$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyla
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Homeless Howard Johnson

The Howard Johnson on Granville street is acutally a nice clean place to stay. It looks like they took an old building and redid everything. The rooms were very clean, beds were nice and the rooms in the back are quiet. The parking is horrible as it's first come first serve basis. There is a lot next to it which is the same price because you have to pay for parking!!! Lot's of action on the street so rooms in the back are a must for quiet. While parking your car you will see a lot of homeless patrons coming out of bushes and around the area. Not the greatest feeling while parking ones car, when there is a spot. The front desk staff or just the staff on duty had little information on attractions and things to do. Would I stay here again? Probably not, I'd chip in the extra cash for a better place. If your stuck, it'll work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is very close to everything by walking, bus or sky train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Jun 14, 2009

What was expected

Our first thought was that the room were tiny and a bit outdated. But once we got out and started walking around we realized the hotel was pretty close to everything. We were able to walk to Robson St., down to the ferry to Granville Island. And a cab ride back was only $6-7. The hotels restaraunt Wings was a cool place to catch dinner before walking to one of the many clubs within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wings is reasonably priced compared to other restaraunts. And has good food and drinks too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sparkle Bomb
Business
Seattle, Washington.
Aug 5, 2014

Ummmm...

The staff was not great. Parking is an ISSUE. Couldn't get parking at 11 when we arrived in Vancouver. Went back at 3.30 to find out there wasn't anything available. 30 minutes after it was 'first come first serve'. At 6.30 after searching for parking went back to ask the front desk where I should park only to find out there actually WAS parking. And the guy that originally told me there was none was surprised that HE had said no. What confusion. What a headache. The room was small and the bed was super uncomfortable. The only good thing for us was location. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Good luck with parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ratushebarl
Business
Santa Cruz
Aug 12, 2014

Cheapish alternative downtown.

No views or pool or decor or anyhing but the basics: a clean comfy bed, ac that works, bathtub with soap. I took a star off "comfort" because the shower does not stay hot, it oscillates from full hot to full cold. Other than that, sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in downtown Vancouver, eat a Japadog!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billdu
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Nov 19, 2014

Entertainment District

If you want to be in the "heart" of downtown and the entertainment district, this is Grand Central. This was the old Hotel California now renovated as low end "boutique" accommodation. Granville street can be an eye opener and the location puts you into the middle of things but a great place to people watch. Beautiful parks and the water front, in fact everything are in short walking distance. Don't bring a car, use super easy public transportation and have some fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Yaletown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason B.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

It was alright

The hotel is a bit dated, the other hotel I stayed at nearby was much more comfortable and not too much more expensive. I liked the restaurant adjacent to the lobby. Room was clean and decently comfortable if a bit crowded and worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpotOn
Business
Mill Creek WA
May 8, 2014

Great, this is my second visit.

Good Staff, Room is good, excellent price. Location is so so, it is Granville street after all, there are a few adult shops, homeless, pawn shops around but on the other side there are a lot of coffee shops and little restaurants. I was traveling by my self so it was OK, family maybe I would find something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to George Wainborn park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vancouver Lover.
Business
Taipei, Taiwan.
Oct 22, 2011

Great hotel in Vancouver downtown.

very comfortable hotel with good price, I will go again next time when I visit Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beautiful city Traveler
Business
Russia
Apr 23, 2013

That's Good Stuff

That's good, not so expensive hotel in Vancouver Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top