$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

2 stars
1176 Granville St, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1L8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
43 reviews
Very good

This hotel suited me fine.I found the staff friendly and helpful,15 min walk to waterfront but a... See full review

  • Irish Aussie
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great, this is my second visit.

Good Staff, Room is good, excellent price. Location is so so, it is Granville street after all,... See full review

  • SpotOn
  • May 8, 2014
Renovations mean big charm at this small, downtown hotel

A recent renovation brought out the charm in this award-winning downtown hotel. More than just a pretty place, the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver has won the President's Award for Excellence, given in recognition of extraordinary hospitality and community involvement, for three consecutive years. The excellent location on Granville Street puts business travelers only minutes from the business and financial district. Leisure travelers are close to stadiums, world-class shopping and dining and Vancouver's most fantastic natural beauty.

Highlights
  • Award-winning hospitality
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Excellent downtown location

 

Rooms
Choose from standard rooms with 1 double bed, 1 queen bed or 2 double beds at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown. All rooms include a TV, electronic locks and complimentary morning newspaper. Deluxe rooms, junior suites and home office suites also include a microwave and refrigerator. All rooms have high-speed Internet access and in-room movies (fees apply).
Features

Guests enjoy impeccable hospitality from a warm and friendly staff at the Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver. The charm of a small, well-run hotel and convenience to business venues and tourist attractions draws repeat guests. Granville Street is a perfect, central location in the entertainment district of Vancouver. Business travelers appreciate the services available in the lobby, en-suite work stations and close proximity to the Vancouver Convention Centre. Bring a pair of comfortable shoes to this walkable city and spend a day browsing the boutiques in Yaletown or on Robson Street. Stroll through Stanley Park or along the picturesque seawall at Coal Harbor. All guests are welcome to utilize the fitness center across the street from the hotel (fees apply). Wings Tap & Grille is located in the hotel and offers 18 different kinds of wings, seven days a week.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Yaletown Roundhouse Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (8 mi/13 km)

 

Attractions
  • Robson Street (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • BC Place Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Grouse Mountain (8.3 mi/13.3 km)

 

Business
  • Fax machines in home office suites
  • High-speed Internet access throughout (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Limited parking available (fees apply)
  • Credit cards are mandatory at check-in. Hotel does not take cash deposits.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2774 -123.1258
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.2 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • False Creek: 0.4 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.6 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Canada Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.5 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.5 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VanTraveler
Pittsburgh
May 10, 2012

Don't do it

I was actually uncomfortable here. I loved the location, but hated the time in the hotel, other than the nice sports bar downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Derbysk8ter
Tri-Cities, Wa
Apr 15, 2010

Oh,Man!

We went to Vancouver for a Roller Derby Bout, and stayed downtown to be close to everything. The hotel advertises itself as "Presidential Excellence" and def does not deliver! There are only about 15 parking places for the whole hotel, and its first come first serve. After that, you're only options are parking garages blocks away, or hoping a genie pops out and grants you a wish! Do not trust the homeless people who say they work at the lots, they don't. The hotel itself is adequate, no free breakfast, very small rooms,lots of noise from Granville and other guests. I do not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Safi02
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Nice staff, great location, BUT!

Staff is nice and the location is great... You could walk to everything. The noise on the other hand is unbearable .... And the hotel hallways are not clean and have a smell similar to bleach. There is also a construction site next door. The restaurant downstairs "Wings" has nothing to do with wings or even food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Derbysk8ter
Tri-Cities, Wa
Apr 15, 2010

Oh,Man!

We went to Vancouver for a Roller Derby Bout, and stayed downtown to be close to everything. The hotel advertises itself as "Presidential Excellence" and def does not deliver! There are only about 15 parking places for the whole hotel, and its first come first serve. After that, you're only options are parking garages blocks away, or hoping a genie pops out and grants you a wish! Do not trust the homeless people who say they work at the lots, they don't. The hotel itself is adequate, no free breakfast, very small rooms,lots of noise from Granville and other guests. I do not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Safi02
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Nice staff, great location, BUT!

Staff is nice and the location is great... You could walk to everything. The noise on the other hand is unbearable .... And the hotel hallways are not clean and have a smell similar to bleach. There is also a construction site next door. The restaurant downstairs "Wings" has nothing to do with wings or even food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UStravellers
CT
Dec 6, 2009

Do Not Stay Here!

Unfortunately, I must say that this was the worst hotel experience that I've ever had. Upon arrival most hotels ask for your credit card number for any extras you may have during your stay, however this hotel wants to take a large deposit immediately. We preferred to leave cash, so they wanted almost double the amount in cash. Long story short when we left they tried to give us canadian dollars back instead of US dollars, and the girl insisted that our deposit had already been changed and she no longer had US dollars. After insisting, our deposit in US dollars magically appeared untouched in her register. Also the parking.. the sign says a lower parking price per day but they charge you nearly double what's written. The rooms are below average in quality. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor from California
South Bay California
Feb 10, 2010

Too Noisy

I went to Vancouver for a leisure trip. I like the hotel location since I can just walk around and accessible with public transportation. About the hotel, I couldn't sleep at all because I could hear the noise above my room, noise next to my room and noise across the hallway. There's no sound protection even a bit that I could hear doors opening and closing across the hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Stanley park, about a good 25 mins walk from Granville downtown.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ocwilly
Yorba Linda, Ca
May 8, 2012

HoJo Vancouver

Although location was great, the room was small. Both the bed area and the bathroom felt cramped and there was no shelf space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a tour to Vancouver Island. Victoria and Burkhart Gardens are great.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EduTravel
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Apr 18, 2012

HoJo in Vancouver

The best thing about this hotel is its location and proximity to public transit, the downtown area, convention center, and lots of small eateries. When I arrived my room smelled vaguely of sewage and bleach and though the smell dissipated in my room (or maybe I just got used to it) I was assaulted by it every time I ventured out into the corridor. The room itself was small and though I asked for one bed I got a room with two and couldn't easily access the closet. WiFi is available at no extra charge and the staff were very accommodating about giving me an extra access number for multiple wireless devices. Staff was also good about giving directions and recommendations and even called a cab for me when I was headed to the airport. My room was fronting the street and it was a bit loud on one weekend night after a Canuck's game was broadcast. It's a lower-end hotel in a very lovely city but even though it was affordable and available in a pinch I don't think I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jabberwocky traveler
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 24, 2014

Budget downtown option

Decently priced option that was a quick bus ride away from the convention center/Gastown/other downtown attractions. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The wifi would go in and out without notice, and it sometimes felt like I needed to do a magical conjuring to get the hotel login screen to show up on my computer. Small inconveniences with the room, like the water kind of dribbling out of the shower and the toilet seat not staying up. But overall the room was spacious and served my needs while staying there for a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top