$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Moda Hotel

3 stars
900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
160 reviews
Excellent Hotel Stay

Our hotel stay was wonderful. The location was perfect - right in the middle of downtown. Access to... See full review

  • Curt Lewis
  • Sep 22, 2013
Vancouver stay after cruise

Was given a suite that was wonderful and clean! Great location! See full review

  • Lee A
  • Sep 19, 2013
Chic, modern accommodations in a historic downtown boutique hotel

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)
Attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

49.2796 -123.1204
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
(YVR) Vancouver International Airport
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tchoi
Canada
Mar 25, 2012

Great hotel

Great staff, very helpful, clean room, great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Keekit
Squamish, BC, Canada
Dec 22, 2011

Wrong renovation job on old hotel

I read the reviews before booking and I agree that the walls are too thin and the rooms are small and lack that comfort. The decor was too modern, but not in an expensive way, for such an old building. The staff was very friendly but the place had a hostel feel. I did have a good sleep since I was tired and the bed was clean and comfortable. I think next time I will pay the little extra money for a better hotel, but since we weren't in the room long it didn't matter so much. I think it's about 20 dollars overpriced, but they seem to care since the heating and noise issues others complained about at least look like someone attempted to do something about it. It's old and even the Ikea type decor can't fix that but it was ok. Really nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Thai food on Burrard at sala Thai or tons of great restaurants on davie street. All a short walk from here.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carol Ige
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 19, 2009

You get what you pay for.

okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 22, 2008

Noisy & uncomfortable

The first problem we had was there was no parking in front of the hotel. We circled the block, found a parking meter the next street over, and walked back to the hotel. After checkin we were told the parking was down the block and across the street. With all of our luggage in tow we hiked back to the hotel and up to our room. It was stifling hot because the hotel didn't have any air conditioning and it was 95 degrees outside. We had to sleep with the window open to try to get some relief from the heat. As a result, the food smells from the exhaust fans of the restaurant/bar down below filled the room. We were also serenaded by birds, construction noise, trash cans, and drunk patrons. We didn't get much sleep at all. The room itself was clean and the staff was pleasant. The bathroom was large and clean. If the hotel were to install air conditioning and noise proof windows it wouldn't be a bad place to stay but it still would only be a 1-2 star stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like name brand shopping Robson Street is within walking distance

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2007

My review of Moda Hotel

The only reason I had a second stay at Moda was its location, near my daughter's apartment. The desk chair was uncomfortable; the reading chair had no lamp by it. The room seemed reasonably clean, but, by the time I left, my white bedroom slippers were dirty, so I assume the carpet wasn't really very clean. My window (4th floor) faced onto an alley and I was awakened my first morning by garbage dumpsters being noisily emptied into trucks below. Often there was no one at the front desk, but only in the back office. There was certainly never an extra person to help with luggage. The ice machine, on another floor, was concealed behind an unmarked door. I was glad of Internet access,but that was the only amenity provided. When I was leaving, one female desk person was yelling at another. She kept right on with her tirade, which I thought unprofessional in front of a guest, and never greeted me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yaletown neighborhood of Vancouver has an array of fine restaurants of every kind: Thai, Italian, Japanese, seafood, pub fare. most of the year you can dine outside as well as in, great for peopple-watching.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 22, 2008

Noisy & uncomfortable

The first problem we had was there was no parking in front of the hotel. We circled the block, found a parking meter the next street over, and walked back to the hotel. After checkin we were told the parking was down the block and across the street. With all of our luggage in tow we hiked back to the hotel and up to our room. It was stifling hot because the hotel didn't have any air conditioning and it was 95 degrees outside. We had to sleep with the window open to try to get some relief from the heat. As a result, the food smells from the exhaust fans of the restaurant/bar down below filled the room. We were also serenaded by birds, construction noise, trash cans, and drunk patrons. We didn't get much sleep at all. The room itself was clean and the staff was pleasant. The bathroom was large and clean. If the hotel were to install air conditioning and noise proof windows it wouldn't be a bad place to stay but it still would only be a 1-2 star stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like name brand shopping Robson Street is within walking distance

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MICHIAKI
USA
Nov 23, 2007

MODA HOTEL

Modal Hotel charged me for orange juice of $4.79 after I came back from stay at Moda Hotel. After I found Moda Hotel's erroneous charge to my credit card statement on line, I contacted Moda Hotel; That was the time I learned that Moda Hotel charged me $4.79 for orange juice that I never took from a mini bar. Although I requested the refund to Moda Hotel, I did not hear from Moda Hotel at all. Hence, I wrote to Moda Hotel that it was simply a matter of my justice to seek fairness, and stronly request the refund from Moda Hotel and I contacted my credit card company to contest the erroneous charge. I mentioned that I would never stay at Moda Hotel with such a poor customer service quality and lack of fairness. Finally a reception desk lady contacted me as a first time to me and left me a message that Moda Hotel emailed to me one day after I first contacted them, which I never received and Modal Hotel gave me refund one day after my first contact with Moda Hotel, which my credit card's on-line statement did not show. At this point, I am too repulsed to stay at a hotel that charged me something I never took from a hotel. It is a matter of credibility and Moda Hotel certaily failed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MICHIAKI
USA
Nov 23, 2007

MODA HOTEL

Modal Hotel charged me for orange juice of $4.79 after I came back from stay at Moda Hotel. After I found Moda Hotel's erroneous charge to my credit card statement on line, I contacted Moda Hotel; That was the time I learned that Moda Hotel charged me $4.79 for orange juice that I never took from a mini bar. Although I requested the refund to Moda Hotel, I did not hear from Moda Hotel at all. Hence, I wrote to Moda Hotel that it was simply a matter of my justice to seek fairness, and stronly request the refund from Moda Hotel and I contacted my credit card company to contest the erroneous charge. I mentioned that I would never stay at Moda Hotel with such a poor customer service quality and lack of fairness. Finally a reception desk lady contacted me as a first time to me and left me a message that Moda Hotel emailed to me one day after I first contacted them, which I never received and Modal Hotel gave me refund one day after my first contact with Moda Hotel, which my credit card's on-line statement did not show. At this point, I am too repulsed to stay at a hotel that charged me something I never took from a hotel. It is a matter of credibility and Moda Hotel certaily failed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danu
Business
Maryland suburbs of Washington
Mar 28, 2011

Decent place, friendly staff

The hotel was built in 1908 (so is not a new, fancy building) and has two fine restaurants. The room, with one queen-size bed, was rather small but certainly adequate for a single traveler. Clean, pleasant, simple accommodations. The bathroom was updated, and high-speed wireless Internet was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the Vancouver City Center mall, which has a food court.

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Washington
May 13, 2009

Walk to Vanc. Art Gallery and Robson St.

Stayed here so we could walk to see "Dutch Art Masterpieces from the Rijksmuseum" at Vancouver Art Gallery, located a few blocks away. Also had many choices within walking distance for eating at variety of restaurants, and shopping at numerous stores on Robson St. and in the vicinity. Hotel staff was very helpful with check-in. Hotel accomodations were satisfactory for our short stay, but bathroom sink without counter space was inconvenient, and location on busy street was noisy. When the planned air conditioning is installed (soon?), then windows would not need to be opened for air circulation--this could cut down on the noise. Hotel parking for a $15 additional fee at a nearby public lot was unsecured (without locked garage door). We were warned about possibility of theft--robbers chose 2 other cars near ours to break into; not sure why we were spared but we were thankful for not being victimized.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Graham, WA
Mar 24, 2010

Great location okay hotel

I visit different areas, The rooms were a little small there is no computer area must have own laptop, and there was no fitness area and spa, also no room service and no pool, all in all the location help this hotel out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top