$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor from California
Business
South Bay California
Feb 10, 2010

Too Noisy

I went to Vancouver for a leisure trip. I like the hotel location since I can just walk around and accessible with public transportation. About the hotel, I couldn't sleep at all because I could hear the noise above my room, noise next to my room and noise across the hallway. There's no sound protection even a bit that I could hear doors opening and closing across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Stanley park, about a good 25 mins walk from Granville downtown.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor from California
Business
South Bay California
Feb 10, 2010

Too Noisy

I went to Vancouver for a leisure trip. I like the hotel location since I can just walk around and accessible with public transportation. About the hotel, I couldn't sleep at all because I could hear the noise above my room, noise next to my room and noise across the hallway. There's no sound protection even a bit that I could hear doors opening and closing across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Stanley park, about a good 25 mins walk from Granville downtown.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UStravellers
Business
CT
Dec 6, 2009

Do Not Stay Here!

Unfortunately, I must say that this was the worst hotel experience that I've ever had. Upon arrival most hotels ask for your credit card number for any extras you may have during your stay, however this hotel wants to take a large deposit immediately. We preferred to leave cash, so they wanted almost double the amount in cash. Long story short when we left they tried to give us canadian dollars back instead of US dollars, and the girl insisted that our deposit had already been changed and she no longer had US dollars. After insisting, our deposit in US dollars magically appeared untouched in her register. Also the parking.. the sign says a lower parking price per day but they charge you nearly double what's written. The rooms are below average in quality. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UStravellers
Business
CT
Dec 6, 2009

Do Not Stay Here!

Unfortunately, I must say that this was the worst hotel experience that I've ever had. Upon arrival most hotels ask for your credit card number for any extras you may have during your stay, however this hotel wants to take a large deposit immediately. We preferred to leave cash, so they wanted almost double the amount in cash. Long story short when we left they tried to give us canadian dollars back instead of US dollars, and the girl insisted that our deposit had already been changed and she no longer had US dollars. After insisting, our deposit in US dollars magically appeared untouched in her register. Also the parking.. the sign says a lower parking price per day but they charge you nearly double what's written. The rooms are below average in quality. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichelleDanielle
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Oct 14, 2009

Nice Hotel. Very close to dance clubs!

It was very good, I couldn't understand front desk lady very well. Some noise from people coming in but sastainable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxy, tonic right around the corner from hotel

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vickivegas
Business
las vegas
Oct 2, 2009

Don't bother with this one

very unfriendly check-in. could not understand female very abrupt manner. made to feel unwelcome and want to change hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
Jun 14, 2009

What was expected

Our first thought was that the room were tiny and a bit outdated. But once we got out and started walking around we realized the hotel was pretty close to everything. We were able to walk to Robson St., down to the ferry to Granville Island. And a cab ride back was only $6-7. The hotels restaraunt Wings was a cool place to catch dinner before walking to one of the many clubs within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wings is reasonably priced compared to other restaraunts. And has good food and drinks too.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyla
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Homeless Howard Johnson

The Howard Johnson on Granville street is acutally a nice clean place to stay. It looks like they took an old building and redid everything. The rooms were very clean, beds were nice and the rooms in the back are quiet. The parking is horrible as it's first come first serve basis. There is a lot next to it which is the same price because you have to pay for parking!!! Lot's of action on the street so rooms in the back are a must for quiet. While parking your car you will see a lot of homeless patrons coming out of bushes and around the area. Not the greatest feeling while parking ones car, when there is a spot. The front desk staff or just the staff on duty had little information on attractions and things to do. Would I stay here again? Probably not, I'd chip in the extra cash for a better place. If your stuck, it'll work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is very close to everything by walking, bus or sky train station.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 20, 2007

great value

For a hotel in a convenient area of downtown Vancouver, the Howard Johnson in Downtown Vancouver was a great value. Clean room/facilities, very nice and accomodating staff, good restaurant right next to lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple stops nearby for the Vancouver Trolley, an excellent way to see Vancouver's sites. A bit pricey, $35/ticket, but good for all day: can get off at various sites and back on at any point. Goes to Chinatown, Canada Place, the Aquarium, Stanley Park, etc. The tour guides are friendly, informative and fun. I highly recommend it!

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 20, 2007

great value

For a hotel in a convenient area of downtown Vancouver, the Howard Johnson in Downtown Vancouver was a great value. Clean room/facilities, very nice and accomodating staff, good restaurant right next to lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple stops nearby for the Vancouver Trolley, an excellent way to see Vancouver's sites. A bit pricey, $35/ticket, but good for all day: can get off at various sites and back on at any point. Goes to Chinatown, Canada Place, the Aquarium, Stanley Park, etc. The tour guides are friendly, informative and fun. I highly recommend it!

Back to menu Return to top