$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor from California
Business
South Bay California
Feb 10, 2010

Too Noisy

I went to Vancouver for a leisure trip. I like the hotel location since I can just walk around and accessible with public transportation. About the hotel, I couldn't sleep at all because I could hear the noise above my room, noise next to my room and noise across the hallway. There's no sound protection even a bit that I could hear doors opening and closing across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Stanley park, about a good 25 mins walk from Granville downtown.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puponi
Business
Vancouver
Jan 10, 2014

Great location, good staff, clean

Nice hotel in general, great ubication, nice and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rameses
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good but loud

If you are thinking about staying at Howard Johnson on weekend, please look for other options. The club downstairs makes noise till 3:00am and you won't be able to get good sleep. The price and location was great but the rooms are small. Again, look for different options before booking this hotel for your stay on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Lamp
Business
BC
Apr 13, 2012

Great

Great location next to everything and a 15 minute walk to Rogers place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LoriL
Business
Nebraska, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Howard Johnson

The location is near Granville Island so it is a long way to walk if you are going to the Waterfront VCC. Take the bus for $2.50. Walking maps are provided and a bus stop is just to the right as you are leaving the front doors. The hotel refused to offer professional membership discounts if not booked directly through them. This is a bit more run down section of town and there is more noise. For security, room keys have to be used for the elevators. I was surprised to be asked for a credit card hold or $200.00 cash for "incidentals". This concerned me because the bathroom floor tiles were already loose from there not being an adequate shower/tub curtain. I had to ask to have the drain unclogged the first day and then the tub seal wouldn't hold water well after that. Internet use is by login/pswd which can be obtained at the front desk but sometimes connections are intermittent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. Greek Baklava Best pitas in town Falafals

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 29, 2012

Standard no frills- but good value for the area.

Not the swankiest hotel in Vancouver, but for the price and location, it was a good place to stay. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and rooms were adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LittleLoulou
Business
Queensland, Australia
Oct 1, 2012

Short stay

We found the hotel was clean and staff friendly. It was a very good location for us. Close to transport, restaurants etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tweek42
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

A good budget location in downtown

The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Vancouver on Granville Street. It is easy walking to all the bars and night life. The room was cramped but comfortable. For being in downtown, it was a good price compared to other budget locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BG1989
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 1, 2013

Nice for a weeknight getaway

Spending a Wednesday night at this hotel, we probably had one of the quietest nights along Granville Street - an area well known for being the strip of bars and clubs in Vancouver. Both vehicle and pedestrian traffic were definitely audible in our room on the second floor, but we were able to sleep through it. If the club beneath was open (Barcelona), I imagine the night would have been insufferable. For those planning on heading to the club and crashing somewhere afterwards, this hotel is perfect. For those in Vancouver for sightseeing etc, the location is good but you're probably sacrificing a good night's sleep for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairy granny
Business
Mexico
Jun 10, 2013

Good location

It is quite close to downtown. We could easily move from the hotel to all places. People are gently. The bed broke so they gave us another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Trolley service (hop in hop off) is excellent, good routes and very nice guides.

Back to menu Return to top