$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 9, 2009

Great for the price during construction

Good location and nice hotel. I have stayed at almost all the 4 star hotels in Vancouver and this was one of the better, but I would assume the price would be much higher if there wasn't neighbouring construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

You are center to a lot of good restaurants and bars

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caddis
Business
Spokane, WA
May 9, 2009

Just What We Wanted

It was a surprise trip for my wife's 60th birthday. My research paid off, as our experience at the Metropolitan was outstanding. The rooms are great, clean and comfy. We both particularly enjoyed the fluffy bathrobes. The service was excellent and the staff as friendly as you could ask. Also, couldn't have asked for better location. We walked to everthing. I would certainly have no problem referring the Metropolitan to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan one of two things ahead, but don't be afraid to explore. You never know what you might find.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mukilteo, WA
Dec 7, 2009

There for your every need

We shopped and ate out when we were there and took the skytrain to the RIVER ROCK CASINO. Beautiful. There was nothing missing from our stay. This was a great fancy hotel to stay at compared to other hotels we have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne Australia
Sep 13, 2009

Metropolitan Hotel

The Metropolitan Hotel is in an excellent location and made getting around very easy. The staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Capilano Suspension Bridge & Grouse Mountain is easy to get to and you dont need to rely on a tour. just take a short walk to Waterfront station catch the seabus then a bus from bay 8 at the other end. very cheap and a great thing to do.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young adult with fiance
Business
Seattle WA
Aug 8, 2011

excellent location

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a little getaway for some time to ourselves. We enjoy the hotel, but the deluxe queen room isn't so deluxe. The tvs are old. There is no stereo. There is no dvd player. There are pretty much no up to date electronics. There is no fan in the bathroom. Seems like a small room that was once luxurious but now is out of date. Its still nice, just not up to the standard I might have expected for the price. That said, its the cheapest hotel in downtown vancouver - and thats also what you are paying for - the location. Location is PERFECT. Service was great, too. Park in the pacific centre mall underground on the opposite street and save 30 dollars or so a night. I would, overall, highly recommend this place for its price, location, service, and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the skytrain to commercial street! Walk 3 blocks north and find a sweet little vegetarian/vegan cafe with live music, great food, and a nice view of the city and mountains on the train to and fro.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunbeam girl
Business
Kamloops, British Columbia
Nov 2, 2009

Great price and location!

We loved our stay at the Met. Nicely decorated - from the lobby to the room to the restaurant. Our view from the room was of other buildings - no ocean view, but that was fine as we were only in our rooms after dark - city lights instead :0). The room itself was very nice with a very spacious bathroom,and looks like it has recently been updated. We came to Vancouver to do shopping and this location was perfect! The hotel was literally across the street from Pacific Shopping Center. It was also very easy walking distance for dining, and only 4 blocks from the ocean. The staff were all very helpful. I found the street noise a little too loud. Our room was on the 8th floor and overlooked Howe Street. Our friends stayed on the other side of the hotel (facing the alley) and said it was very quiet. I would ask for a room on that side if you are a light sleeper. My only other complaint was I found the mattress very firm - better than sleeping on the floor but my back was actually sore the next day. The bed linens were good quality though :0). I would love to stay here again...if I could get a quieter room and a comfier mattress! It was the perfect location and I loved everything about our stay (minus my two complaints :D ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was actually a short walk to anything really! A great location.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima, WA
Jul 24, 2009

business trip

while i was there i was on a business trip so i was in the room just to change clothes or to sleep. every thing in the hotel was great and i didnt needed anything at the time. the hotel is a little different and but i like it! the staff are very nice and if you need something they were there when i needed a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A business parther took me to eat at the Cactus cafe club. They have a great menu and its was really good. Just a casual resturant with super good food.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Great location & rooms!

Very nice rooms with huge bathrooms. Friendly & helpful staff. My sons very much enjoyed the fitness center. Great location for everything in downtown Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many interesting restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Jul 15, 2010

Parking a rip off

The Hotel is in a great location. A very quiet and sophisticated ambiance in lobby. Room was very small, otherwise, nicely appointed and very clean. Biggest hidden expense was a $40 parking charge. This should be disclosed at booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 11, 2009

Great location and value

Perfect location and lovely rooms. Would recommend highly. Staff very helpful and friendly. Knowledgeable conceierge -Book it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walking is fun but cabs are very inexpensive and quick

Back to menu Return to top