$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
42 reviews
Great, this is my second visit.

Good Staff, Room is good, excellent price. Location is so so, it is Granville street after all,... See full review

  • SpotOn
  • May 8, 2014
That's Good Stuff

That's good, not so expensive hotel in Vancouver Downtown. See full review

  • beautiful city Traveler
  • Apr 23, 2013
Renovations mean big charm at this small, downtown hotel

A recent renovation brought out the charm in this award-winning downtown hotel. More than just a pretty place, the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver has won the President's Award for Excellence, given in recognition of extraordinary hospitality and community involvement, for three consecutive years. The excellent location on Granville Street puts business travelers only minutes from the business and financial district. Leisure travelers are close to stadiums, world-class shopping and dining and Vancouver's most fantastic natural beauty.

Highlights
  • Award-winning hospitality
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Excellent downtown location

 

Rooms
Choose from standard rooms with 1 double bed, 1 queen bed or 2 double beds at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown. All rooms include a TV, electronic locks and complimentary morning newspaper. Deluxe rooms, junior suites and home office suites also include a microwave and refrigerator. All rooms have high-speed Internet access and in-room movies (fees apply).
Features

Guests enjoy impeccable hospitality from a warm and friendly staff at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver. The charm of a small, well-run hotel and convenience to business venues and tourist attractions draws repeat guests. Granville Street is a perfect, central location in the entertainment district of Vancouver. Business travelers appreciate the services available in the lobby, en-suite work stations and close proximity to the Vancouver Convention Centre. Bring a pair of comfortable shoes to this walkable city and spend a day browsing the boutiques in Yaletown or on Robson Street. Stroll through Stanley Park or along the picturesque seawall at Coal Harbor. All guests are welcome to utilize the fitness center across the street from the hotel (fees apply). Wings Tap & Grille is located in the hotel and offers 18 different kinds of wings, seven days a week.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Yaletown Roundhouse Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/13 km)

 

Attractions
  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Grouse Mountain (8.3 mi/13.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax machines in home office suites
  • High-speed Internet access throughout (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Limited parking available (fees apply)
  • Credit cards are mandatory at check-in. Hotel does not take cash deposits.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2774 -123.1258
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.5 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jun 8, 2011

Great Location in a beautiful city

Location was key. We are young adults therefore location was more of an issue than the actual rooms. If your a traveler who prefers location rather than the actual hotel quality this is a solid choice. Rooms were decent but a little older, bathroom was big. We were able to walk most places we went (but we love to walk). Only downfall was the lack of a refridgerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Crepe down Granville Street was amazing.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottetown PE
May 31, 2010

Nice Hotel, Sleazy Location

The room was nice, the beds very comfortable, and everything modern, attractive, and working properly. The hotel is located in a trashy part of town, with noisy bars right downstairs and all over the block. Many of the noisemakers stay at the hotel, run in and out of rooms slamming doors all night, and talk loudly in the halls. Certainly not a quiet spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like noisy sports bars and boisterous, unruly college crowds this is the location for you.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottetown PE
May 31, 2010

Nice Hotel, Sleazy Location

The room was nice, the beds very comfortable, and everything modern, attractive, and working properly. The hotel is located in a trashy part of town, with noisy bars right downstairs and all over the block. Many of the noisemakers stay at the hotel, run in and out of rooms slamming doors all night, and talk loudly in the halls. Certainly not a quiet spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like noisy sports bars and boisterous, unruly college crowds this is the location for you.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
May 16, 2010

Just over night

Our first trip into Canada, so we really did not know what to expect. While waiting for our cruise ship to come into the docks we stayed at the Howard Johnson - there must have been some event going on most of the night. There was a lot of noise and partying on the street outside our window with the police and security very much available. But for sleep this night - it was not available. Was surprised at the bar/restaurant in the hotel. It was very clean and the service was great. Waitress' that we had where friendly and helpful for directions on where to go and not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Was generally toward the younger generation and not for most people over 50+

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
May 16, 2010

Just over night

Our first trip into Canada, so we really did not know what to expect. While waiting for our cruise ship to come into the docks we stayed at the Howard Johnson - there must have been some event going on most of the night. There was a lot of noise and partying on the street outside our window with the police and security very much available. But for sleep this night - it was not available. Was surprised at the bar/restaurant in the hotel. It was very clean and the service was great. Waitress' that we had where friendly and helpful for directions on where to go and not to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Was generally toward the younger generation and not for most people over 50+

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Derbysk8ter
Tri-Cities, Wa
Apr 15, 2010

Oh,Man!

We went to Vancouver for a Roller Derby Bout, and stayed downtown to be close to everything. The hotel advertises itself as "Presidential Excellence" and def does not deliver! There are only about 15 parking places for the whole hotel, and its first come first serve. After that, you're only options are parking garages blocks away, or hoping a genie pops out and grants you a wish! Do not trust the homeless people who say they work at the lots, they don't. The hotel itself is adequate, no free breakfast, very small rooms,lots of noise from Granville and other guests. I do not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Derbysk8ter
Tri-Cities, Wa
Apr 15, 2010

Oh,Man!

We went to Vancouver for a Roller Derby Bout, and stayed downtown to be close to everything. The hotel advertises itself as "Presidential Excellence" and def does not deliver! There are only about 15 parking places for the whole hotel, and its first come first serve. After that, you're only options are parking garages blocks away, or hoping a genie pops out and grants you a wish! Do not trust the homeless people who say they work at the lots, they don't. The hotel itself is adequate, no free breakfast, very small rooms,lots of noise from Granville and other guests. I do not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor from California
South Bay California
Feb 10, 2010

Too Noisy

I went to Vancouver for a leisure trip. I like the hotel location since I can just walk around and accessible with public transportation. About the hotel, I couldn't sleep at all because I could hear the noise above my room, noise next to my room and noise across the hallway. There's no sound protection even a bit that I could hear doors opening and closing across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Stanley park, about a good 25 mins walk from Granville downtown.

Back to menu Return to top