$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 11, 2014 Check-out: Oct 12, 2014

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
54 reviews
Appreciate the free WiFi

Stayed here for a Trade Show weekend -- my 2nd time, and very happy. One of the few hotels where... See full review

  • Aligil
  • Apr 19, 2014
March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service... See full review

  • Ken D.
  • Mar 31, 2014
It takes your breath away. Mountains embrace ocean in a spiritual accord of natural wonders. Panoramic views prevail, the legacy of residents determined to preserve a skyline money can't buy. It is in to be out. Outside walking along the Stanley Park seawall, skiing day or night on Grouse or Seymour Mountains, biking through old growth trails of Pacific Spirit Park, sailing on English Bay, shopping at the Granville Island public market. Here play inspires work, encouraging innovation and daring daydreams to come true.

This picture-perfect setting deserves a picture-perfect hub that encourages these outside pleasures. Yet offers a refuge from the non-stop pace of every day - a place to rest and strategize far from the noise, yet always within a modem's reach. Welcome to life at the Metropolitan.

Effective March 1, 2010 parking will increase to $35/night per vehicle with in/out privileges.

Hotel Map

49.2838 -123.1182
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport
Area description
Follow airport main road to Arthur Laing Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Vancouver via Granville St." Follow Granville to Granville St. Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Seymour St." Follow Seymour to Dunsmuir. Turn left. Follow Dunsmuir two blocks to Howe St. Turn left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 54
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken D.
Vancouver
Mar 31, 2014

March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from Northwood
London, England
Jun 18, 2013

Good value downtown hotel

Good hotel in central downtown location. Staff very helpful - anything we asked for was delivered promptly. Our room faced south-east and had a balcony (very rare downtown), although very small, but we were able to step outside and enjoy the morning sun. As it was our anniversary, a member of staff brought up to our room a cake on a decorated plate, together with an anniversary card, which was very much appreciated. They also allowed us to stay on in our room for a few hours on a last day, after the midday checkout. Breakfast was not included, and was rather expensive, but probably no more so than other similar hotels. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buses plentiful in close proximity to the hotel, covering all areas of Vancouver - fare $2.50, and each ticket can be used as often as needed within a time limit (around 1.5-2 hours) - cheaper than taking taxis. Also Skytrain to airport, if not too much baggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday an
Berkshire England
Sep 14, 2012

Superb central location with excellent service

Exceeded expectations in every respect We arrived at 10 am to drop our bags until check - in at 3 pm. We were told our room was ready and waiting and we could occupy immediately. Staff couldn't't do enough to help and the location is ideal for both downtown and harbour area. Will definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucie
Greenville, SC, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Nice Hotel but expensive parking

Nice hotel but parking was 40 dollars a day. Close to Canada Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paparazzo
annapolis md
Aug 9, 2011

metropolitan vancouver

Very nice staying. Great service. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young adult with fiance
Seattle WA
Aug 8, 2011

excellent location

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a little getaway for some time to ourselves. We enjoy the hotel, but the deluxe queen room isn't so deluxe. The tvs are old. There is no stereo. There is no dvd player. There are pretty much no up to date electronics. There is no fan in the bathroom. Seems like a small room that was once luxurious but now is out of date. Its still nice, just not up to the standard I might have expected for the price. That said, its the cheapest hotel in downtown vancouver - and thats also what you are paying for - the location. Location is PERFECT. Service was great, too. Park in the pacific centre mall underground on the opposite street and save 30 dollars or so a night. I would, overall, highly recommend this place for its price, location, service, and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the skytrain to commercial street! Walk 3 blocks north and find a sweet little vegetarian/vegan cafe with live music, great food, and a nice view of the city and mountains on the train to and fro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tigerwife
pdx, or
Aug 2, 2011

great location n service

Great location and service. Beautiful weather and friendly people. Right across the four season witba fraction ofthe price. Room is tastefully decortated. Free wifi too! We'll be back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If u dont hav car getthe hop iff on buss pass the 1st day for 2 days pass. Totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mill Creek, WA
Jul 20, 2011

Review on the Met

The Metropolitan Hotel is located in the heart of downtown. It is within walking distance to Robson Street, Gas Town, China Town and the waterfront. We stayed in the luxury king suite, it was very clean and comfortable, and while a little older, had a classy feel. The staff was very friendly. We did not eat at the restaurant/bar onsite as we wanted to stretch our traveling money further. Onsite parking was $40 Canadian/day (with taxes). Be sure to bring earplugs if you want to sleep. We were glad we did! This cut out the occasional siren and other city noises throughout the night. The Hotel is located directly across from the Pacific Mall- which was nice as we had steady rain for a full day on our visit. If I was going to return to Vancouver for travel, I would return to the Met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Found a couple of local Starbucks within 2-3 blocks of the hotel- great for breakfast, saved money vs. eating at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco
Jul 15, 2010

Parking a rip off

The Hotel is in a great location. A very quiet and sophisticated ambiance in lobby. Room was very small, otherwise, nicely appointed and very clean. Biggest hidden expense was a $40 parking charge. This should be disclosed at booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mountain View, CA
Dec 30, 2009

High-end hotel in great central location

Luxurious hotel in a great downtown location. It was walking distance to shopping areas as well as public transit (bus and SkyTrain).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search