$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Metropolitan Hotel

4 stars
645 Howe St., Vancouver, BC V6C2V9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
98 reviews
Appreciate the free WiFi

Stayed here for a Trade Show weekend -- my 2nd time, and very happy. One of the few hotels where... See full review

  • Aligil
  • Apr 19, 2014
March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service... See full review

  • Ken D.
  • Mar 31, 2014
Combine downtown excitement and relaxing luxury at the Metropolitan

When staying at the Metropolitan, guests are surrounded by elegance and comfort the way natural beauty surrounds Vancouver itself: it's found at every turn. Close to the excitement of downtown, but cushioned by comfort, this is a top location for exploring the city before returning to posh relaxation. Step outside the lobby to hit the chic boutiques of Robson Street, only blocks away. Visit the Vancouver Art Gallery, stroll through Stanley Park or watch the sunset at English Bay. It's all within minutes of the Met.

Highlights
  • Elegant decor, comfort and luxury in the heart of downtown
  • Award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on the premises
  • Outdoor practice putting green available to all guests
Rooms

All the guest rooms have sleek, contemporary decor, premier quality, European bedding, and large, lavish bathrooms in addition to modern amenities. Luxury suites are spacious, with balconies and incredible views of the city, mountains and harbor. The lobby, restaurant and guest rooms have high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

European bed linens, modern amenities, and spacious, marble bathrooms are the standard at this downtown luxury hotel. With the award-winning Diva at the Met restaurant on-site, there's always a gourmet meal to be had. The convenient location means that haute Robson Street and the spectacular Vancouver Art Gallery are just around the corner, and hip Yaletown and gorgeous Stanley Park are only minutes away.

 

Diva at the Met offers international cuisine with a dash of Pacific Northwest flavor and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily (dinner reservations recommended). The Met sports a fitness center, indoor heated pool, and a squash court, available to all guests.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (6 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (2 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (1 blocks)
  • Yaletown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sunset Beach at English Bay (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting facilities accommodate up to 250
  • High-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees may apply)
Policies and fees

Metropolitan Hotel is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.2838 -123.1182
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport
Area description
Follow airport main road to Arthur Laing Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Vancouver via Granville St." Follow Granville to Granville St. Bridge. Cross, exiting at "Seymour St." Follow Seymour to Dunsmuir. Turn left. Follow Dunsmuir two blocks to Howe St. Turn left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Metropolitan Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Metropolitan Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Twin Room
Elegantly appointed rooms with twin size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Beds covered with a European white goose down duvet and triple sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. Spacious, spa-like, Italian marble washrooms with separate glass walk-in shower and deep soaker tub provides a luxurious touch. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, opening windows, and impeccable service.
Deluxe Room
Modern design with warm soothing decor surrounds either a queen or king size Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed covered with a European white goose down duvet & triple-sheeted ultra-soft Italian bed linens. A spacious Italian marble washroom with a deep soaker tub and separate glass walk-in shower will make one feel they have stepped into a spa. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, and impeccable service.
Luxury Room
Hip, sophisticated and contemporary design balanced with impeccable service describes the A-list living style of the renovated rooms at the Met. Vivid reds warm the soothing taupe decor, providing a chic, modern mood surrounding the king-size Frette-covered Sealy Posturepedic Luxury Edition Dream Bed, posh chaise lounge, sleek oversized headboards, polished woods and marble-encrusted bathrooms-all emanate luxury in the stylish boutique hotel. Additional features include Frette Italian bathrobes, walk out balconies or opening windows, state-of-the art 27' Flatscreen TVs & iPOD docking alarm clock stations, cordless phones and free Internet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.4 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • English Bay: 2 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.7 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.3 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.3 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A total of 7,800 sq. ft. of dedicated conference and banquet facilities are available, designed to accommodate 10 to 250. These facilities are decorated with rich mahogany paneling and silk wall coverings. They come equipped with state-of-the-art audio/visual display, T1 carrier-class Broadband Internet access and and video-teleconferencing. Our dedicated staff provide conference planning assistance.

For gatherings up to 250 people our catering professionals are available to assist you with every detail. Their experience will ensure that your every requirement is fulfilled. Headed by some of the foremost chefs in the city, our award-winning culinary team will lend to your event the same skill that has made the restaurant of the Metropolitan among the best in the country. Our acclaimed restaurant Diva at the Met provide additional dining options during your meetings.

Dining

Diva at the Met
Diva at the Met restaurant delivers contemporary, international fare encompassing regional specialties from a distinctive setting overlooking the bustle of Howe Street. An attractive bar dominates the entrance and the award winning chefs take centre stage at the central open Waldorf-style kitchen. The room's warm and whimsical interior is enlivened with a neutral palette of light wood and marble with glass, bronze detailing and splashes of colour.

Diva's range of design and culinary options is suitably matched by a wine cellar that offers some 225 selections, many available by the glass.

Open all week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge open till 1:00am most nights, midnight on Sundays.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Metropolitan Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aligil
Business
Calgary, AB
Apr 19, 2014

Appreciate the free WiFi

Stayed here for a Trade Show weekend -- my 2nd time, and very happy. One of the few hotels where WiFi is free, and that is appreciated for a working weekend. Staff is really friendly, and I was allowed to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mebster
Business
Sudbury Ontario
May 20, 2014

Adequate stay

The location was great. Fro the cost I would have expected more services. Suitable choice for business trips. May be better options for vacation stays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aligil
Business
Calgary, AB
Apr 19, 2014

Appreciate the free WiFi

Stayed here for a Trade Show weekend -- my 2nd time, and very happy. One of the few hotels where WiFi is free, and that is appreciated for a working weekend. Staff is really friendly, and I was allowed to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken D.
Vancouver
Mar 31, 2014

March stay

Great place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff. Ate breakfast in restaurant - very good service and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azn Traveler 2014
Washington
Feb 17, 2014

Great room, but small. Not free parking.

The restroom was great (showers, bathtub and sinks). The beds were good, but it was smaller than what I typically expect (probably because the restroom was so large). The parking wasn't complimentary so I had to shell out $40 /day for it. The TV wasn't even HD and it was small. For the most part, it was pretty good for downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDDDL
Phoenixville, PA
Aug 22, 2013

Nice, safe and quiet

Nice hotel & staff. Got out of the cruise early in the morning and the hotel had the room ready for me. So that's the best part! Stayed at the hotel only 1 full day - so did not have much time to explore..But overall, great location! Safe to walk around. BTW, I can print out my boarding pass in the Business Center without charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk to Gastown! Also, went on a tour with Landsea (pick-up & drop-off at hotel) to Capilano suspension bridge & Grouse mountain!

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from Northwood
London, England
Jun 18, 2013

Good value downtown hotel

Good hotel in central downtown location. Staff very helpful - anything we asked for was delivered promptly. Our room faced south-east and had a balcony (very rare downtown), although very small, but we were able to step outside and enjoy the morning sun. As it was our anniversary, a member of staff brought up to our room a cake on a decorated plate, together with an anniversary card, which was very much appreciated. They also allowed us to stay on in our room for a few hours on a last day, after the midday checkout. Breakfast was not included, and was rather expensive, but probably no more so than other similar hotels. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buses plentiful in close proximity to the hotel, covering all areas of Vancouver - fare $2.50, and each ticket can be used as often as needed within a time limit (around 1.5-2 hours) - cheaper than taking taxis. Also Skytrain to airport, if not too much baggage.

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday an
Berkshire England
Sep 14, 2012

Superb central location with excellent service

Exceeded expectations in every respect We arrived at 10 am to drop our bags until check - in at 3 pm. We were told our room was ready and waiting and we could occupy immediately. Staff couldn't't do enough to help and the location is ideal for both downtown and harbour area. Will definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
willoughby1tz
west hollywood, ca
May 5, 2012

lovely stay

fantastic room, a-MAYzzzzzzzzing bed - i felt like a care bear sitting on my cloud. i could lie down flat in that tub, loved that (i'm 5'3''). couldn't ask for a better location. definitely the best area to stay in. skytrain nearby goes right to airport for less than $10 - can't beat that. great, attentive staff. i wouldn't stay anywhere else if i visited again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago world travelers
Chicago
Oct 30, 2011

Nice botique hotel

The staff was exceptional. The concierge, Nathalie, was the best! She really helped with organizing our week long trip, took care of dinner reservations, etc. The hotel restaurant named Diva was a pleasant surprise for both breakfast and a late dinner. The room was clean and well maintained. The only two negative comments were that the soft goods in the room, bath sheets, towels, bath mat, etc, were a bit worn and frayed. Second, the televsion system/tv were out of date and had limited selections. Overall, great location, exceptional staff, and well worth the price on Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try SALT in Gastown for lunch. Delightful change!

Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucie
Greenville, SC, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Nice Hotel but expensive parking

Nice hotel but parking was 40 dollars a day. Close to Canada Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top