$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
very nice

nice location and stuff, highly recommend! I will go back again See full review

  • cassieesther
  • Nov 27, 2014
No complaints!

GREAT location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, large room and large bathrooms! Everything... See full review

  • TRUENYer
  • Oct 3, 2014
Combine downtown excitement and relaxing luxury at the Metropolitan

When staying at the Metropolitan, guests are surrounded by elegance and comfort the way natural beauty surrounds Vancouver itself: it's found at every turn. Close to the excitement of downtown, but cushioned by comfort, this is a top location for exploring the city before returning to posh relaxation. Step outside the lobby to hit the chic boutiques of Robson Street, only blocks away. Visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, stroll through Stanley Park or watch the sunset at English Bay. It's all within minutes of the Met.

Highlights
  • Elegant decor, comfort and luxury in the heart of downtown
  • Award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on the premises
  • Outdoor practice putting green available to all guests
Rooms

All the guest rooms have sleek, contemporary decor, premier quality, European bedding, and large, lavish bathrooms in addition to modern amenities. Luxury suites are spacious, with balconies and incredible views of the city, mountains and harbor. The lobby, restaurant and guest rooms have high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

European bed linens, modern amenities, and spacious, marble bathrooms are the standard at this downtown luxury hotel. With the award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on-site, there's always a gourmet meal to be had. The convenient location means that haute Robson Street and the spectacular Vancouver Art Gallery are just around the corner, and hip Yaletown and gorgeous Stanley Park are only minutes away.

 

Diva at the Met offers international cuisine with a dash of Pacific Northwest flavor and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily (dinner reservations recommended). The Met sports a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and a squash court, available to all guests.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (6 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (2 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (1 blocks)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting facilities accommodate up to 250
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies and fees

Metropolitan Hotel is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne Australia
Sep 13, 2009

Metropolitan Hotel

The Metropolitan Hotel is in an excellent location and made getting around very easy. The staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Capilano Suspension Bridge & Grouse Mountain is easy to get to and you dont need to rely on a tour. just take a short walk to Waterfront station catch the seabus then a bus from bay 8 at the other end. very cheap and a great thing to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young adult with fiance
Business
Seattle WA
Aug 8, 2011

excellent location

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a little getaway for some time to ourselves. We enjoy the hotel, but the deluxe queen room isn't so deluxe. The tvs are old. There is no stereo. There is no dvd player. There are pretty much no up to date electronics. There is no fan in the bathroom. Seems like a small room that was once luxurious but now is out of date. Its still nice, just not up to the standard I might have expected for the price. That said, its the cheapest hotel in downtown vancouver - and thats also what you are paying for - the location. Location is PERFECT. Service was great, too. Park in the pacific centre mall underground on the opposite street and save 30 dollars or so a night. I would, overall, highly recommend this place for its price, location, service, and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the skytrain to commercial street! Walk 3 blocks north and find a sweet little vegetarian/vegan cafe with live music, great food, and a nice view of the city and mountains on the train to and fro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunbeam girl
Business
Kamloops, British Columbia
Nov 2, 2009

Great price and location!

We loved our stay at the Met. Nicely decorated - from the lobby to the room to the restaurant. Our view from the room was of other buildings - no ocean view, but that was fine as we were only in our rooms after dark - city lights instead :0). The room itself was very nice with a very spacious bathroom,and looks like it has recently been updated. We came to Vancouver to do shopping and this location was perfect! The hotel was literally across the street from Pacific Shopping Center. It was also very easy walking distance for dining, and only 4 blocks from the ocean. The staff were all very helpful. I found the street noise a little too loud. Our room was on the 8th floor and overlooked Howe Street. Our friends stayed on the other side of the hotel (facing the alley) and said it was very quiet. I would ask for a room on that side if you are a light sleeper. My only other complaint was I found the mattress very firm - better than sleeping on the floor but my back was actually sore the next day. The bed linens were good quality though :0). I would love to stay here again...if I could get a quieter room and a comfier mattress! It was the perfect location and I loved everything about our stay (minus my two complaints :D ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was actually a short walk to anything really! A great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima, WA
Jul 24, 2009

business trip

while i was there i was on a business trip so i was in the room just to change clothes or to sleep. every thing in the hotel was great and i didnt needed anything at the time. the hotel is a little different and but i like it! the staff are very nice and if you need something they were there when i needed a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A business parther took me to eat at the Cactus cafe club. They have a great menu and its was really good. Just a casual resturant with super good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Great location & rooms!

Very nice rooms with huge bathrooms. Friendly & helpful staff. My sons very much enjoyed the fitness center. Great location for everything in downtown Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many interesting restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Jul 15, 2010

Parking a rip off

The Hotel is in a great location. A very quiet and sophisticated ambiance in lobby. Room was very small, otherwise, nicely appointed and very clean. Biggest hidden expense was a $40 parking charge. This should be disclosed at booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 11, 2009

Great location and value

Perfect location and lovely rooms. Would recommend highly. Staff very helpful and friendly. Knowledgeable conceierge -Book it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walking is fun but cabs are very inexpensive and quick

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Creek, WA
Jul 20, 2011

Review on the Met

The Metropolitan Hotel is located in the heart of downtown. It is within walking distance to Robson Street, Gas Town, China Town and the waterfront. We stayed in the luxury king suite, it was very clean and comfortable, and while a little older, had a classy feel. The staff was very friendly. We did not eat at the restaurant/bar onsite as we wanted to stretch our traveling money further. Onsite parking was $40 Canadian/day (with taxes). Be sure to bring earplugs if you want to sleep. We were glad we did! This cut out the occasional siren and other city noises throughout the night. The Hotel is located directly across from the Pacific Mall- which was nice as we had steady rain for a full day on our visit. If I was going to return to Vancouver for travel, I would return to the Met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Found a couple of local Starbucks within 2-3 blocks of the hotel- great for breakfast, saved money vs. eating at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Lady
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 17, 2009

Very very nice

I had unfortunate news of a death of a friend as soon as I landed. The staff at the hotel were so kind and helpful. They cancelled my second day with no penalties and helped me to call Air Canada to change my flight, so as I can go home earlier. Air Canada also waived the change fee because of the circumstances.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D&B
Business
Rusk, TX
Jul 4, 2009

Metropolitan, Vancouver

Very friendly staff. Great location to everything. Construction next door but not that noisy. I would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Malls and boutiques just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top