtown Vancouver?

I called to tell them I'd check in late and to request a quiet room away from the street. When I got there all went smoothly. The room was smallish but clean and fairly chic. The bed was the queen I had requested when I booked through [...].The concierge was friendly and gave me good directions. The Italian restaurant looked nice — like a modern, dimly-lit restaurant should, but I didn't eat there. The bar was also pretty hip, but the bar staff, while almost academic in their mixology, were not aloof or snobbish. Very friendly folks.On the morning I checked out, they happily held on to my bag for me until I came to pick it up later in the day on my way to the airport.I've stayed in many boutique hotels that are nice on the surface, but a bit too shabby and that just fall well short of expectations. I'm happy to say that Moda Hotel is not one of them. It was the least expensive hotel in downtown Vancouver and I have absolutely nothing negative to say about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Second honeymooner
Business
Madison, WI
Aug 8, 2011

Clean and streamlined

We stayed for four days. The location was fantastic, we walked everywhere. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Room was small, but the hotel is renovated and over 100 years old. They've done a great job of making it sleek and stylish. Coffee shop downstairs is great, didn't try the restaurant, but heard fantastic comments about it. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grouse Mountain gondola ride and mountain top are spectacular. A local told us that while the gondola ride is $40/person, if you make reservations at the 5 star restaurant (the observatory) up top, the ride on the gondola to the top of the mountain is free. While the dinners at the restaurant are $40+/person, the free ride, bird show, lumberjack show, amazing views and grizzly bears etc are WELL worth it. Dinner was AMAZING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visit Vancouver often
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Nice Three Nights

The hotel was good. The room was clean and nice A little small but good enough for one or two people. The location was good. Don't eat at the resturant for breakfast its lame Two eggs two strips of bacon and toast for $10 don't waste your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candace R.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 27, 2011

NIce room and location.

This hotel was located within walking distance of good shops and restaurants. There is a wine bar, sports bar and restaurant attached. The room was small but we didnt stay in the room but for sleeping. Staff was nice and the room was clean. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Yaletown and catch a tugboat on Davie Street to Granville Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattleite84
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Can't get much better

I stayed here at the weekend prior to Halloween. The hotel was sold out and the city was bustling with costumed pedestrians. The location is close to shopping, food and entertainment. I couldn't ask for much more out of the hotel. It was comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and attentive. I stayed in a room directly above the bar which the front desk attendant warned us would be loud. Due to this, our parking was comped. The parking garage is located across the street. It has secured parking for hotel guests which is great though the parking spots are tiny. We had to fold the mirrors in on the car so that we could back into the stall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alysia
Business
Cleveland, TN, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Awesome Stay!!!

This was my first time in Vancouver, and I couldn't have asked for a better time. The hotel was in a great location close to everything. The staff was helpful and friendly. Overall definitely a place I want to stay again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexaJo
Business
Seattle
Jan 14, 2012

Great Value

The staff was friendly, the room was a bit small, but really cool and nice. The hotel itself is restored nicely. My room was quiet and clean, and you can't beat the location. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olympic Bar, about two blocks west of the hotel on Grandville is an awesome place for drinks. Excellent music, nice atmosphere, and good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shontae M.
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Feb 20, 2012

Great location for the price

The best word to describe this hotel is urban chic. The hotel is very old, but has been restored and remodeled very nicely. The rooms were small, but everything was clean. The location of the hotel is ideal. This is the perfect place if you are traveling on a budget. The Wifi was very slow and there was no ethernet connection in the rooms, but the hotel provides a business center with free internet and free printing. Also, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adamvi
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Value

This place is nothing extravagant, but for the price I paid it was an excellent value and in a perfect location downtown Vancouver - walking distance to Gastown, convention center, etc. Staff was always friendly and helpful, the place is clean with a historic feeling. I would definitely stay here again, particularly at the price I paid (~$135 US with taxes and everything).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Stanley Park. Beautiful! I walked from hotel, but a short cab or bus ride would give you more time to hike the trails and paths.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top