$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Quiet and Friendly!

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It's in a busy neighborhood but the... See full review

  • samantha 2014
  • Aug 18, 2014
Very good

This hotel suited me fine.I found the staff friendly and helpful,15 min walk to waterfront but a... See full review

  • Irish Aussie
  • Jul 14, 2014
Renovations mean big charm at this small, downtown hotel

A recent renovation brought out the charm in this award-winning downtown hotel. More than just a pretty place, the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver has won the President's Award for Excellence, given in recognition of extraordinary hospitality and community involvement, for three consecutive years. The excellent location on Granville Street puts business travelers only minutes from the business and financial district. Leisure travelers are close to stadiums, world-class shopping and dining and Vancouver's most fantastic natural beauty.

Highlights
  • Award-winning hospitality
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Excellent downtown location

 

Rooms
Choose from standard rooms with 1 double bed, 1 queen bed or 2 double beds at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown. All rooms include a TV, electronic locks and complimentary morning newspaper. Deluxe rooms, junior suites and home office suites also include a microwave and refrigerator. All rooms have high-speed Internet access and in-room movies (fees apply).
Features

Guests enjoy impeccable hospitality from a warm and friendly staff at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver. The charm of a small, well-run hotel and convenience to business venues and tourist attractions draws repeat guests. Granville Street is a perfect, central location in the entertainment district of Vancouver. Business travelers appreciate the services available in the lobby, en-suite work stations and close proximity to the Vancouver Convention Centre. Bring a pair of comfortable shoes to this walkable city and spend a day browsing the boutiques in Yaletown or on Robson Street. Stroll through Stanley Park or along the picturesque seawall at Coal Harbor. All guests are welcome to utilize the fitness center across the street from the hotel (fees apply). Wings Tap & Grille is located in the hotel and offers 18 different kinds of wings, seven days a week.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Yaletown Roundhouse Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/13 km)

 

Attractions
  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Grouse Mountain (8.3 mi/13.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax machines in home office suites
  • High-speed Internet access throughout (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Limited parking available (fees apply)
  • Credit cards are mandatory at check-in. Hotel does not take cash deposits.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.2774 -123.1258
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.5 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 35
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tweek42
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

A good budget location in downtown

The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Vancouver on Granville Street. It is easy walking to all the bars and night life. The room was cramped but comfortable. For being in downtown, it was a good price compared to other budget locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LittleLoulou
Queensland, Australia
Oct 1, 2012

Short stay

We found the hotel was clean and staff friendly. It was a very good location for us. Close to transport, restaurants etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ocwilly
Yorba Linda, Ca
May 8, 2012

HoJo Vancouver

Although location was great, the room was small. Both the bed area and the bathroom felt cramped and there was no shelf space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a tour to Vancouver Island. Victoria and Burkhart Gardens are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Lamp
BC
Apr 13, 2012

Great

Great location next to everything and a 15 minute walk to Rogers place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rameses
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good but loud

If you are thinking about staying at Howard Johnson on weekend, please look for other options. The club downstairs makes noise till 3:00am and you won't be able to get good sleep. The price and location was great but the rooms are small. Again, look for different options before booking this hotel for your stay on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jun 8, 2011

Great Location in a beautiful city

Location was key. We are young adults therefore location was more of an issue than the actual rooms. If your a traveler who prefers location rather than the actual hotel quality this is a solid choice. Rooms were decent but a little older, bathroom was big. We were able to walk most places we went (but we love to walk). Only downfall was the lack of a refridgerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Crepe down Granville Street was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
May 16, 2010

Just over night

Our first trip into Canada, so we really did not know what to expect. While waiting for our cruise ship to come into the docks we stayed at the Howard Johnson - there must have been some event going on most of the night. There was a lot of noise and partying on the street outside our window with the police and security very much available. But for sleep this night - it was not available. Was surprised at the bar/restaurant in the hotel. It was very clean and the service was great. Waitress' that we had where friendly and helpful for directions on where to go and not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Was generally toward the younger generation and not for most people over 50+

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor from California
South Bay California
Feb 10, 2010

Too Noisy

I went to Vancouver for a leisure trip. I like the hotel location since I can just walk around and accessible with public transportation. About the hotel, I couldn't sleep at all because I could hear the noise above my room, noise next to my room and noise across the hallway. There's no sound protection even a bit that I could hear doors opening and closing across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Stanley park, about a good 25 mins walk from Granville downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UStravellers
CT
Dec 6, 2009

Do Not Stay Here!

Unfortunately, I must say that this was the worst hotel experience that I've ever had. Upon arrival most hotels ask for your credit card number for any extras you may have during your stay, however this hotel wants to take a large deposit immediately. We preferred to leave cash, so they wanted almost double the amount in cash. Long story short when we left they tried to give us canadian dollars back instead of US dollars, and the girl insisted that our deposit had already been changed and she no longer had US dollars. After insisting, our deposit in US dollars magically appeared untouched in her register. Also the parking.. the sign says a lower parking price per day but they charge you nearly double what's written. The rooms are below average in quality. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellingham, WA
Jun 14, 2009

What was expected

Our first thought was that the room were tiny and a bit outdated. But once we got out and started walking around we realized the hotel was pretty close to everything. We were able to walk to Robson St., down to the ferry to Granville Island. And a cab ride back was only $6-7. The hotels restaraunt Wings was a cool place to catch dinner before walking to one of the many clubs within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Wings is reasonably priced compared to other restaraunts. And has good food and drinks too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top