$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Quiet and Friendly!

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It's in a busy neighborhood but the... See full review

  • samantha 2014
  • Aug 18, 2014
Very good

This hotel suited me fine.I found the staff friendly and helpful,15 min walk to waterfront but a... See full review

  • Irish Aussie
  • Jul 14, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown near Stanley Park. Enjoy the outdoors with skiing, snowshoeing, sleigh rides, zip lines and more at Grouse Mountain. Catch an exciting Vancouver Canucks hockey game at nearby Rogers Arena. Wander through the exhibits at Vancouver Art Gallery, or Science World for interactive exhibits. Enjoy a delicious meal at Joe Fortes Seafood and Chop House just one mile from this lodging. A 24-hour front desk, laundry and dry cleaning services, and business center with fax service are offered at this lodging. Start your morning reading the complimentary newspaper, and connect to the complimentary wireless Internet access from the comfort of your guest room to plan your fun-filled day. Suites, business and smoke-free rooms are available.

Hotel Map

49.2774 -123.1258
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.5 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vancouver Lover.
Taipei, Taiwan.
Oct 22, 2011

Great hotel in Vancouver downtown.

very comfortable hotel with good price, I will go again next time when I visit Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BG1989
Seattle, WA
Jul 1, 2013

Nice for a weeknight getaway

Spending a Wednesday night at this hotel, we probably had one of the quietest nights along Granville Street - an area well known for being the strip of bars and clubs in Vancouver. Both vehicle and pedestrian traffic were definitely audible in our room on the second floor, but we were able to sleep through it. If the club beneath was open (Barcelona), I imagine the night would have been insufferable. For those planning on heading to the club and crashing somewhere afterwards, this hotel is perfect. For those in Vancouver for sightseeing etc, the location is good but you're probably sacrificing a good night's sleep for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Aug 29, 2012

Standard no frills- but good value for the area.

Not the swankiest hotel in Vancouver, but for the price and location, it was a good place to stay. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and rooms were adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LittleLoulou
Queensland, Australia
Oct 1, 2012

Short stay

We found the hotel was clean and staff friendly. It was a very good location for us. Close to transport, restaurants etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sparkle Bomb
Seattle, Washington.
Aug 5, 2014

Ummmm...

The staff was not great. Parking is an ISSUE. Couldn't get parking at 11 when we arrived in Vancouver. Went back at 3.30 to find out there wasn't anything available. 30 minutes after it was 'first come first serve'. At 6.30 after searching for parking went back to ask the front desk where I should park only to find out there actually WAS parking. And the guy that originally told me there was none was surprised that HE had said no. What confusion. What a headache. The room was small and the bed was super uncomfortable. The only good thing for us was location. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Good luck with parking.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rameses
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good but loud

If you are thinking about staying at Howard Johnson on weekend, please look for other options. The club downstairs makes noise till 3:00am and you won't be able to get good sleep. The price and location was great but the rooms are small. Again, look for different options before booking this hotel for your stay on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellingham, WA
Jun 14, 2009

What was expected

Our first thought was that the room were tiny and a bit outdated. But once we got out and started walking around we realized the hotel was pretty close to everything. We were able to walk to Robson St., down to the ferry to Granville Island. And a cab ride back was only $6-7. The hotels restaraunt Wings was a cool place to catch dinner before walking to one of the many clubs within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Wings is reasonably priced compared to other restaraunts. And has good food and drinks too.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Lamp
BC
Apr 13, 2012

Great

Great location next to everything and a 15 minute walk to Rogers place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairy granny
Mexico
Jun 10, 2013

Good location

It is quite close to downtown. We could easily move from the hotel to all places. People are gently. The bed broke so they gave us another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Trolley service (hop in hop off) is excellent, good routes and very nice guides.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puponi
Vancouver
Jan 10, 2014

Great location, good staff, clean

Nice hotel in general, great ubication, nice and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search