$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
very nice

nice location and stuff, highly recommend! I will go back again See full review

  • cassieesther
  • Nov 27, 2014
No complaints!

GREAT location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, large room and large bathrooms! Everything... See full review

  • TRUENYer
  • Oct 3, 2014
Combine downtown excitement and relaxing luxury at the Metropolitan

When staying at the Metropolitan, guests are surrounded by elegance and comfort the way natural beauty surrounds Vancouver itself: it's found at every turn. Close to the excitement of downtown, but cushioned by comfort, this is a top location for exploring the city before returning to posh relaxation. Step outside the lobby to hit the chic boutiques of Robson Street, only blocks away. Visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, stroll through Stanley Park or watch the sunset at English Bay. It's all within minutes of the Met.

Highlights
  • Elegant decor, comfort and luxury in the heart of downtown
  • Award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on the premises
  • Outdoor practice putting green available to all guests
Rooms

All the guest rooms have sleek, contemporary decor, premier quality, European bedding, and large, lavish bathrooms in addition to modern amenities. Luxury suites are spacious, with balconies and incredible views of the city, mountains and harbor. The lobby, restaurant and guest rooms have high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

European bed linens, modern amenities, and spacious, marble bathrooms are the standard at this downtown luxury hotel. With the award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on-site, there's always a gourmet meal to be had. The convenient location means that haute Robson Street and the spectacular Vancouver Art Gallery are just around the corner, and hip Yaletown and gorgeous Stanley Park are only minutes away.

 

Diva at the Met offers international cuisine with a dash of Pacific Northwest flavor and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily (dinner reservations recommended). The Met sports a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and a squash court, available to all guests.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (6 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (2 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (1 blocks)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting facilities accommodate up to 250
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies and fees

Metropolitan Hotel is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mukilteo, WA
Dec 7, 2009

There for your every need

We shopped and ate out when we were there and took the skytrain to the RIVER ROCK CASINO. Beautiful. There was nothing missing from our stay. This was a great fancy hotel to stay at compared to other hotels we have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunbeam girl
Business
Kamloops, British Columbia
Nov 2, 2009

Great price and location!

We loved our stay at the Met. Nicely decorated - from the lobby to the room to the restaurant. Our view from the room was of other buildings - no ocean view, but that was fine as we were only in our rooms after dark - city lights instead :0). The room itself was very nice with a very spacious bathroom,and looks like it has recently been updated. We came to Vancouver to do shopping and this location was perfect! The hotel was literally across the street from Pacific Shopping Center. It was also very easy walking distance for dining, and only 4 blocks from the ocean. The staff were all very helpful. I found the street noise a little too loud. Our room was on the 8th floor and overlooked Howe Street. Our friends stayed on the other side of the hotel (facing the alley) and said it was very quiet. I would ask for a room on that side if you are a light sleeper. My only other complaint was I found the mattress very firm - better than sleeping on the floor but my back was actually sore the next day. The bed linens were good quality though :0). I would love to stay here again...if I could get a quieter room and a comfier mattress! It was the perfect location and I loved everything about our stay (minus my two complaints :D ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was actually a short walk to anything really! A great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grik
Business
Cotait, ca
Oct 21, 2009

Great Place

Verty nice helpful people here!! Really enjoyed the Hotub and pool!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little pub. Moose's Down Under. Great beer!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Lady
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 17, 2009

Very very nice

I had unfortunate news of a death of a friend as soon as I landed. The staff at the hotel were so kind and helpful. They cancelled my second day with no penalties and helped me to call Air Canada to change my flight, so as I can go home earlier. Air Canada also waived the change fee because of the circumstances.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
us open fans
Business
Seattle WA
Oct 12, 2009

A quiet elegant downtown hotel

Metropolitan is very well kept and staff are professional and friendly. WiFi is only available in the lobby and our room did provide a data cable. Lobby and room were very clean; however, the bathroom seemed a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Minutes to Robson and across the Pacific Shopping Center which was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda-Grandma
Business
Gulf Shores Alabama
Oct 3, 2009

Fantastic experience

We stayed at the Metropolitan before and after our cruise to Alaska. This hotel was amazing. The rooms we had were roomy, clean, and very well appointed. The entire staff at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home. Great location, fantastic restaurant, professional staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transportation at the door. Very affordable and convenient to everywhere in Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soosan
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2009

Lovely hotel

I spent a weekend here on a great rate through Orbitz. I had read a bunch of reviews noting that there is a construction site next door to the hotel, but decided to risk it. I sent an email ahead requesting a room away from the construction, and I was pleasantly surprised that they granted my request despite the fact that I was staying there on such a cheap rate! That being said, there was still some street noise, but nothing unexpected when staying downtown. The front desk staff was charming and the room was lovely; I just wish it had a bit more lighting. But I had an odd experience with the housekeeping crew. On Saturday morning I slept in and lolled about (I mean, that's what a hotel is for, no?) with the do not disturb sign on my door. I was surprised to hear the phone ring as no one knew what hotel I was staying at--so I did not answer. When I checked the voicemail, I couldn't believe it. It was housekeeping calling to ask "when they could clean my room, because the do not disturb sign was on the door"! I guess the sign meant "don't knock" not "do not disturb." I was very glad they hadn't woken me up as I'm not sure I would have been able to hold my tongue. Anyway, I went out a bit later to get lunch and when I returned the room had been cleaned--but a couple of rags were left by the sink. Just odd. I went out again a bit later, and when I came back the rags were gone. So--fantastic location, ask for a room away from the construction, enjoy the pleasant desk staff, and prepare yourself for some odd housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CES-Houston
Business
Houston, Tx
Sep 26, 2009

Great Hotel and Location

Great location for dinning and hop on hop off tour bus. It is really a four star hotel as advertised.Construction next door, but it did not bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AZ Sunshine
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 22, 2009

Would stay here again

Near Canada Line Train. Taxi from airport will run about $30. Enjoyed Hotel. Doorman a great source for good places to eat or how to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francophiles
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 22, 2009

Affordable luxury in downtown Vancouver

We spent two wonderful days in Vancouver and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had stayed at this property twice before when it was under different ownership (although we didn't know it when we booked). It was an excellent hotel before and has obviously been totally refurbished and is in pristine condition. The room was beautifully decorated and the health/fitness center is excellent with good equipment and sauna and steam room. Service is very efficient and smiling. The only thing that could be improved was the parking fee of $28/day, but that's not unusual in a city. Overall highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For lunch, Seasons in the Park in Elizabeth Park--best view in town. Request the elevated table called the "romantic table". Very good food and service. For dinner West is excellent but very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top