$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
58 reviews
Revised review

Please disregard comment in prior review about wi-fi. See full review

  • Presshiker
  • Aug 12, 2015
Awesome!

Excellent!! dining experience in the hotel. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced. See full review

  • ralph m.
  • May 28, 2015

When staying at the Metropolitan, guests are surrounded by elegance and comfort the way natural beauty surrounds Vancouver itself: it's found at every turn. Close to the excitement of downtown, but cushioned by comfort, this is a top location for exploring the city before returning to posh relaxation. Step outside the lobby to hit the chic boutiques of Robson Street, only blocks away. Visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, stroll through Stanley Park or watch the sunset at English Bay. It's all within minutes of the Met.

Rooms

All the guest rooms have sleek, contemporary decor, premier quality, European bedding, and large, lavish bathrooms in addition to modern amenities. Luxury suites are spacious, with balconies and incredible views of the city, mountains and harbor. The lobby, restaurant and guest rooms have high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply).

Property features

European bed linens, modern amenities, and spacious, marble bathrooms are the standard at this downtown luxury hotel. With the award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on-site, there's always a gourmet meal to be had. The convenient location means that haute Robson Street and the spectacular Vancouver Art Gallery are just around the corner, and hip Yaletown and gorgeous Stanley Park are only minutes away.

 

Diva at the Met offers international cuisine with a dash of Pacific Northwest flavor and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily (dinner reservations recommended). The Met sports a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and a squash court, available to all guests.

Highlights
  • Elegant decor, comfort and luxury in the heart of downtown
  • Award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on the premises
  • Outdoor practice putting green available to all guests
Nearby attractions
  • Robson Street (2 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (1 blocks)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting facilities accommodate up to 250
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (6 blocks)
Policies

Metropolitan Hotel is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$184
4.3 / 5 122 reviews
★★★★
$151
4.1 / 5 79 reviews
★★★★
$181
4.4 / 5 116 reviews
★★★★
$217
4.7 / 5 66 reviews
★★★
$114
3.9 / 5 168 reviews
★★★
$114
3.4 / 5 162 reviews
★★★★★
$246
4.6 / 5 105 reviews
★★★
$159
3.9 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$219
4.2 / 5 144 reviews

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 58
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soosan
Single
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2009

Lovely hotel

I spent a weekend here on a great rate through Orbitz. I had read a bunch of reviews noting that there is a construction site next door to the hotel, but decided to risk it. I sent an email ahead requesting a room away from the construction, and I was pleasantly surprised that they granted my request despite the fact that I was staying there on such a cheap rate! That being said, there was still some street noise, but nothing unexpected when staying downtown. The front desk staff was charming and the room was lovely; I just wish it had a bit more lighting. But I had an odd experience with the housekeeping crew. On Saturday morning I slept in and lolled about (I mean, that's what a hotel is for, no?) with the do not disturb sign on my door. I was surprised to hear the phone ring as no one knew what hotel I was staying at--so I did not answer. When I checked the voicemail, I couldn't believe it. It was housekeeping calling to ask "when they could clean my room, because the do not disturb sign was on the door"! I guess the sign meant "don't knock" not "do not disturb." I was very glad they hadn't woken me up as I'm not sure I would have been able to hold my tongue. Anyway, I went out a bit later to get lunch and when I returned the room had been cleaned--but a couple of rags were left by the sink. Just odd. I went out again a bit later, and when I came back the rags were gone. So--fantastic location, ask for a room away from the construction, enjoy the pleasant desk staff, and prepare yourself for some odd housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCLAPDX
Single
Portland, OR
Jun 1, 2009

Downtown, good for shopping

I chose this hotel because it was downtown and seemed close to everything, which for the most part was true. The bathroom was the best feature, although I thought all rooms had separate bath tubs from the showers, and mine was a combo. The sauna and pool/gym facilities were very clean. The staff was helpful. It is downtown, so don't expect peace and quiet or beautiful views, but if you don't mind the urban atmosphere, and love to shop, stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
San Francisco, CA
May 9, 2009

Great for the price during construction

Good location and nice hotel. I have stayed at almost all the 4 star hotels in Vancouver and this was one of the better, but I would assume the price would be much higher if there wasn't neighbouring construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

You are center to a lot of good restaurants and bars

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
willoughby1tz
Single
west hollywood, ca
May 5, 2012

lovely stay

fantastic room, a-MAYzzzzzzzzing bed - i felt like a care bear sitting on my cloud. i could lie down flat in that tub, loved that (i'm 5'3''). couldn't ask for a better location. definitely the best area to stay in. skytrain nearby goes right to airport for less than $10 - can't beat that. great, attentive staff. i wouldn't stay anywhere else if i visited again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top