$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Moda Hotel

3 stars
View map of 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flo Eddie
Business
California
Jun 16, 2014

Vancouver Trip

The hotel had nice restaurants and a wine bar. Room was bit tired. The shower did not have much in the way of water pressure. The AC-heater was a bit wild too as I awoke in the night once too cold and another time too warm. Staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cibo Trattoria and the sports bar were good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time reviewer
Business
Mountain View, California
Jun 12, 2014

Good, not Great

Staff was friendly and efficient. Room was on the small side. Looked clean, but the windows had been left open and the view was of a semi-flooded rooftop from next door. I'm assuming it was because the windows had been left open but the room was quite smelly when I first checked-in; strong odor of mildew. After closing windows the smell seemed somewhat better. Overall for the location and low price it was Okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayOConnell
Business
New Zealand
Sep 11, 2014

Great visit to Vancouver

Everything great, except air conditioning too loud, so had trouble sleeping with it cycling (off, on ,off on etc) Disabled air conditioner on last night, and had great nights sleep. Liked it so much, we stayed an extra night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Granville Island, and Stanley Park were stand out places to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USDA Prime
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 26, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, cool design, musty odor

The hotel is in a great spot in the middle of downtown Vancouver. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant on the first floor had a surprisingly good breakfast. The building's got old bones, and they've done a good job decorating it with modern architectural touches. However, in the room itself, there was a lingering musty odor (like an old house) that bothered us. This was also true of our traveling companions' other room. The smell would prevent us from visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In the summertime, visit the night market in Richmond for delicious Asian treats and goods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jill 83
Business
Astoria, NY
Oct 1, 2014

Great hotel for the Price

My friend and I stayed here in August on vacay. We broke the trip in 1/2 and stayed part of the time at the Pan Pacific and the last 2 nights at the Moda. It was a great spot for price AND location. It's not as fancy as the Pan, but their rates are almost double the average hotel. Moda is very central to many spots and walk to a variety of restaurants and sights is easy. Hotel is on the older side, I believe the building is 100+ years old but they keep it very clean. Staff was friendly. I would recommend it to someone traveling on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you are a short walk to Yaletown-definitely recommend heading there to try the nice variety of restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shlabotnik
Business
Boise, Idaho
Oct 25, 2014

Basic, but decent value

I stayed for 2 nights in October, and found this hotel to be just fine. The rooms are basic (smallish, hard to find an outlet, etc.) but the location is great and the price much cheaper than newer but characterless places nearby. If you seek clean and workable lodging in central Vancouver, the Moda Hotel could do you well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alley M
Business
North Hollywood, Ca
Dec 31, 2013

Location, kindness incl.

Perfect location to everything. Very nice, helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel la
Business
Seattle
Feb 24, 2014

Cool place

We liked the room and hotel. It had nice style and was very clean. The only downsides were that it was a little noisy at night (not too bad) from outside traffic, also, it was difficult to figure out where to park as their parking was closed do to recent breakins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thirsty and Hungry
Business
Seattle
Apr 14, 2014

It's okay.

It's in a good location. It was easy to walk to the places downtown that we were interested in visiting. The front desk staff made some mistakes checking us in, gave us the keys to the wrong room, but it all worked out in the end. Also, the bed wasn't made all the way, like the housekeeper gave up because the sheets were clearly too small to be tucked in, maybe they grabbed a queen instead of a king, that was kinda weird. Otherwise it was all that you'd expect from a room for the price. I wouldn't necessarily choose this this hotel as a first pick when going back to Vancouver, but I wouldn't be hesitant about staying again either. There is a beer store in the base of the building that I will definitely revisit, however. I was super stoked to find 4 bottles of Cantillon there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VickiSydney
Business
Sydney, australia
Apr 21, 2014

Value for money in downtown area

Location is excellent, close to everything. For someone without a car, it is so close to the skytrain subway. You can walk to everywhere. I stayed for 4 nights and found the bed was comfortable and the room is clean. The hotel is dated ,but the staff is extremely helpful. I asked for a kettle and he brought it to me immediately. The room is small for 2 persons, but considering the location and the price, it is real value for money. I will stay again next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top