$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

3 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EduTravel
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Apr 18, 2012

HoJo in Vancouver

The best thing about this hotel is its location and proximity to public transit, the downtown area, convention center, and lots of small eateries. When I arrived my room smelled vaguely of sewage and bleach and though the smell dissipated in my room (or maybe I just got used to it) I was assaulted by it every time I ventured out into the corridor. The room itself was small and though I asked for one bed I got a room with two and couldn't easily access the closet. WiFi is available at no extra charge and the staff were very accommodating about giving me an extra access number for multiple wireless devices. Staff was also good about giving directions and recommendations and even called a cab for me when I was headed to the airport. My room was fronting the street and it was a bit loud on one weekend night after a Canuck's game was broadcast. It's a lower-end hotel in a very lovely city but even though it was affordable and available in a pinch I don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Lamp
Business
BC
Apr 13, 2012

Great

Great location next to everything and a 15 minute walk to Rogers place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rameses
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good but loud

If you are thinking about staying at Howard Johnson on weekend, please look for other options. The club downstairs makes noise till 3:00am and you won't be able to get good sleep. The price and location was great but the rooms are small. Again, look for different options before booking this hotel for your stay on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vancouver Lover.
Business
Taipei, Taiwan.
Oct 22, 2011

Great hotel in Vancouver downtown.

very comfortable hotel with good price, I will go again next time when I visit Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Safi02
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Nice staff, great location, BUT!

Staff is nice and the location is great... You could walk to everything. The noise on the other hand is unbearable .... And the hotel hallways are not clean and have a smell similar to bleach. There is also a construction site next door. The restaurant downstairs "Wings" has nothing to do with wings or even food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 8, 2011

Great Location in a beautiful city

Location was key. We are young adults therefore location was more of an issue than the actual rooms. If your a traveler who prefers location rather than the actual hotel quality this is a solid choice. Rooms were decent but a little older, bathroom was big. We were able to walk most places we went (but we love to walk). Only downfall was the lack of a refridgerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Crepe down Granville Street was amazing.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottetown PE
May 31, 2010

Nice Hotel, Sleazy Location

The room was nice, the beds very comfortable, and everything modern, attractive, and working properly. The hotel is located in a trashy part of town, with noisy bars right downstairs and all over the block. Many of the noisemakers stay at the hotel, run in and out of rooms slamming doors all night, and talk loudly in the halls. Certainly not a quiet spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like noisy sports bars and boisterous, unruly college crowds this is the location for you.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 16, 2010

Just over night

Our first trip into Canada, so we really did not know what to expect. While waiting for our cruise ship to come into the docks we stayed at the Howard Johnson - there must have been some event going on most of the night. There was a lot of noise and partying on the street outside our window with the police and security very much available. But for sleep this night - it was not available. Was surprised at the bar/restaurant in the hotel. It was very clean and the service was great. Waitress' that we had where friendly and helpful for directions on where to go and not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Was generally toward the younger generation and not for most people over 50+

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Derbysk8ter
Business
Tri-Cities, Wa
Apr 15, 2010

Oh,Man!

We went to Vancouver for a Roller Derby Bout, and stayed downtown to be close to everything. The hotel advertises itself as "Presidential Excellence" and def does not deliver! There are only about 15 parking places for the whole hotel, and its first come first serve. After that, you're only options are parking garages blocks away, or hoping a genie pops out and grants you a wish! Do not trust the homeless people who say they work at the lots, they don't. The hotel itself is adequate, no free breakfast, very small rooms,lots of noise from Granville and other guests. I do not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top