$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Moda Hotel

3 stars
View map of 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 1L9

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
111 reviews
Girls trip

Great place! Very clean and relaxing. We loved walking everywhere. Lots of restaurants and... See full review

  • emily p.
  • Jul 14, 2015
Vancouver stay

We stayed in Vancouver two days after our Alaskan cruise. The hotel Moda was very accommodating and... See full review

  • ROSE L.
  • Jul 12, 2015

The Moda is part of Vancouver's history, but there's nothing old-fashioned about its contemporary decor and modern amenities. Some of Vancouver's top interior designers created the sophisticated look of the guest rooms. High-quality linens, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi also help create a contemporary atmosphere in this heritage hotel. The downtown location, close to shopping, sightseeing, and business venues, allows for a good old-fashioned stroll or catching the ultra modern skytrain to get where one needs to go.

Rooms

Modern decor is expertly blended with the historic nature of this intimate hotel. Built in 1908, the updated and remodeled contemporary space still showcases exposed 100-year-old mosaic-tile floors in the lobby and bathrooms, 80-year-old hardwood floors and the original lobby ceiling with dramatic crown moldings. But the sleek palette with bold accents, ultra-modern furnishings and flat-screen televisions are anything but old. Linens with high thread counts, specialized Skoah skincare products, and free Wi-Fi Internet access also keep guests in the current century.

Property features

Experience a little bit of Vancouver's history while staying in modern comfort in the heart of the entertainment and culture district. Walk to the Vancouver Art Gallery or the BC Place stadium. Take a short cab ride to Robson Street's world-class shopping and dining. Ride Canada Line's excellent public transportation to get nearly anywhere in the city and beyond. The hotel's serene and stylish Uva Wine Bar offers top wines, cocktails and imported beers. Cibo Trattoria, next door to the hotel, offers Italian fare made with fresh and local ingredients.

Highlights
  • Heritage building updated and modernized for contemporary comfort
  • Beautiful Uva Wine Bar on the premises
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (5 blocks)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (7 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (7 blocks)
  • BC Place Stadium (9 blocks)
  • Stanley Park (2 mi/ 3.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 8 people available
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (5 blocks)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moda Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$159
3.9 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$114
3.4 / 5 162 reviews
★★★
$114
3.9 / 5 168 reviews
★★★★
$151
4.1 / 5 79 reviews
★★★
$102
3.9 / 5 78 reviews
★★★★
$184
4.3 / 5 122 reviews
★★★
$95
3.7 / 5 60 reviews
★★★
$119
3.6 / 5 112 reviews
★★★★
$184
4.1 / 5 156 reviews

Moda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with queen bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.
Deluxe Two Doubles
2 double beds. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). Wireless (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. Wired (high-speed) Internet access - complimentary. 27-inch television. Television - Flat-panel. Multi-line phone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Deluxe King
Rooms with king bed include full bath, wall mounted flat screen tv, high speed internet access and mini bar, iron board, in suite coffee/tea brewers, radio alarm clock, personal safe and voice mail room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • False Creek: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.7 mi
  • English Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.6 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Cibo Trattoria
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Moda Hotel and steps away from the Orpheum Theatre, Cibo Trattoria specializes in Italian inspired cuisine made with same-day fresh and local ingredients. Cibo's unique list of decadent yet light dishes has been created by talented Executive Chef, Neil Taylor, to provide Vancouverites and visitors to Downtown Vancouver with a distinctive dining experience. Part of Cibo's allure is also its unique setting - sophisticated, modern interior design complemented by dramatic and rare architectural details. Special touches in this 52 seat dining room include a towering ceiling, original 1908 terracotta floors, century old exposed timber beams, over-sized, local pop art pieces, a white marble eye-level fireplace and a glassed-in tower of wine. Enjoy the warm and elegant ambience of this eclectic dining room that is truly unlike anything this world-class city has to offer.
Uva Wine Bar
Enticing cocktails, refined wines, eclectic import beers - Uva Wine Bar, located adjacent to the Moda Hotel, is Downtown Vancouver's newest enclave for connoisseurs of wines and spirits seeking a sanctuary that caresses the eye as well as the palate. From the finest charcuterie, to artisanal cheeses and to hard-to-find wine selections, indulge in Uva Wine Bar's cosmopolitan, yet relaxed interpretation of a true Italian 'enoteca'. Uva Wine Bar epitomizes the spirit of its location in the heart of Downtown Vancouver's arts and cultural district. Striking, yet inviting dcor sets a bold statement. The elegant modernism of its interior design combined with the building's historical elements, such as its delicate 1908 terrazzo floors, creates a unique, yet vibrant setting that must be experienced.
Red Card
European Sports Bar open Monday to Saturday 11am to 1:45am and Sunday from 11am to midnight.
Viti Wine and Lager Store
Wine has always been our passion and specialty, and now, we have also established ourselves as THE destination for Import beer, Blended and Single Malt Whiskies and many other spirits. At the Viti Wine and Lager Store, we strive to be the best in our Industry. Our staff are highly knowledgeable, so be prepared to be enticed by learning something new every time you visit. We carry over 150 rare import beers, 80+ whiskies, 10+ Gins, 250+ wines, etc.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Moda Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach gal
Couples
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Excellent location

Very nice eclectic hotel. Not for the five star snobs but had everything we needed.Save some cash and stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ronald s.
Couples
jackson
Aug 18, 2015

over night stay

Just one night between flight and cruise. Old hotel but nice and in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacey G.
Friends
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Fun Weekend

Great location! It would have been fun to have a nightlife guide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emily p.
Friends
Nashville
Jul 14, 2015

Girls trip

Great place! Very clean and relaxing. We loved walking everywhere. Lots of restaurants and shopping. We would come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ROSE L.
Friends
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

Vancouver stay

We stayed in Vancouver two days after our Alaskan cruise. The hotel Moda was very accommodating and comfortable. While we were there we took the trolley around the city. The next day we went out to Victoria Island. What an awesome trip. Beautiful city and its vicinity. Hotel Moda was a very nice, well kept place. The front desk employees were very pleasant and attentive. The room was very cleaned and the beds perfectly made. The only complain I have was the tv cable, it was very hard to get connected. If I ever return to Vancouver, I would certainly stay at the Moda Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A friendlly man
Business
monterrey
Jun 9, 2015

Excellent staf ,

Is a good hotel because is very good connected to go every where Excellent staf , and you get more for you paid I recommend if you don't want to spend a lot of Monday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iva girl
Couples
70 mile house
May 10, 2015

Convenient location to arena

This hotel was very comfortable. We were able to walk to the Rogers arena to watch a show and walk back again without much effort. My 77 year old husband with heart problems and COPD mastered it without a problem. The rooms were very clean but because it is a very old hotel the floors were sloped a little bit. Bring your ear plugs, constant noise from the street as it is a bus route. Had no success hooking into hotel Wi Fi. My phone wouldn't allow me to connect because it said it was not secure. Told the front desk when I left in the morning and they also tried with no luck. Something to remember though is, they will put you onto their secure business Wi Fi if you are unable to use the unsecured one. They told me the morning that we left, not their fault I never told them I was having problems. Our room had a nice, very cold fridge in it, as well a Keurig machine with coffee and tea. We didn't go to the restaurant or bar and breakfast would have been extra if we wanted it. Parking was convenient, just across the street on the 5th level with security cameras patched into the front desk and gated with a pass key. All around nice experience, would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul A.
Single
N/A
May 4, 2015

Therapeutic Conversations 12

This hotel not only met but exceeded my expectations. Annie was sweet and eager to assist visitors in to her city navigating downtown Vancouver. The room was clean and spacious and a great all around experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furniture GURU
Business
South Carolina
Nov 15, 2014

VANCOUVER BUSINESS TRIP

Excellent hotel for price. Pleasant staff Clean room and comfortable bed Negative: Climate control system is a not the best. Shower/ Tub: Too difficult to get into shower/tub combo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

UVA bar and restaurant

Review of Moda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shlabotnik
Business
Boise, Idaho
Oct 25, 2014

Basic, but decent value

I stayed for 2 nights in October, and found this hotel to be just fine. The rooms are basic (smallish, hard to find an outlet, etc.) but the location is great and the price much cheaper than newer but characterless places nearby. If you seek clean and workable lodging in central Vancouver, the Moda Hotel could do you well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top