$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

5 stars
View map of 855 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z2K6

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auckland / New Zealand
Jun 15, 2011

A wonderful experience, very good value.

Very friendly and helpful service. Nice clean and comfortable room and amenities. Very centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice old part of town with nice restaurants and bars and nice shops. Some bars and restaurants have outside seating in summer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ dad
Business
NJ
May 28, 2011

Space, Service and Convenience

I had a spacious corner 1 bedroom with 3 closets space, a balcony, galley kitchen, small dining room table, desk, couch, a very large 50" TV (plus a small one in bedroom) with a DVD player and surprisingly good surround sound. Finishes in kitchen and ordinary bath aren't luxurious but BR and LR is nice. City skyscraper views. Staff is very pleasant and gracious. Don the supplied robe and take an elevator ride down to the spa, super clean pool & jacuzzi. Pool has plenty of plush towels, skylight, and glass doors to outside patio. It's bright even on a cloudy or rainy day. Location is very central but not exactly quiet, especially when the Canucks win the Stanley Cup Semi-finals! Premium ($19.59/day) Internet is actually high speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sala Thai across street has excellent, diverse Thai food for low prices. If you like spicy, ask for extra spicy or Thai style. Nearby branches of Joey Bentall and Cactus Club have good food and better looking servers. Tiny Cafe on Burrard (only accessible from outside hotel) has excellent cappuccino, croissants, outside seating and reasonable prices with room charge privileges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JB Seattle Mom
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 24, 2011

Great family hotel

We visited Vancouver for a family spring break trip. The Sutton Grande Residence was a great choice with the King Suite providing separate space for us and the kids, particularly in the evening with their early bedtime. The indoor pool was a major plus for relaxing in the afternoon before dinner. Location is good - easy access by bus (bus stop about 2-3 blocks from hotel) to Stanley Park and nice walk down to the water to Granville Island ferry. There are some restaurants nearby which are friendly to kids, although a lot are quite nice or more bar/loungey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Nov 21, 2010

Great location; commitment to service

Lots of good restaurants and shopping opportunities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember the HST (taxes)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Apr 1, 2010

Perfect Place

I have stayed at various hotels in the Vancouver area but wish I had known about this place....it was great in every way! My daughter and her 15-year old son were with me on this trip. The accommodations were perfect for us. There was a small kitchen and dining table, large living area plus a large bedroom. The flat screen TV was huge......even had surround sound (also a TV in bedroom). Location is excellent. We were easily able to walk to Vancouver attractions, restaurants were closeby, and we were less than a block to all the action on Robson Street. I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you treat yourself to a famous "Japadog" hot dog at the stand on the sidewalk at south corner of hotel. They are fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
filmfestivaltourist
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 7, 2009

Excellent in all respects

A very nice experience. There is a gourmet grocery store across the street and a wine store downstairs, so we made good use of our kitchen. Staff terrific[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Crocodile, one of the best restaurants in the city, is just across the street. 3-course fixed price lunch is a great deal at $30 CAD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sfsydmum
Business
san franciso
Jul 11, 2009

Great loation, great with kids / family

We went to Vancouver to renew our US working Visa's and were delighted by our choice of hotel. The Grande Residence suite was perfect for a family and the layoutr and size was excellent. A full kitchen with all appliances, kithen equipment was perfect for cooking meals and there is a IGA supermarket across the road. The staff were all lovely and generous with their time in talking to my little guy. The location can't be beat - lose to the embassy ( a very short walk) and great for the fun / tourist aspet of the trip too. We stayed on the top floor (18th) and it was a little noisy at times but that's expected living in the middle of a city. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to the mini ferries to take you to the Granville Isalnd attraction or to the bus to take you to Stanley Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Jun 16, 2009

GREAT HOTEL

THIS IS A GREAT BOTIQUE HOTEL. NO COMPLAINTS. WE WERE ON A 5 DAY VACTATION. WOULD CERTINLY RETURN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

COULD NOT FIND A BETTER LOCATION. SHOPPING IS VERY UP SCALE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Tx
Mar 19, 2009

Exceeded all expectations - fabulous!

The hotel was well located - in walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Granville Island, Stanley Park - just everywhere that we wanted to go. It was also right next to a grocery store - just perfect as our room had a full size kitchen and we were able to prepare our own breakfast and other meals whenever we could. The room was amazing - separate bedroom, kitchen, lounge and also a dining area. It was spacious and very clean. The service was absolutely amazing - from the doorman to the concierge - they just couldn't do enough for us! It was really well priced especially compared to other hotels in the same area. We just loved staying in this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Vancouver. We look forward to staying here again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had the most wonderful meal at the nearby Fairmont Vancouver Hotel and would certainly recommend their buffet dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Grande Residence At The Sutton Place Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Oct 30, 2008

Family suite sweet

We were upgraded to a two bedroom which was very nice with a small child. The full kitchen and dishwasher was great for eating in, reducing costs and relaxing in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would suggest the Keg over Red Robin's because of the greater selection for todlers menu, and better food for sharing with your child...unless you WANT an expensive burger.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top