$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
View map of 1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rameses
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good but loud

If you are thinking about staying at Howard Johnson on weekend, please look for other options. The club downstairs makes noise till 3:00am and you won't be able to get good sleep. The price and location was great but the rooms are small. Again, look for different options before booking this hotel for your stay on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Lamp
Business
BC
Apr 13, 2012

Great

Great location next to everything and a 15 minute walk to Rogers place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LoriL
Business
Nebraska, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Howard Johnson

The location is near Granville Island so it is a long way to walk if you are going to the Waterfront VCC. Take the bus for $2.50. Walking maps are provided and a bus stop is just to the right as you are leaving the front doors. The hotel refused to offer professional membership discounts if not booked directly through them. This is a bit more run down section of town and there is more noise. For security, room keys have to be used for the elevators. I was surprised to be asked for a credit card hold or $200.00 cash for "incidentals". This concerned me because the bathroom floor tiles were already loose from there not being an adequate shower/tub curtain. I had to ask to have the drain unclogged the first day and then the tub seal wouldn't hold water well after that. Internet use is by login/pswd which can be obtained at the front desk but sometimes connections are intermittent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. Greek Baklava Best pitas in town Falafals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 29, 2012

Standard no frills- but good value for the area.

Not the swankiest hotel in Vancouver, but for the price and location, it was a good place to stay. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and rooms were adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LittleLoulou
Business
Queensland, Australia
Oct 1, 2012

Short stay

We found the hotel was clean and staff friendly. It was a very good location for us. Close to transport, restaurants etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tweek42
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 15, 2012

A good budget location in downtown

The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Vancouver on Granville Street. It is easy walking to all the bars and night life. The room was cramped but comfortable. For being in downtown, it was a good price compared to other budget locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BG1989
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 1, 2013

Nice for a weeknight getaway

Spending a Wednesday night at this hotel, we probably had one of the quietest nights along Granville Street - an area well known for being the strip of bars and clubs in Vancouver. Both vehicle and pedestrian traffic were definitely audible in our room on the second floor, but we were able to sleep through it. If the club beneath was open (Barcelona), I imagine the night would have been insufferable. For those planning on heading to the club and crashing somewhere afterwards, this hotel is perfect. For those in Vancouver for sightseeing etc, the location is good but you're probably sacrificing a good night's sleep for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fairy granny
Business
Mexico
Jun 10, 2013

Good location

It is quite close to downtown. We could easily move from the hotel to all places. People are gently. The bed broke so they gave us another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Trolley service (hop in hop off) is excellent, good routes and very nice guides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agora Bill
Business
Northern California
Jul 25, 2010

Tiny, clean, no service

When we arrived at hotel and checked in, I immediately went to front desk and told two counter people that I wanted a chair for desk in my room. I was told that "basic" unit - which was $25/nite more than cheapest - did not come with chair: if I wanted chair, I must upgrade and pay $30/nite additional. Not good service. And not true: at end of stay, when I complained again, was told "of course room comes with chair". I chose HoJo because no surcharge for wifi in room, while many others add $13-16 per nite extra. Rooms in Vancouver are tiny compared to Vegas, only other hotel venue I frequent. If you spend little time in room, it's ok. If you plan on working there, I'd recommend someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyla
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Homeless Howard Johnson

The Howard Johnson on Granville street is acutally a nice clean place to stay. It looks like they took an old building and redid everything. The rooms were very clean, beds were nice and the rooms in the back are quiet. The parking is horrible as it's first come first serve basis. There is a lot next to it which is the same price because you have to pay for parking!!! Lot's of action on the street so rooms in the back are a must for quiet. While parking your car you will see a lot of homeless patrons coming out of bushes and around the area. Not the greatest feeling while parking ones car, when there is a spot. The front desk staff or just the staff on duty had little information on attractions and things to do. Would I stay here again? Probably not, I'd chip in the extra cash for a better place. If your stuck, it'll work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is very close to everything by walking, bus or sky train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top