Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown ★★★

$49
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016
3.3 /5
Overall score
61%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

A recent renovation brought out the charm in this award-winning downtown hotel. More than just a pretty place, the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver has won the President's Award for Excellence, given in recognition of extraordinary hospitality and community involvement, for three consecutive years. The excellent location on Granville Street puts business travelers only minutes from the business and financial district. Leisure travelers are close to stadiums, world-class shopping and dining and Vancouver's most fantastic natural beauty.

Rooms

Choose from standard rooms with 1 double bed, 1 queen bed or 2 double beds at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown. All rooms include a TV, electronic locks and complimentary morning newspaper. Deluxe rooms, junior suites and home office suites also include a microwave and refrigerator. All rooms have high-speed Internet access and in-room movies (fees apply).

Property features

Guests enjoy impeccable hospitality from a warm and friendly staff at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver. The charm of a small, well-run hotel and convenience to business venues and tourist attractions draws repeat guests. Granville Street is a perfect, central location in the entertainment district of Vancouver. Business travelers appreciate the services available in the lobby, en-suite work stations and close proximity to the Vancouver Convention Centre. Bring a pair of comfortable shoes to this walkable city and spend a day browsing the boutiques in Yaletown or on Robson Street. Stroll through Stanley Park or along the picturesque seawall at Coal Harbor. All guests are welcome to utilize the fitness center across the street from the hotel (fees apply). Wings Tap & Grille is located in the hotel and offers 18 different kinds of wings, seven days a week.

 

Highlights

  • Award-winning hospitality
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Excellent downtown location

 

Nearby attractions

  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Grouse Mountain (8.3 mi/13.3 km)

 

Business

  • Fax machines in home office suites
  • High-speed Internet access throughout (fees apply)

Transportation

  • Skytrain, Yaletown Roundhouse Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/13 km)

 

Policies

  • Limited parking available (fees apply)
  • Credit cards are mandatory at check-in. Hotel does not take cash deposits.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.4 / 5
$53
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$83
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$68
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$78
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$63
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$78

Amenities

Featured

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking

General

  • Air conditioned
  • Non Smoking
  • Free local telephone calls
  • Elevators
  • Ice machine

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Coffee maker in room
  • Vending machines

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business center
  • Guest laundromat
  • ATM/Cash machine
  • Security
  • Wake-up service
  • In-Room Safe
  • FAX

Internet

  • High-speed internet

Parking

  • Parking
  • Outdoor parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities

Room

  • AM/FM alarm clock
  • Desk with lamp
  • TV remote control
  • Ironing board

Reviews

3.3 /5 Overall score

61% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.8/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.4/5
  • Comfort: 3.2/5
  • Location: 3.8/5
  • Value: 3.4/5

Very Bad

Would not recommend Sun, Dec 6, 2015
The hall and rooms smelled so bad it was 45 degrees out side and I have to have window open to stand the room smell. If the room was not prepaid that I could not check out early I would have left and went somewhere else

| Frisco Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Perfect location

Would recommend Wed, Dec 2, 2015
The hotel is basic and a bit old, but overall it was decent and clean. The staff was extremely helpful. The reason you want to stay there is for the perfect location and for the price.

| New York City Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Awesome trip

Would recommend Sun, Oct 4, 2015
Pretty good hotel for the price right in downtown.

| New York Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Couples get away

Would recommend Tue, Sep 22, 2015
The location was great for being close to clubs and great restaurants downtown. We booked online before we arrived then upgraded our room when we got there. It was definitely overpriced for the upgrade, but such a fun location we didn't care.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

This place is fine

Would recommend Mon, Aug 31, 2015
When I initially booked our rooms, reviews were good, however just prior to our stay I tried to find other accommodations because reviews were so negative. Bottom line, this place is fine. Yes, it is in the middle of a large metropolitan city, meaning watch your belongings! My cab driver assured me that the area is not particularly dangerous. The young partiers outside were loud. But they politely held the door for us as we entered loaded down with luggage, and we did not notice the noise from our room. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and NO bedbugs. Staff was helpful and another customer clued us onto a great bakery serving breakfast/lunch just a block away.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Business Trip

Would not recommend Sat, Jul 18, 2015
Extremely basic room with updated bathroom. Super slow WiFi. Pretty bad neighborhood. Wouldn't recommend going out after dark

| N/A Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

It was alright

Would not recommend Thu, Jan 22, 2015
The hotel is a bit dated, the other hotel I stayed at nearby was much more comfortable and not too much more expensive. I liked the restaurant adjacent to the lobby. Room was clean and decently comfortable if a bit crowded and worn.

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Entertainment District

Would recommend Wed, Nov 19, 2014
If you want to be in the "heart" of downtown and the entertainment district, this is Grand Central. This was the old Hotel California now renovated as low end "boutique" accommodation. Granville street can be an eye opener and the location puts you into the middle of things but a great place to people watch. Beautiful parks and the water front, in fact everything are in short walking distance. Don't bring a car, use super easy public transportation and have some fun.

Dining

Right next to Yaletown.

| Victoria, BC, Canada Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Quiet and Friendly!

Would recommend Mon, Aug 18, 2014
The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It's in a busy neighborhood but the room I had was on the interior and was extremely quiet. It's just around the corner from Davie Street which has many quaint coffee shops and breakfast places and its a 20 minute walk to the Harbor. Really a great value!

Dining

Around the corner and down Davie St is a great breakfast place on the right!

| washington, dc Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Cheapish alternative downtown.

Would recommend Tue, Aug 12, 2014
No views or pool or decor or anyhing but the basics: a clean comfy bed, ac that works, bathtub with soap. I took a star off "comfort" because the shower does not stay hot, it oscillates from full hot to full cold. Other than that, sure.

Dining

If you are in downtown Vancouver, eat a Japadog!

| Santa Cruz Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Orpheum Theatre 0.3 mi
False Creek 0.4 mi
Vancouver Public Library 0.6 mi
Granville Island 0.6 mi
B.C. Place Stadium 0.6 mi
General Motors Place 0.8 mi
Rogers Arena 0.8 mi
Vancouver Lookout 0.8 mi
Marine Building 0.9 mi
Port Metro Vancouver 0.9 mi
Vancouver Convention Centre 1 mi
Canada Place 1 mi
Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden 1 mi
Stanley Park 1.4 mi
Kitsilano Pool 1.5 mi
English Bay 1.8 mi
Bloedel Floral Conservatory 2.3 mi
Queen Elizabeth Park 2.5 mi
VanDusen Botanical Garden 2.7 mi
Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park 3.4 mi
Pacific Spirit Regional Park 4.6 mi
University of British Columbia 5.8 mi
UBC Botanical Garden 5.8 mi
Museum of Anthropology 6 mi
Nitobe Memorial Garden 6.1 mi
Lynn Canyon Park 6.5 mi
Garibaldi Provincial Park 48.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$49
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2016 Check-out: Mar 7, 2016