$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2015 Check-out: Oct 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rameses
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good but loud

If you are thinking about staying at Howard Johnson on weekend, please look for other options. The club downstairs makes noise till 3:00am and you won't be able to get good sleep. The price and location was great but the rooms are small. Again, look for different options before booking this hotel for your stay on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Safi02
Single
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Nice staff, great location, BUT!

Staff is nice and the location is great... You could walk to everything. The noise on the other hand is unbearable .... And the hotel hallways are not clean and have a smell similar to bleach. There is also a construction site next door. The restaurant downstairs "Wings" has nothing to do with wings or even food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Providence, RI
Jun 8, 2011

Great Location in a beautiful city

Location was key. We are young adults therefore location was more of an issue than the actual rooms. If your a traveler who prefers location rather than the actual hotel quality this is a solid choice. Rooms were decent but a little older, bathroom was big. We were able to walk most places we went (but we love to walk). Only downfall was the lack of a refridgerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Crepe down Granville Street was amazing.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Charlottetown PE
May 31, 2010

Nice Hotel, Sleazy Location

The room was nice, the beds very comfortable, and everything modern, attractive, and working properly. The hotel is located in a trashy part of town, with noisy bars right downstairs and all over the block. Many of the noisemakers stay at the hotel, run in and out of rooms slamming doors all night, and talk loudly in the halls. Certainly not a quiet spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like noisy sports bars and boisterous, unruly college crowds this is the location for you.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Colorado
May 16, 2010

Just over night

Our first trip into Canada, so we really did not know what to expect. While waiting for our cruise ship to come into the docks we stayed at the Howard Johnson - there must have been some event going on most of the night. There was a lot of noise and partying on the street outside our window with the police and security very much available. But for sleep this night - it was not available. Was surprised at the bar/restaurant in the hotel. It was very clean and the service was great. Waitress' that we had where friendly and helpful for directions on where to go and not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Was generally toward the younger generation and not for most people over 50+

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Derbysk8ter
Family
Tri-Cities, Wa
Apr 15, 2010

Oh,Man!

We went to Vancouver for a Roller Derby Bout, and stayed downtown to be close to everything. The hotel advertises itself as "Presidential Excellence" and def does not deliver! There are only about 15 parking places for the whole hotel, and its first come first serve. After that, you're only options are parking garages blocks away, or hoping a genie pops out and grants you a wish! Do not trust the homeless people who say they work at the lots, they don't. The hotel itself is adequate, no free breakfast, very small rooms,lots of noise from Granville and other guests. I do not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichelleDanielle
Friends
Eugene, Oregon
Oct 14, 2009

Nice Hotel. Very close to dance clubs!

It was very good, I couldn't understand front desk lady very well. Some noise from people coming in but sastainable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxy, tonic right around the corner from hotel

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vickivegas
Family
las vegas
Oct 2, 2009

Don't bother with this one

very unfriendly check-in. could not understand female very abrupt manner. made to feel unwelcome and want to change hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bellingham, WA
Jun 14, 2009

What was expected

Our first thought was that the room were tiny and a bit outdated. But once we got out and started walking around we realized the hotel was pretty close to everything. We were able to walk to Robson St., down to the ferry to Granville Island. And a cab ride back was only $6-7. The hotels restaraunt Wings was a cool place to catch dinner before walking to one of the many clubs within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wings is reasonably priced compared to other restaraunts. And has good food and drinks too.

Back to menu Return to top