$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
View map of 645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday an
Berkshire England
Sep 14, 2012

Superb central location with excellent service

Exceeded expectations in every respect We arrived at 10 am to drop our bags until check - in at 3 pm. We were told our room was ready and waiting and we could occupy immediately. Staff couldn't't do enough to help and the location is ideal for both downtown and harbour area. Will definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Jul 15, 2010

Parking a rip off

The Hotel is in a great location. A very quiet and sophisticated ambiance in lobby. Room was very small, otherwise, nicely appointed and very clean. Biggest hidden expense was a $40 parking charge. This should be disclosed at booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mountain View, CA
Dec 30, 2009

High-end hotel in great central location

Luxurious hotel in a great downtown location. It was walking distance to shopping areas as well as public transit (bus and SkyTrain).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mukilteo, WA
Dec 7, 2009

There for your every need

We shopped and ate out when we were there and took the skytrain to the RIVER ROCK CASINO. Beautiful. There was nothing missing from our stay. This was a great fancy hotel to stay at compared to other hotels we have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunbeam girl
Business
Kamloops, British Columbia
Nov 2, 2009

Great price and location!

We loved our stay at the Met. Nicely decorated - from the lobby to the room to the restaurant. Our view from the room was of other buildings - no ocean view, but that was fine as we were only in our rooms after dark - city lights instead :0). The room itself was very nice with a very spacious bathroom,and looks like it has recently been updated. We came to Vancouver to do shopping and this location was perfect! The hotel was literally across the street from Pacific Shopping Center. It was also very easy walking distance for dining, and only 4 blocks from the ocean. The staff were all very helpful. I found the street noise a little too loud. Our room was on the 8th floor and overlooked Howe Street. Our friends stayed on the other side of the hotel (facing the alley) and said it was very quiet. I would ask for a room on that side if you are a light sleeper. My only other complaint was I found the mattress very firm - better than sleeping on the floor but my back was actually sore the next day. The bed linens were good quality though :0). I would love to stay here again...if I could get a quieter room and a comfier mattress! It was the perfect location and I loved everything about our stay (minus my two complaints :D ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was actually a short walk to anything really! A great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grik
Business
Cotait, ca
Oct 21, 2009

Great Place

Verty nice helpful people here!! Really enjoyed the Hotub and pool!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little pub. Moose's Down Under. Great beer!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Lady
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 17, 2009

Very very nice

I had unfortunate news of a death of a friend as soon as I landed. The staff at the hotel were so kind and helpful. They cancelled my second day with no penalties and helped me to call Air Canada to change my flight, so as I can go home earlier. Air Canada also waived the change fee because of the circumstances.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
us open fans
Business
Seattle WA
Oct 12, 2009

A quiet elegant downtown hotel

Metropolitan is very well kept and staff are professional and friendly. WiFi is only available in the lobby and our room did provide a data cable. Lobby and room were very clean; however, the bathroom seemed a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Minutes to Robson and across the Pacific Shopping Center which was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda-Grandma
Business
Gulf Shores Alabama
Oct 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

We stayed at the Metropolitan before and after our cruise to Alaska. This hotel was amazing. The rooms we had were roomy, clean, and very well appointed. The entire staff at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home. Great location, fantastic restaurant, professional staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transportation at the door. Very affordable and convenient to everywhere in Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soosan
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2009

Lovely hotel

I spent a weekend here on a great rate through Orbitz. I had read a bunch of reviews noting that there is a construction site next door to the hotel, but decided to risk it. I sent an email ahead requesting a room away from the construction, and I was pleasantly surprised that they granted my request despite the fact that I was staying there on such a cheap rate! That being said, there was still some street noise, but nothing unexpected when staying downtown. The front desk staff was charming and the room was lovely; I just wish it had a bit more lighting. But I had an odd experience with the housekeeping crew. On Saturday morning I slept in and lolled about (I mean, that's what a hotel is for, no?) with the do not disturb sign on my door. I was surprised to hear the phone ring as no one knew what hotel I was staying at--so I did not answer. When I checked the voicemail, I couldn't believe it. It was housekeeping calling to ask "when they could clean my room, because the do not disturb sign was on the door"! I guess the sign meant "don't knock" not "do not disturb." I was very glad they hadn't woken me up as I'm not sure I would have been able to hold my tongue. Anyway, I went out a bit later to get lunch and when I returned the room had been cleaned--but a couple of rags were left by the sink. Just odd. I went out again a bit later, and when I came back the rags were gone. So--fantastic location, ask for a room away from the construction, enjoy the pleasant desk staff, and prepare yourself for some odd housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CES-Houston
Business
Houston, Tx
Sep 26, 2009

Great Hotel and Location

Great location for dinning and hop on hop off tour bus. It is really a four star hotel as advertised.Construction next door, but it did not bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top