$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Moda Hotel

3 stars
View map of 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clue
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Great city location

Moda is in a perfect downtown Vancouver location and close to the Skytrain. The room was tiny but clean. The bed was average and could use an upgrade in linens. We were just there overnight to catch the plane out the next morning; the room served its' purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skytrain goes directly to the airport....easy and quick.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flo Eddie
Business
California
Jun 16, 2014

Vancouver Trip

The hotel had nice restaurants and a wine bar. Room was bit tired. The shower did not have much in the way of water pressure. The AC-heater was a bit wild too as I awoke in the night once too cold and another time too warm. Staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cibo Trattoria and the sports bar were good.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time reviewer
Business
Mountain View, California
Jun 12, 2014

Good, not Great

Staff was friendly and efficient. Room was on the small side. Looked clean, but the windows had been left open and the view was of a semi-flooded rooftop from next door. I'm assuming it was because the windows had been left open but the room was quite smelly when I first checked-in; strong odor of mildew. After closing windows the smell seemed somewhat better. Overall for the location and low price it was Okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayOConnell
Business
New Zealand
Sep 11, 2014

Great visit to Vancouver

Everything great, except air conditioning too loud, so had trouble sleeping with it cycling (off, on ,off on etc) Disabled air conditioner on last night, and had great nights sleep. Liked it so much, we stayed an extra night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Granville Island, and Stanley Park were stand out places to visit.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USDA Prime
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 26, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, cool design, musty odor

The hotel is in a great spot in the middle of downtown Vancouver. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant on the first floor had a surprisingly good breakfast. The building's got old bones, and they've done a good job decorating it with modern architectural touches. However, in the room itself, there was a lingering musty odor (like an old house) that bothered us. This was also true of our traveling companions' other room. The smell would prevent us from visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In the summertime, visit the night market in Richmond for delicious Asian treats and goods.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jill 83
Business
Astoria, NY
Oct 1, 2014

Great hotel for the Price

My friend and I stayed here in August on vacay. We broke the trip in 1/2 and stayed part of the time at the Pan Pacific and the last 2 nights at the Moda. It was a great spot for price AND location. It's not as fancy as the Pan, but their rates are almost double the average hotel. Moda is very central to many spots and walk to a variety of restaurants and sights is easy. Hotel is on the older side, I believe the building is 100+ years old but they keep it very clean. Staff was friendly. I would recommend it to someone traveling on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you are a short walk to Yaletown-definitely recommend heading there to try the nice variety of restaurants and bars.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shlabotnik
Business
Boise, Idaho
Oct 25, 2014

Basic, but decent value

I stayed for 2 nights in October, and found this hotel to be just fine. The rooms are basic (smallish, hard to find an outlet, etc.) but the location is great and the price much cheaper than newer but characterless places nearby. If you seek clean and workable lodging in central Vancouver, the Moda Hotel could do you well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danu
Business
Maryland suburbs of Washington
Mar 28, 2011

Decent place, friendly staff

The hotel was built in 1908 (so is not a new, fancy building) and has two fine restaurants. The room, with one queen-size bed, was rather small but certainly adequate for a single traveler. Clean, pleasant, simple accommodations. The bathroom was updated, and high-speed wireless Internet was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the Vancouver City Center mall, which has a food court.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iva girl
Business
70 mile house
May 10, 2015

Convenient location to arena

This hotel was very comfortable. We were able to walk to the Rogers arena to watch a show and walk back again without much effort. My 77 year old husband with heart problems and COPD mastered it without a problem. The rooms were very clean but because it is a very old hotel the floors were sloped a little bit. Bring your ear plugs, constant noise from the street as it is a bus route. Had no success hooking into hotel Wi Fi. My phone wouldn't allow me to connect because it said it was not secure. Told the front desk when I left in the morning and they also tried with no luck. Something to remember though is, they will put you onto their secure business Wi Fi if you are unable to use the unsecured one. They told me the morning that we left, not their fault I never told them I was having problems. Our room had a nice, very cold fridge in it, as well a Keurig machine with coffee and tea. We didn't go to the restaurant or bar and breakfast would have been extra if we wanted it. Parking was convenient, just across the street on the 5th level with security cameras patched into the front desk and gated with a pass key. All around nice experience, would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A friendlly man
Business
monterrey
Jun 9, 2015

Excellent staf ,

Is a good hotel because is very good connected to go every where Excellent staf , and you get more for you paid I recommend if you don't want to spend a lot of Monday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top