$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 8, 2011

Great Location in a beautiful city

Location was key. We are young adults therefore location was more of an issue than the actual rooms. If your a traveler who prefers location rather than the actual hotel quality this is a solid choice. Rooms were decent but a little older, bathroom was big. We were able to walk most places we went (but we love to walk). Only downfall was the lack of a refridgerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Crepe down Granville Street was amazing.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 16, 2010

Just over night

Our first trip into Canada, so we really did not know what to expect. While waiting for our cruise ship to come into the docks we stayed at the Howard Johnson - there must have been some event going on most of the night. There was a lot of noise and partying on the street outside our window with the police and security very much available. But for sleep this night - it was not available. Was surprised at the bar/restaurant in the hotel. It was very clean and the service was great. Waitress' that we had where friendly and helpful for directions on where to go and not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Was generally toward the younger generation and not for most people over 50+

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottetown PE
May 31, 2010

Nice Hotel, Sleazy Location

The room was nice, the beds very comfortable, and everything modern, attractive, and working properly. The hotel is located in a trashy part of town, with noisy bars right downstairs and all over the block. Many of the noisemakers stay at the hotel, run in and out of rooms slamming doors all night, and talk loudly in the halls. Certainly not a quiet spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like noisy sports bars and boisterous, unruly college crowds this is the location for you.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichelleDanielle
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Oct 14, 2009

Nice Hotel. Very close to dance clubs!

It was very good, I couldn't understand front desk lady very well. Some noise from people coming in but sastainable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxy, tonic right around the corner from hotel

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Aussie
Business
Melbourne
Jul 14, 2014

Very good

This hotel suited me fine.I found the staff friendly and helpful,15 min walk to waterfront but a bus stops outside. Plenty of places to eat at around the corner in Davie st. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 20, 2007

great value

For a hotel in a convenient area of downtown Vancouver, the Howard Johnson in Downtown Vancouver was a great value. Clean room/facilities, very nice and accomodating staff, good restaurant right next to lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple stops nearby for the Vancouver Trolley, an excellent way to see Vancouver's sites. A bit pricey, $35/ticket, but good for all day: can get off at various sites and back on at any point. Goes to Chinatown, Canada Place, the Aquarium, Stanley Park, etc. The tour guides are friendly, informative and fun. I highly recommend it!

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, FL
May 8, 2007

Good location

I choose the Grandville HJ's for walking distance to the start and finish of the 2007 Vancouver marathon. Excellent places to eat within blocks of the motel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything that a person would want is walking distance of the motel.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vickivegas
Business
las vegas
Oct 2, 2009

Don't bother with this one

very unfriendly check-in. could not understand female very abrupt manner. made to feel unwelcome and want to change hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
samantha 2014
Business
washington, dc
Aug 18, 2014

Quiet and Friendly!

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It's in a busy neighborhood but the room I had was on the interior and was extremely quiet. It's just around the corner from Davie Street which has many quaint coffee shops and breakfast places and its a 20 minute walk to the Harbor. Really a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner and down Davie St is a great breakfast place on the right!

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single jk
Business
Calgary
Dec 6, 2014

Its good hotel for price

If you want stay vancouver downtown without high cost hotel, hojo hotel will be the best choice to you. Deficitely i will stay next time again Also staff was very helpfull. This hotel good for single travler. Not for couple or family. Specially if you have kids, dont stay this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hojo is midlle of graville street you can find lots of pub .

Back to menu Return to top