$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
54 reviews
Appreciate the free WiFi

Stayed here for a Trade Show weekend -- my 2nd time, and very happy. One of the few hotels where... See full review

  • Aligil
  • Apr 19, 2014
March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service... See full review

  • Ken D.
  • Mar 31, 2014
Combine downtown excitement and relaxing luxury at the Metropolitan

When staying at the Metropolitan, guests are surrounded by elegance and comfort the way natural beauty surrounds Vancouver itself: it's found at every turn. Close to the excitement of downtown, but cushioned by comfort, this is a top location for exploring the city before returning to posh relaxation. Step outside the lobby to hit the chic boutiques of Robson Street, only blocks away. Visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, stroll through Stanley Park or watch the sunset at English Bay. It's all within minutes of the Met.

Highlights
  • Elegant decor, comfort and luxury in the heart of downtown
  • Award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on the premises
  • Outdoor practice putting green available to all guests
Rooms

All the guest rooms have sleek, contemporary decor, premier quality, European bedding, and large, lavish bathrooms in addition to modern amenities. Luxury suites are spacious, with balconies and incredible views of the city, mountains and harbor. The lobby, restaurant and guest rooms have high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

European bed linens, modern amenities, and spacious, marble bathrooms are the standard at this downtown luxury hotel. With the award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on-site, there's always a gourmet meal to be had. The convenient location means that haute Robson Street and the spectacular Vancouver Art Gallery are just around the corner, and hip Yaletown and gorgeous Stanley Park are only minutes away.

 

Diva at the Met offers international cuisine with a dash of Pacific Northwest flavor and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily (dinner reservations recommended). The Met sports a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and a squash court, available to all guests.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (6 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (2 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (1 blocks)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting facilities accommodate up to 250
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies and fees

Metropolitan Hotel is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.2838 -123.1182
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport
Area description
Follow airport main road to Arthur Laing Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Vancouver via Granville St." Follow Granville to Granville St. Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Seymour St." Follow Seymour to Dunsmuir. Turn left. Follow Dunsmuir two blocks to Howe St. Turn left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunbeam girl
Kamloops, British Columbia
Nov 2, 2009

Great price and location!

We loved our stay at the Met. Nicely decorated - from the lobby to the room to the restaurant. Our view from the room was of other buildings - no ocean view, but that was fine as we were only in our rooms after dark - city lights instead :0). The room itself was very nice with a very spacious bathroom,and looks like it has recently been updated. We came to Vancouver to do shopping and this location was perfect! The hotel was literally across the street from Pacific Shopping Center. It was also very easy walking distance for dining, and only 4 blocks from the ocean. The staff were all very helpful. I found the street noise a little too loud. Our room was on the 8th floor and overlooked Howe Street. Our friends stayed on the other side of the hotel (facing the alley) and said it was very quiet. I would ask for a room on that side if you are a light sleeper. My only other complaint was I found the mattress very firm - better than sleeping on the floor but my back was actually sore the next day. The bed linens were good quality though :0). I would love to stay here again...if I could get a quieter room and a comfier mattress! It was the perfect location and I loved everything about our stay (minus my two complaints :D ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was actually a short walk to anything really! A great location.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Dec 30, 2009

High-end hotel in great central location

Luxurious hotel in a great downtown location. It was walking distance to shopping areas as well as public transit (bus and SkyTrain).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago world travelers
Chicago
Oct 30, 2011

Nice botique hotel

The staff was exceptional. The concierge, Nathalie, was the best! She really helped with organizing our week long trip, took care of dinner reservations, etc. The hotel restaurant named Diva was a pleasant surprise for both breakfast and a late dinner. The room was clean and well maintained. The only two negative comments were that the soft goods in the room, bath sheets, towels, bath mat, etc, were a bit worn and frayed. Second, the televsion system/tv were out of date and had limited selections. Overall, great location, exceptional staff, and well worth the price on Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try SALT in Gastown for lunch. Delightful change!

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCLAPDX
Portland, OR
Jun 1, 2009

Downtown, good for shopping

I chose this hotel because it was downtown and seemed close to everything, which for the most part was true. The bathroom was the best feature, although I thought all rooms had separate bath tubs from the showers, and mine was a combo. The sauna and pool/gym facilities were very clean. The staff was helpful. It is downtown, so don't expect peace and quiet or beautiful views, but if you don't mind the urban atmosphere, and love to shop, stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grik
Cotait, ca
Oct 21, 2009

Great Place

Verty nice helpful people here!! Really enjoyed the Hotub and pool!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little pub. Moose's Down Under. Great beer!!

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
us open fans
Seattle WA
Oct 12, 2009

A quiet elegant downtown hotel

Metropolitan is very well kept and staff are professional and friendly. WiFi is only available in the lobby and our room did provide a data cable. Lobby and room were very clean; however, the bathroom seemed a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Minutes to Robson and across the Pacific Shopping Center which was very convenient.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima, WA
Jul 24, 2009

business trip

while i was there i was on a business trip so i was in the room just to change clothes or to sleep. every thing in the hotel was great and i didnt needed anything at the time. the hotel is a little different and but i like it! the staff are very nice and if you need something they were there when i needed a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A business parther took me to eat at the Cactus cafe club. They have a great menu and its was really good. Just a casual resturant with super good food.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken D.
Vancouver
Mar 31, 2014

March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the traveler's wife
washington, d.c.
Aug 10, 2009

Good location, but construction noise

We were able to walk to Robson street to shop and we had plenty of restaurant options for meals. Parking was expensive and there is a lot of construction going on near the hotel, likely in preparation for the 2010 Olympics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Lady
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 17, 2009

Very very nice

I had unfortunate news of a death of a friend as soon as I landed. The staff at the hotel were so kind and helpful. They cancelled my second day with no penalties and helped me to call Air Canada to change my flight, so as I can go home earlier. Air Canada also waived the change fee because of the circumstances.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search