$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cruisin Randy
Business
Alpine CA
May 26, 2009

Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Excellent location, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cactus Club Cafe is about three blocks away, good food and beautiful crowd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest,CA
May 21, 2009

Great Hotel close to Cruise Terminal

$28/day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 9, 2009

Great for the price during construction

Good location and nice hotel. I have stayed at almost all the 4 star hotels in Vancouver and this was one of the better, but I would assume the price would be much higher if there wasn't neighbouring construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

You are center to a lot of good restaurants and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caddis
Business
Spokane, WA
May 9, 2009

Just What We Wanted

It was a surprise trip for my wife's 60th birthday. My research paid off, as our experience at the Metropolitan was outstanding. The rooms are great, clean and comfy. We both particularly enjoyed the fluffy bathrobes. The service was excellent and the staff as friendly as you could ask. Also, couldn't have asked for better location. We walked to everthing. I would certainly have no problem referring the Metropolitan to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan one of two things ahead, but don't be afraid to explore. You never know what you might find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 30, 2008

This hotel has seen better days

Parking attendant at the hotel garage seemed oddly confused and bewildered when we initially pulled into the garage - in general I think it would not be unreasonable to expect to be greeted proactively, as opposed to my having to explain that we were checking in - 'cuz checking in seems well within the regular reasons we would be there, right? He turned out to be polite so that was alright, just peculiar. Front desk staff was polite. The room was small and kind of dingy. The TV looked to be from the early 80's. Bed was unbearably soft - some people may like soft beds so this is just a personal preference. THIS HOTEL HAS EXTREMELY SOFT BEDS. We asked the front desk if there were any other rooms with firmer mattresses but they said they were pretty much all the same. There was a rather large stain on the sheet so we asked for it to be changed out. The housekeeper who came was very polite and apologetic - even more apologetic when the new sheet also had a big stain. 3rd sheet's a charm I guess. Later after I got out of a shower, I found a big long hair on the towel that was definitely not mine nor my partner's. There were bathrobes available in the room that were very old and worn-down - what was probably once a really fluffy hotel-luxe bathrobe was... not so much anymore. After one night sleeping on the super-soft mattress, we both woke up with headaches so we decided to check out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sebastopol
Aug 29, 2008

Great location

Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Rooms were sufficiently spacious with good amenities. Nice pool and business center. Great location, central to everything, on major bus routes, right downtown. Would certainly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent room service and terrific shmancy restaurant in the hotel. Plenty of options within walking distance. Close to all the main attractions. Stanley Park a busride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 29, 2008

Lovely room with great view.

My husband and I were in Vancouver for just one night after he finished a fishing trip in the Charlottes but we both wished we had more time just in the hotel alone. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was lovely and we loved the city view. We managed to find time for the hot tub in the Health Center and the view there was wonderful as well. I would stay at the Metropolitan again in a heart-beat and hope I have another chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops on Robson street were a short walk away and the Pacific Center is just across the street. The cruise ship area is nearby and there is more shopping near there. For outdoor activity, Stanley Park is a nice walk away where we strolled the seawall and then caught a taxi back to the hotel from just outside the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
konrad
Business
Washington, DC
May 27, 2007

First class in downtown Vancouver

The Metropolitan Hotel has an underwhelming and small lobby and front desk which was quickly forgotten when opened the door to our King bedroom with small private balcony. Huge room with clever use of sliding door in bathroom to make even more room. Thick towels and bathrobe were a nice touch, Pool and exercise areas were clean, bright and modern. Fan even automatically turned on as I began stationary bike riding. Great location in easy walking distance from main dining/shoping and the bicycle rental shop where we rented a tandem for a 5 hour ride thru Stanley Park. Price was a bit high but it was Mem Day Weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Stanley park is a MUST see in Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
May 16, 2007

Great Location -especially for pre-cruise stay

Excellent hotel - very comfortable spacious rooms with nice amenities. The staff was excellent - provided great recommendaitons on tours, restaurants, and areas to avoid! This is as nice a hotel as the more expensive hotels in the area and at least $100 a night cheaper. The location is wonderful for walking,shopping, dining, entertainment, catching trollys, and especially if you are going on a cruise. The terminal is only 2 blocks away. The hotel bar is great - restaurant is wonderful (although pricy)so if you want a quick bite eat in the bar. There are a large variety of restaurants in the area for breakfast, lunch and dinner so you will have no problem finding something that suits your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson street is great for shopping, dining, entertainment and people watching! Take the hop on/hop off tour as soon as you can - Circles the best of the area - parks, gaslamp district, robson street, etc. and gives you a little history and idea of where you should go again. You can use the service for 48 hours -

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top