$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 29, 2012

Standard no frills- but good value for the area.

Not the swankiest hotel in Vancouver, but for the price and location, it was a good place to stay. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and rooms were adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LittleLoulou
Business
Queensland, Australia
Oct 1, 2012

Short stay

We found the hotel was clean and staff friendly. It was a very good location for us. Close to transport, restaurants etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tweek42
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

A good budget location in downtown

The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Vancouver on Granville Street. It is easy walking to all the bars and night life. The room was cramped but comfortable. For being in downtown, it was a good price compared to other budget locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BG1989
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 1, 2013

Nice for a weeknight getaway

Spending a Wednesday night at this hotel, we probably had one of the quietest nights along Granville Street - an area well known for being the strip of bars and clubs in Vancouver. Both vehicle and pedestrian traffic were definitely audible in our room on the second floor, but we were able to sleep through it. If the club beneath was open (Barcelona), I imagine the night would have been insufferable. For those planning on heading to the club and crashing somewhere afterwards, this hotel is perfect. For those in Vancouver for sightseeing etc, the location is good but you're probably sacrificing a good night's sleep for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairy granny
Business
Mexico
Jun 10, 2013

Good location

It is quite close to downtown. We could easily move from the hotel to all places. People are gently. The bed broke so they gave us another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Trolley service (hop in hop off) is excellent, good routes and very nice guides.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyla
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Homeless Howard Johnson

The Howard Johnson on Granville street is acutally a nice clean place to stay. It looks like they took an old building and redid everything. The rooms were very clean, beds were nice and the rooms in the back are quiet. The parking is horrible as it's first come first serve basis. There is a lot next to it which is the same price because you have to pay for parking!!! Lot's of action on the street so rooms in the back are a must for quiet. While parking your car you will see a lot of homeless patrons coming out of bushes and around the area. Not the greatest feeling while parking ones car, when there is a spot. The front desk staff or just the staff on duty had little information on attractions and things to do. Would I stay here again? Probably not, I'd chip in the extra cash for a better place. If your stuck, it'll work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is very close to everything by walking, bus or sky train station.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Jun 14, 2009

What was expected

Our first thought was that the room were tiny and a bit outdated. But once we got out and started walking around we realized the hotel was pretty close to everything. We were able to walk to Robson St., down to the ferry to Granville Island. And a cab ride back was only $6-7. The hotels restaraunt Wings was a cool place to catch dinner before walking to one of the many clubs within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wings is reasonably priced compared to other restaraunts. And has good food and drinks too.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sparkle Bomb
Business
Seattle, Washington.
Aug 5, 2014

Ummmm...

The staff was not great. Parking is an ISSUE. Couldn't get parking at 11 when we arrived in Vancouver. Went back at 3.30 to find out there wasn't anything available. 30 minutes after it was 'first come first serve'. At 6.30 after searching for parking went back to ask the front desk where I should park only to find out there actually WAS parking. And the guy that originally told me there was none was surprised that HE had said no. What confusion. What a headache. The room was small and the bed was super uncomfortable. The only good thing for us was location. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Good luck with parking.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ratushebarl
Business
Santa Cruz
Aug 12, 2014

Cheapish alternative downtown.

No views or pool or decor or anyhing but the basics: a clean comfy bed, ac that works, bathtub with soap. I took a star off "comfort" because the shower does not stay hot, it oscillates from full hot to full cold. Other than that, sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in downtown Vancouver, eat a Japadog!

Back to menu Return to top