$244 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
59 reviews
very nice

nice location and stuff, highly recommend! I will go back again See full review

  • cassieesther
  • Nov 27, 2014
No complaints!

GREAT location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, large room and large bathrooms! Everything... See full review

  • TRUENYer
  • Oct 3, 2014
Combine downtown excitement and relaxing luxury at the Metropolitan

When staying at the Metropolitan, guests are surrounded by elegance and comfort the way natural beauty surrounds Vancouver itself: it's found at every turn. Close to the excitement of downtown, but cushioned by comfort, this is a top location for exploring the city before returning to posh relaxation. Step outside the lobby to hit the chic boutiques of Robson Street, only blocks away. Visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, stroll through Stanley Park or watch the sunset at English Bay. It's all within minutes of the Met.

Highlights
  • Elegant decor, comfort and luxury in the heart of downtown
  • Award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on the premises
  • Outdoor practice putting green available to all guests
Rooms

All the guest rooms have sleek, contemporary decor, premier quality, European bedding, and large, lavish bathrooms in addition to modern amenities. Luxury suites are spacious, with balconies and incredible views of the city, mountains and harbor. The lobby, restaurant and guest rooms have high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

European bed linens, modern amenities, and spacious, marble bathrooms are the standard at this downtown luxury hotel. With the award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on-site, there's always a gourmet meal to be had. The convenient location means that haute Robson Street and the spectacular Vancouver Art Gallery are just around the corner, and hip Yaletown and gorgeous Stanley Park are only minutes away.

 

Diva at the Met offers international cuisine with a dash of Pacific Northwest flavor and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily (dinner reservations recommended). The Met sports a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and a squash court, available to all guests.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (6 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (2 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (1 blocks)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting facilities accommodate up to 250
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies and fees

Metropolitan Hotel is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 59
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday an
Business
Berkshire England
Sep 14, 2012

Superb central location with excellent service

Exceeded expectations in every respect We arrived at 10 am to drop our bags until check - in at 3 pm. We were told our room was ready and waiting and we could occupy immediately. Staff couldn't't do enough to help and the location is ideal for both downtown and harbour area. Will definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
konrad
Business
Washington, DC
May 27, 2007

First class in downtown Vancouver

The Metropolitan Hotel has an underwhelming and small lobby and front desk which was quickly forgotten when opened the door to our King bedroom with small private balcony. Huge room with clever use of sliding door in bathroom to make even more room. Thick towels and bathrobe were a nice touch, Pool and exercise areas were clean, bright and modern. Fan even automatically turned on as I began stationary bike riding. Great location in easy walking distance from main dining/shoping and the bicycle rental shop where we rented a tandem for a 5 hour ride thru Stanley Park. Price was a bit high but it was Mem Day Weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Stanley park is a MUST see in Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 29, 2008

Lovely room with great view.

My husband and I were in Vancouver for just one night after he finished a fishing trip in the Charlottes but we both wished we had more time just in the hotel alone. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was lovely and we loved the city view. We managed to find time for the hot tub in the Health Center and the view there was wonderful as well. I would stay at the Metropolitan again in a heart-beat and hope I have another chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops on Robson street were a short walk away and the Pacific Center is just across the street. The cruise ship area is nearby and there is more shopping near there. For outdoor activity, Stanley Park is a nice walk away where we strolled the seawall and then caught a taxi back to the hotel from just outside the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruisin Randy
Business
Alpine CA
May 26, 2009

Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Excellent location, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cactus Club Cafe is about three blocks away, good food and beautiful crowd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CES-Houston
Business
Houston, Tx
Sep 26, 2009

Great Hotel and Location

Great location for dinning and hop on hop off tour bus. It is really a four star hotel as advertised.Construction next door, but it did not bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paparazzo
Business
annapolis md
Aug 9, 2011

metropolitan vancouver

Very nice staying. Great service. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 13, 2009

Metropolitan Hotel

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel we were the only ones in the hotel. [...] at the front desk was efficient, friendly and upbeat. The hotel is in walking distance to not only tourist attractions but fabulous restaurants. The linens made us feel like we were in a petite hotel. We were truly impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat inexpensively walk to the Old Spaghetti Factory in Gas Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvannia
Sep 21, 2009

2 Nights in Vancouver

I travel a lot for business and I found this to be one of my favorite hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francophiles
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 22, 2009

Affordable luxury in downtown Vancouver

We spent two wonderful days in Vancouver and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had stayed at this property twice before when it was under different ownership (although we didn't know it when we booked). It was an excellent hotel before and has obviously been totally refurbished and is in pristine condition. The room was beautifully decorated and the health/fitness center is excellent with good equipment and sauna and steam room. Service is very efficient and smiling. The only thing that could be improved was the parking fee of $28/day, but that's not unusual in a city. Overall highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For lunch, Seasons in the Park in Elizabeth Park--best view in town. Request the elevated table called the "romantic table". Very good food and service. For dinner West is excellent but very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda-Grandma
Business
Gulf Shores Alabama
Oct 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

We stayed at the Metropolitan before and after our cruise to Alaska. This hotel was amazing. The rooms we had were roomy, clean, and very well appointed. The entire staff at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home. Great location, fantastic restaurant, professional staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transportation at the door. Very affordable and convenient to everywhere in Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top