$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
54 reviews
Appreciate the free WiFi

Stayed here for a Trade Show weekend -- my 2nd time, and very happy. One of the few hotels where... See full review

  • Aligil
  • Apr 19, 2014
March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service... See full review

  • Ken D.
  • Mar 31, 2014
It takes your breath away. Mountains embrace ocean in a spiritual accord of natural wonders. Panoramic views prevail, the legacy of residents determined to preserve a skyline money can't buy. It is in to be out. Outside walking along the Stanley Park seawall, skiing day or night on Grouse or Seymour Mountains, biking through old growth trails of Pacific Spirit Park, sailing on English Bay, shopping at the Granville Island public market. Here play inspires work, encouraging innovation and daring daydreams to come true.

This picture-perfect setting deserves a picture-perfect hub that encourages these outside pleasures. Yet offers a refuge from the non-stop pace of every day - a place to rest and strategize far from the noise, yet always within a modem's reach. Welcome to life at the Metropolitan.

Effective March 1, 2010 parking will increase to $35/night per vehicle with in/out privileges.

Hotel Map

49.2838 -123.1182
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport
Area description
Follow airport main road to Arthur Laing Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Vancouver via Granville St." Follow Granville to Granville St. Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Seymour St." Follow Seymour to Dunsmuir. Turn left. Follow Dunsmuir two blocks to Howe St. Turn left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 54
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDDDL
Phoenixville, PA
Aug 22, 2013

Nice, safe and quiet

Nice hotel & staff. Got out of the cruise early in the morning and the hotel had the room ready for me. So that's the best part! Stayed at the hotel only 1 full day - so did not have much time to explore..But overall, great location! Safe to walk around. BTW, I can print out my boarding pass in the Business Center without charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk to Gastown! Also, went on a tour with Landsea (pick-up & drop-off at hotel) to Capilano suspension bridge & Grouse mountain!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
willoughby1tz
west hollywood, ca
May 5, 2012

lovely stay

fantastic room, a-MAYzzzzzzzzing bed - i felt like a care bear sitting on my cloud. i could lie down flat in that tub, loved that (i'm 5'3''). couldn't ask for a better location. definitely the best area to stay in. skytrain nearby goes right to airport for less than $10 - can't beat that. great, attentive staff. i wouldn't stay anywhere else if i visited again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soosan
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2009

Lovely hotel

I spent a weekend here on a great rate through Orbitz. I had read a bunch of reviews noting that there is a construction site next door to the hotel, but decided to risk it. I sent an email ahead requesting a room away from the construction, and I was pleasantly surprised that they granted my request despite the fact that I was staying there on such a cheap rate! That being said, there was still some street noise, but nothing unexpected when staying downtown. The front desk staff was charming and the room was lovely; I just wish it had a bit more lighting. But I had an odd experience with the housekeeping crew. On Saturday morning I slept in and lolled about (I mean, that's what a hotel is for, no?) with the do not disturb sign on my door. I was surprised to hear the phone ring as no one knew what hotel I was staying at--so I did not answer. When I checked the voicemail, I couldn't believe it. It was housekeeping calling to ask "when they could clean my room, because the do not disturb sign was on the door"! I guess the sign meant "don't knock" not "do not disturb." I was very glad they hadn't woken me up as I'm not sure I would have been able to hold my tongue. Anyway, I went out a bit later to get lunch and when I returned the room had been cleaned--but a couple of rags were left by the sink. Just odd. I went out again a bit later, and when I came back the rags were gone. So--fantastic location, ask for a room away from the construction, enjoy the pleasant desk staff, and prepare yourself for some odd housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCLAPDX
Portland, OR
Jun 1, 2009

Downtown, good for shopping

I chose this hotel because it was downtown and seemed close to everything, which for the most part was true. The bathroom was the best feature, although I thought all rooms had separate bath tubs from the showers, and mine was a combo. The sauna and pool/gym facilities were very clean. The staff was helpful. It is downtown, so don't expect peace and quiet or beautiful views, but if you don't mind the urban atmosphere, and love to shop, stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
May 9, 2009

Great for the price during construction

Good location and nice hotel. I have stayed at almost all the 4 star hotels in Vancouver and this was one of the better, but I would assume the price would be much higher if there wasn't neighbouring construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

You are center to a lot of good restaurants and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search